We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightly thrill of hyenas by the fire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

When we heard we were staying in tents on our safari my husband grimaced and i trembled .he has an inherited loathing of such accommodation having suffered from a father who insisted on taking him on long camping treks into the New Zealand bush . Luckily this place was glamping with four poster beds with nets with no holes . The best hot showers I had experienced in tazania quite remarkable in the middle of the dry Serengeti in a morrocan inspired polished concrete ensuite ! Yes ensuite to the tent . The food was remarkable in its adherence to an English colonial menu produced hundreds of miles from civilisation if the meat was a little chewy ! The highlight however were the charming staff particularly Joseph the guards and the lovely Masai guard who couldn't stop smiling we sat and talked into the night by a huge campfire quaffing beer and disturbed only by the occasional hyena cackling in the bus or a civet cat attempting to sneak past us. We came in rainy season but were told at peak season that the giraffes and gazelles regularly turn up for breakfast which is offered in the divine dining tent which is very romantic . This place was my second favourite on the tour

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

I am not much of a camper or one to rough it. While I prefer a more regular place to stay, this camp is a good choice as it helps cut the time spent driving into/out of the Serengeti (for those who do not want to pay to stay in the nice lodges inside the park). The large tent I stayed at fit two large beds w/ mosquito nets and had a private bathroom with a basic shower, a sink, and a toilet. It was nice that while "camping", we had the bathroom facilities (we had just hiked Kilimanjaro so these were very appreciated!). You do have to make sure you keep the tent zipped up to minimize spiders, etc. coming in. That aside, it was a very pleasant place to stay. Plenty of "windows" on the tent that allow air to come in at night and keep you cool enough.

The eating area is atop a small hill which affords great views of the land around. Don't miss sunset and sunrise from up there! It was a great place to hang out and meet others too. The one thing to mind, if you are a white wine drinker, is that it may not be cold - ask/check first!!!

At night, it is good to have some portable light (headlamp, for example) to walk around. Also, they have staff to walk you around at night as they best know to keep an eye out for any small wildlife in your path :) None of us saw any but it was good to know they had our backs!

If you are going to the Serengeti, I'd recommend the Ikoma Tented Camp.

Room Tip: Close to the eating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilivetotravel_Raul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We did not enjoy our stay here. Overall, this place was poorly maintained (holes in the mosquito netting, etc.) and not clean. My husband was "attacked" by an army of biting ants in the tent. It was an extremely long walk to get to the dining tent. I would not recommend it nor wouldI go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a permanent tented camp. Tents were large with en suite bathroom. How water was available and power was avilable morning and night. We had tent 32 which was the furthest from the restaurant and a but of a walk (about 10 minutes). However we did see a jackel right by the tent so that was very cool. Staff and food were very good. I liked that you got to make up your own lunch box. We stayed at the wrong time of the year so it was a bit of a drive in and out, though saying that we did see a large elephant right outside the camp,and also the camp is fairly close to the retima hippo pool. I believe that the best tiem to stay here is June, when the migration is in the area, it is probably fantastic then. The bonus of being outside the park is that we did their night game drive. In two hours we saw many animals, large and small. The reed buck, chameleon, and bush baby we saw are not usually visible during the day so that was neat. Probably if I had stayed in June Iw ould have given this place 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CALookingForParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at Ikoma for 2 nights in the middle of our 8 day safari. We had previously stayed in another tented camp, and then a lodge on the rim of Ngorogoro Crater, so had experienced both rustic and hotel style accommodation. Having preferred our first tented stay to the lodge/hotel, we were really pleased with the atmosphere and layout of Ikoma. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and gave us a guided tour of our tent and facilities. The beds were really comfortable, and the bathroom (although rather dark with poor lighting) very clean and original! We acquired a swarm of bees in the roof of our tent on our second night, which was removed virtually straight away (I did enquire if they would be removed or killed, and was told most definitely not killed but relocated!Hopefully how it ended for the bees), but this is all part of staying in the heart of the bush. The bar/restaurant was a stone's throw from the tents, with great home cooked food and good selection of drinks. We ate breakfast outside each morning, and as the camp is within 20 or so yards of the bush you really got the feeling you were on safari. We would thoroughly recommend staying at Ikoma if you are looking for an authentic taste of bush camping, though not if you're looking for hotel style facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasonedTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This Camp is located in the Northern Serengeti a 5 mins drive to the Ikoma gate.Its an open Camp with no fence and tents facing the open Savannah grassland.We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay to the maximum.The staff were very friendly.They have my plus especially on the use of solar water heating system -that is Eco-friendly.i would recommend it to visitors to this area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migrationsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I loved this camp in general but the perment tents need an upgrade. Zips broken on windows, holes in mosquito nets and bathrooms below par with little or no hot water at times. But you are not there to spend time in your tent. The surroundings and staff make up for the shortfalls.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msw2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#3 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#17 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#41 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £204 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of an incredible scenery of savannah and skies, you find Ikoma Tented Camp, sheltered in a grove of acacia trees. Ikoma has 35 traditional semi-luxury Meru tents, each under thatch with a private veranda overlooking the impressive plains of the Serengeti. The central restaurant and bar area boast a large camp fire an ideal spot to unwind with a chilled drink after a long days of exciting game viewing.Ikoma Tented Camp is ideally situated at the border of the world-renowned Serengeti National Park, along the path of the migrating wildebeests between Kenya and Tanzania. From Ikoma you can enter the western corridor of the park, taking in Kirawira and the Grumeti river home to the giant wildebeest eating crocodiles. There is no better place to enjoy one of the world's greatest wildlife spectacles.Staying at Ikoma Tented Camp gives you the unique opportunity to enjoy a night game drive or a walking safari, as the camp is located just outside the national park boundary. A great chance to see and hear some of the nocturnal animals that can’t be spotted in daytime, such as the Leopard, Aardvark and the Bat-eared fox. Another special way of experiencing the bush is by going along on a guided walking safari. Guided by a professional ranger and guard you discover the bush and its inhabitants at close range. A great way to start or end a day in the Serengeti, followed by a breakfast in the bush or a sun downer at the close of the day.The airstrip a short distance away from the camp means you can be with us in next to no time and avoid the long drive through the park should you prefer a shorter journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing