We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories for a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Memories for a lifetime”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 6 days on safari on the Great Plains of the Serengeti with Asilia - 3 days at Sayari and then onto Kimondo Camp.
A holiday of a lifetime.
A wildebeest crossing of 2 million animals that went on for 5 hours!
Sightings of the Big 5 - rhino, lion, elephant, water buffalo and (finally) the elusive leopard.
And the Ugly 5! Warthog, hippo, vulture, crane and hyena.
Superb guides, great food and the most wonderful smiles.
We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    47
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
122
259
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved this camp from the minute we were picked up at the airport. Friendly staff and wonderful animal viewing which started on the way into the camp! Lovely food, accommodations and service. Troy Smith of True Africa did a great job of making our reservations and this was the best! He made last minute changes for us when our flight out of Tanzania was cancelled. Thank you Troy!

Room Tip: We were in tent #1 on the edge of camp where animal often grazed near by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great location and tent suites look great with running water, solar hot water showers, flush toilets. Food quality variable - BBQ was overcooked, good lite lunches and staff really try to give a good experience. We had minor service glitches. One of the few camps with WiFi but this didn't work well. Slept serenaded by 100s of wildebeest and hippos, with hyena scratching around tent.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a fantastic experience! The beds are super comfy, showers long and hot, even a bathtub! The staff is amazing, the food is amazing. The design of the tents is very Balinese and easy on the eyes. The gift shop is the best! I want to go back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniferteddlieyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was the second Asilia safari camp my husband and I stayed in during our time in the Northern Serengeti. It is located near enough the Mara River so that at night we could hear the hippos grunting, zebras barking and hyenas howling. The camp is lovely with large, spacious tented suites that contain not only a lovely bedroom but also a bathroom with a tub and two sinks as well as a shower room and a toilet room, all one could ever want. There was nary a mosquito or tsetse fly in the camp, even though in the heat of the day, the tsetses would swarm our land rover as we approached. Deet works though one gets an occasional bite--but unless one gets ten thousand, it is no matter! Our end of camp had its own lounge/dining room and the other end of the camp had the same with a large lounge, bar, and store in the middle. The food was delicious and abundant. The chef is brilliant! The wait staff was so attentive to our needs that they almost anticipated them. Our only suggestion is that rather than having guests sit at tables in their own groups (we were four friends), we would have preferred to sit altogether so to come to know some other people. A swahili banquet and music from a local village musicians who came from outside the park made one night especially memorable. The store, run by Catherine, the manager of Sayari, was delightful and Catherine could not have been more helpful and interesting. During our stay, we did two long game drives a day and saw all the of the big five, including a mother black rhino and her offspring (there are few of these in the park so we were really appreciative that our guide found them and we could spend about an hour watching them and watching a jackal who tried to run at them and they at him!). We saw many prides of lions, cheetahs, many topis, Thomson gazelles, Defassa waterbucks, Bohor reedbucks, buffalo, one eland, one oribi, and several klipspringers along with impalas, giraffes, zebras, hyraxes, jackals, hippos, elephants and many, many different birds, my favorite being the lilac-breasted roller but the most fun to watch were the secretary birds and the marabou storks walking across burned grasslands. Our guide was fabulous in terms of his knowledge and enthusiasm, and we loved the sundowners and morning breakfasts in the bush. Our friends did a balloon ride that must have been wonderful the day my husband and I left because they could see the migration crossing the Mara from the air. In fact, the highlight of our stay was the wildebeest migration where we could see over 50,000 wildebeests from a single spot and could watch them cross the river and be slaughtered by crocodiles or watch them leap up and down dusty ravines. All in all, I cannot imagine a better safari. Although it was very hot mid-day, there is a beautiful infinity pool one can laze in and look over the bush. I must admit that I wept quietly as I left as the whole experience was simply memorable and I longed to stay even longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 218mtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our stay at the Sayari Camp was absolutely incredible! From the moment we were picked up by our driver at the airstrip to the moment we sadly left, we were treated like family. Our tour guide Promice was incredibly knowledgable and did everything he could to make our trip enjoyable. The camp was so beautiful and comfortable and the food was delicious. The Serengeti is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Seeing the animals in their own habitat was so awesome! The entire staff made us feel like they were genuinely happy that we were there. Promice, Victor, Iyoub, and Elise; I will never forget any of you. You will all hold a special place in my heart. Asante Sana for a wonderful experience!
Sue

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had been to the Serengeti before, but never during the Migration. What a breathtaking event! And Sayari may be the perfect place in which to experience it.

Positioned conveniently near the Mara River, the camp is a very good place from which to reach the crossing points in the daytime. The sounds of wildebeests and hippos become a welcome constant and your morning conversation is likely to include discussion of the previous night's visitors (jackals, elephant, etc.)

Our driver/guide Keyvutu was superb. He ably answered a myriad of questions about the game and the landscape, knew every bird and plant, and excelled at positioning the vehicle for the best photo shot. One of the best driver/guides I have ever been privileged to have guide me.

Sayari is a permanent tented camp, even 'though the teak floors, elegant bathrooms, beautiful furnishings, and Japanese-style room dividers underplay the "camp" aspect. The meals are very good and the service is friendly and attentive - never intrusive, but always available.

If you are considering the Northern Serengeti and looking for an exceptionally comfortable place with a very professional staff, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
9.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
188 reviews
45.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#3 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
411 reviews
57.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#11 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
302 reviews
67.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#10 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
440 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#17 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Sayari Camp is renowned for extraordinary wildlife sightings and supreme comfort. Set on the unspoilt plains of the Northern Serengeti, close to the famous Lamai Wedge, Sayari gives you easy access to the Mara River and multiple river crossing points. Sayari Camp offers some of the world's finest game viewing - and it does so in remarkable style. Relax in your extra-comfortable hillside suite after a day on safari, or take a dip in the glorious rim-flow swimming pool with dramatic views over the northern plains. Intimate, contemporary and elegant, it is no surprise that this permanent camp is regularly voted one of the top safari escapes on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing