We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay with the animals raoming around at night.
Tents were arranged really well and had all amenities -- the bathroom area being permenent building attached to the tent.
Beds were warm and confortable.
Each tent has a seating area outside where you can just sit and watch the world go by. Sadly only stayed 1 night as would have happily stayed longer.
Staff are very attentive and welcoming -- they could not do enough and were happy talking to us and trying to teach us some swahili -- my friends speak it fluently so they were more tham happy talking to somebody who could understand them but dont get me wrong -- they speak excellent English so you will not feel left out.

Room Tip: Be careful with food in the rooms as animals are very good at sniffing that out and they do come clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coopebbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Coopebbt,

Thank you for your positive and lovely review of the Ikoma Tented Camp.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you when you are in the Serengeti again!

Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Really nice place to stay.
Perfect location right in the middle of the park.
Must be careful taking food into the tents as animals roam around at nights.
Mice running around the dining hall, but very good fun and part of the experience.
The toilets are always busy and you usually quee for showers/toilets/mirrors.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank erlusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear erlusby1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your stay on our camping grounds ( campsite) just outside the Ikoma Tented Camp.

There must have been many people in your camping group, as we have enough toilets and bathrooms in our ablutions block on the campsite to cater for guests who stay on the campsite.

As this is a campsite, the dining tent is set outside( usually by the camping crew that guests come with) and a few rodents might find their way around the campsite and of course then inside the mess tent.

We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay on the Ikoma Tented Camp camping grounds.

Thanks & Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Ikoma Bush Camp. We loved hearing the elephants and hyenas during the night. Enjoying a cold beer while watching giraffes amble by was a treat. The staff was exceptional and we'd like to say thank you to our new "rafiki" (friends): Leah for lending us her electrical adapter when we lost ours so that we could charge our camera, Frank for being such a welcoming and friendly guy, Johnny for teaching us some Swahili phrases and for putting up with our mispronunciations, Chris and Esther for being attentive and gracious servers and bartenders.
Ikoma is the perfect base from which to see the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2thdr63119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear 2thdr63119,

Thank you again for this lovely review of Ikoma Tented Camp. I see you stayed at 2 of our camps and had a brilliant time at both.

Your new 'rafiki's' say hello to you as well and are pleased to see you remembered them by name!

We are pleased that you enjoyed our camp, staff and service. Remind us when you visit next time and we will be happy to provide some complimentary items for you.

Karibu Tena!

The Moivaro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Ikoma Bush Camp is located just outside the Serengeti park so at night one can hear animals (hyena...) very close to the camp. Beds were good and there was even room service offered when we were watching the scenery from our porch. Bathroom was acceptable and good hygiene. Buffet dinner was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Nico M,

It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp.

Thank you for your kind review and for posting it on trip advisor.

Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at ikoma bush camp
a lovely tent with a nice terras, two good beds ,a bathroom just like in the flinstones.
a storage for some clothes...a bank where you can put on the luggage
very big garden with beautiful sunrise and lots of animals .
Breakfast and dinner or in buffet. You can make your own lunchbox.
We joined the night safari from 21u-23u and saw rabbits-hyenas-civetcats-bushbabies-birds-zebra, wild cat...
you can enjoy a fresh beer while sitting around the campfire
at night some animals are passing by ( hyenas)and birds wake you up at sunrise ...
remember you are in the bush and there is no free wifi and visa doesn't exist

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefstinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Stefstinie,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp and even remembered the Flintstones from our lovely bathroom!

The night game drive is one of the best ways to see plenty of game in a short time as most of the animals come out during that time as its cooler.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp and we will be happy to host you next time you are within the vicinity of the Serengeti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Was a bit skeptical when I saw the outside tent showers, but my fears soon went. Tent was very clean and comfortable, not keen on chemical toilet but it worked. The 5 young guys who ran the whole camp from cooking to cleaning, providing hot water for showers did a wonderful job. Our tents were near the food tent. Had 2 wash basins out side tent which they filled with hot water every morning, I moved one inside near the toilet, easier for hand washing especially at night.
Food provided was incredible considering their amenities and location.
Guys you did a great job

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margo052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night whilst on safari. The tented camp was exactly what we were expecting although there was a few small issues which I understand may have been unavoidable. We arrived and it was pouring with rain. The porter carried our luggage from the reception but didn't seem to stop, we continued for what seemed like miles until we arrived at our tent. The tent was very nice but for one night it would have been better to have stated nearer the restaurant/reception. As said, the camp was busy so this might not have been possible but just a suggestion. Food was lovely. We made up our own packed lunch which was better as you added what you wanted so less waste. Woke up in the morning to Zebra and Wildebeast outside the tent, an experience money cannot buy. Would like to have stayed longer to appreciate it more, maybe we'll have the opportunity again sometime? Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcofrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your one night stay with us and found our food to be lovely and enjoyed our 'buffet' packed lunch style where you chose to pack what you want to eat for that day while out on your game drive.

You are right that we should have checked to see bookings that are there for less nights and have these stay in rooms that are closer to the main area - thank you for this feedback as it helps us to improve.

Isn't it lovely to wake up in the morning and find the game outside your tent? We are glad that you experienced this while staying at Ikoma Tented Camp.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you shall be in the Serengeti vicinity.

All the best!

Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#3 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#39 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £206 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of an incredible scenery of savannah and skies, you find Ikoma Tented Camp, sheltered in a grove of acacia trees. Ikoma has 35 traditional semi-luxury Meru tents, each under thatch with a private veranda overlooking the impressive plains of the Serengeti. The central restaurant and bar area boast a large camp fire an ideal spot to unwind with a chilled drink after a long days of exciting game viewing.Ikoma Tented Camp is ideally situated at the border of the world-renowned Serengeti National Park, along the path of the migrating wildebeests between Kenya and Tanzania. From Ikoma you can enter the western corridor of the park, taking in Kirawira and the Grumeti river home to the giant wildebeest eating crocodiles. There is no better place to enjoy one of the world's greatest wildlife spectacles.Staying at Ikoma Tented Camp gives you the unique opportunity to enjoy a night game drive or a walking safari, as the camp is located just outside the national park boundary. A great chance to see and hear some of the nocturnal animals that can’t be spotted in daytime, such as the Leopard, Aardvark and the Bat-eared fox. Another special way of experiencing the bush is by going along on a guided walking safari. Guided by a professional ranger and guard you discover the bush and its inhabitants at close range. A great way to start or end a day in the Serengeti, followed by a breakfast in the bush or a sun downer at the close of the day.The airstrip a short distance away from the camp means you can be with us in next to no time and avoid the long drive through the park should you prefer a shorter journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing