We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping in the Serengeti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sleeping in the Serengeti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were pleased with our stay at Ikoma Bush Camp for two nights, while we were exploring the Serengeti. At check-in, the ladies at the front desk were helpful and friendly, with a sense of humor. The camp is relatively spread out, compared to the two other tented camps we stayed at. (In case it's unclear, these "tented" camps are more like permanent huts, but with mesh/canvas walls on two or three sides and a solid-wall bathroom in the back.) They put us in a tent right next to the dining room, which was convenient. The room was slightly dark because the main walls were covered up, but you could unzip the canvas coverings and let the light shine in through the nets if you wanted to. Electricity is only available for a few hours in the evening and the morning, which seems par for the course at these sorts of camps. The beds were comfortable enough, and covered with a spacious mosquito net (although we didn't find mosquitos to be a problem at all in the area -- we were there in early July). The bathroom was fine, and comparable to the other places we stayed, though the water wasn't that warm. At night, we fell asleep to the faint sounds of wildebeests and hyenas (probably a mile away; we caught the tail end of the great migration). The food in the dining room was nicely done, and the campfire just outside was a pleasant way to sit out under the stars and mingle with the other guests. There were a few bats flying through the dining room, but it wasn't a problem. Also, they have people walk you back to your tent at night, in case there are any big animals on the prowl (though we never saw any animals directly in the lodge area). The location is convenient too, if you're exploring the central part of the Serengeti; the lodge is just a five-minute drive outside the Ikoma gate of the park. I'd be curious to compare what the other Serengeti camps are like, but I would have no problem with giving a thumbs up to Ikoma Bush Camp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jeremy J,

Thank you very much for posting this nice and positive review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the camp and that you had a lovely time.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    90
    34
    10
    13
See reviews for
54
80
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This camp offers clean tents equipped with comfortable beds (protected with mosquito nets), a toilet and shower within the tent. Everything you need. If you want to feel the nature, THIS is the place to go. You can wake up watching the nature and the animals close to your tent. A true sense of nature. Restaurant is not far from the rooms and a fire is on every night. Food is very good and cheap. I definitely recommend this place, if was the simplest but the most genuine in my 1-week trip in Tanzania.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Al G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of the Ikoma Tented Camp.

It is always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the nature and animals in the camps' vicinity.

We are happy that you stayed with us and looking forward to your next visit!

The Moivaro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay with the animals raoming around at night.
Tents were arranged really well and had all amenities -- the bathroom area being permenent building attached to the tent.
Beds were warm and confortable.
Each tent has a seating area outside where you can just sit and watch the world go by. Sadly only stayed 1 night as would have happily stayed longer.
Staff are very attentive and welcoming -- they could not do enough and were happy talking to us and trying to teach us some swahili -- my friends speak it fluently so they were more tham happy talking to somebody who could understand them but dont get me wrong -- they speak excellent English so you will not feel left out.

Room Tip: Be careful with food in the rooms as animals are very good at sniffing that out and they do come clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopebbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Coopebbt,

Thank you for your positive and lovely review of the Ikoma Tented Camp.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you when you are in the Serengeti again!

Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Really nice place to stay.
Perfect location right in the middle of the park.
Must be careful taking food into the tents as animals roam around at nights.
Mice running around the dining hall, but very good fun and part of the experience.
The toilets are always busy and you usually quee for showers/toilets/mirrors.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank erlusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear erlusby1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your stay on our camping grounds ( campsite) just outside the Ikoma Tented Camp.

There must have been many people in your camping group, as we have enough toilets and bathrooms in our ablutions block on the campsite to cater for guests who stay on the campsite.

As this is a campsite, the dining tent is set outside( usually by the camping crew that guests come with) and a few rodents might find their way around the campsite and of course then inside the mess tent.

We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay on the Ikoma Tented Camp camping grounds.

Thanks & Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Ikoma Bush Camp. We loved hearing the elephants and hyenas during the night. Enjoying a cold beer while watching giraffes amble by was a treat. The staff was exceptional and we'd like to say thank you to our new "rafiki" (friends): Leah for lending us her electrical adapter when we lost ours so that we could charge our camera, Frank for being such a welcoming and friendly guy, Johnny for teaching us some Swahili phrases and for putting up with our mispronunciations, Chris and Esther for being attentive and gracious servers and bartenders.
Ikoma is the perfect base from which to see the Serengeti.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2thdr63119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear 2thdr63119,

Thank you again for this lovely review of Ikoma Tented Camp. I see you stayed at 2 of our camps and had a brilliant time at both.

Your new 'rafiki's' say hello to you as well and are pleased to see you remembered them by name!

We are pleased that you enjoyed our camp, staff and service. Remind us when you visit next time and we will be happy to provide some complimentary items for you.

Karibu Tena!

The Moivaro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Ikoma Bush Camp is located just outside the Serengeti park so at night one can hear animals (hyena...) very close to the camp. Beds were good and there was even room service offered when we were watching the scenery from our porch. Bathroom was acceptable and good hygiene. Buffet dinner was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Nico M,

It is our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp.

Thank you for your kind review and for posting it on trip advisor.

Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menen, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at ikoma bush camp
a lovely tent with a nice terras, two good beds ,a bathroom just like in the flinstones.
a storage for some clothes...a bank where you can put on the luggage
very big garden with beautiful sunrise and lots of animals .
Breakfast and dinner or in buffet. You can make your own lunchbox.
We joined the night safari from 21u-23u and saw rabbits-hyenas-civetcats-bushbabies-birds-zebra, wild cat...
you can enjoy a fresh beer while sitting around the campfire
at night some animals are passing by ( hyenas)and birds wake you up at sunrise ...
remember you are in the bush and there is no free wifi and visa doesn't exist

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefstinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Stefstinie,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp and even remembered the Flintstones from our lovely bathroom!

The night game drive is one of the best ways to see plenty of game in a short time as most of the animals come out during that time as its cooler.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp and we will be happy to host you next time you are within the vicinity of the Serengeti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Ikoma Safari Camp
Ikoma Safari Camp
#3 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#29 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp

Property: Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of an incredible scenery of savannah and skies, you find Ikoma Tented Camp, sheltered in a grove of acacia trees. Ikoma has 35 traditional semi-luxury Meru tents, each under thatch with a private veranda overlooking the impressive plains of the Serengeti. The central restaurant and bar area boast a large camp fire an ideal spot to unwind with a chilled drink after a long days of exciting game viewing.Ikoma Tented Camp is ideally situated at the border of the world-renowned Serengeti National Park, along the path of the migrating wildebeests between Kenya and Tanzania. From Ikoma you can enter the western corridor of the park, taking in Kirawira and the Grumeti river home to the giant wildebeest eating crocodiles. There is no better place to enjoy one of the world's greatest wildlife spectacles.Staying at Ikoma Tented Camp gives you the unique opportunity to enjoy a night game drive or a walking safari, as the camp is located just outside the national park boundary. A great chance to see and hear some of the nocturnal animals that can’t be spotted in daytime, such as the Leopard, Aardvark and the Bat-eared fox. Another special way of experiencing the bush is by going along on a guided walking safari. Guided by a professional ranger and guard you discover the bush and its inhabitants at close range. A great way to start or end a day in the Serengeti, followed by a breakfast in the bush or a sun downer at the close of the day.The airstrip a short distance away from the camp means you can be with us in next to no time and avoid the long drive through the park should you prefer a shorter journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing