We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & well Sealed Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Comfortable accomodation with good staff. Although there is no power in the camp from 11PM to 5AM. No electrical outlets in the room, however you can charge all your stuff in the restaurant at dinner & b/f time. Food was something between average & good. There were always security guys around your rooms in the night to escort you to restaurants etc. We did come across an impala while returning fron the restaurant. It's quite a different experience to stay in Serengeti, not recommended for weak hearted :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Khozema P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Khozema P,

Thank you very much for choosing to be our guest.

Yes with the camp set in a wide area and of course being in the middle of the Serengeti - lots of game wanders through the camp and is a beautiful sight to wake up in the morning and witness this on close proximity.

It is a pleasure that your stay was comfortable and Karibu Sana next time.

Thanks & Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nobody at reception on arrival. Had to find them. No paper work prepared for our arrival.
Food not good. Meat tough.
Only powder milk after numerous requests.
Tent very comfortable.
Not a 3 star establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Steve 120,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Ikoma Tented Camp.

We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet the mark with you while on your stay at the camp.

You arriving and nobody being there at the reception means that probably your reservation had not been made prior, nevertheless, we are however sorry that this happened.

We have also received questionnaires from guests who stayed the same period as you did and they all rated our food as very good as well as the comments below here on Trip Advisor that have all commented on the food being amazing.

Thank you for staying with us.

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Enjoyed this camp very much. Exactly what you'd expect from a tented camp. Great rooms and ensuite facilities and a marvellous eating area. Not much not to like. We did go on the night safari. The highlight was a "rabbit" and breaking down in the middle of no-where. Gave us some fun stories to tell nonetheless. Very minor- Loved the camp.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro_123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Pedro_123_13,

It was a pleasure to host you at the Ikoma Tented Camp and we are happy that you enjoyed our great rooms, ensuite facilities and marvellous eating area.

We are sorry that the vehicle broke down - that was quite unfortunate and we appreciate that you took this in your stride and did not let it dampen the whole positive experience.

It would be our pleasure to host you again another time.

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Warm welcome with juice
Tented camp outside Serengeti allows for very interesting night drive with 2 spotters, ranger and driver. Saw civet, east Africa crown cranes, bat earred foxes, chameleon, bush baby, thousands of wildebeest and zebras
Escorts after dark due to wild animals
Food and box lunches were good
Breakfast buffet
Tent accommodations were basic--beds ok, mosquito netting, electricity turned on at 6 p.m.
Bathroom very basic--shower with intermittent water, no shower curtain, only one towel, soap only
No shampoo or lotion
Tents had a padlock on them
Staff very nice. Good service
Headlamp a very good idea
Good use was made of surroundings even though a remote location

Room Tip: All tents separate so some privacy and quiet Making use of solar power
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Desertdocent2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Desertdocent2012,

Thank you for posting this lovely and detailed review of the Ikoma Tented Camp on Trip Advisor.

The night game drive is a very popular activity at Ikoma Camp and many of our guests enjoy this very much.

It is always our pleasure to read that guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us.

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were pleased with our stay at Ikoma Bush Camp for two nights, while we were exploring the Serengeti. At check-in, the ladies at the front desk were helpful and friendly, with a sense of humor. The camp is relatively spread out, compared to the two other tented camps we stayed at. (In case it's unclear, these "tented" camps are more like permanent huts, but with mesh/canvas walls on two or three sides and a solid-wall bathroom in the back.) They put us in a tent right next to the dining room, which was convenient. The room was slightly dark because the main walls were covered up, but you could unzip the canvas coverings and let the light shine in through the nets if you wanted to. Electricity is only available for a few hours in the evening and the morning, which seems par for the course at these sorts of camps. The beds were comfortable enough, and covered with a spacious mosquito net (although we didn't find mosquitos to be a problem at all in the area -- we were there in early July). The bathroom was fine, and comparable to the other places we stayed, though the water wasn't that warm. At night, we fell asleep to the faint sounds of wildebeests and hyenas (probably a mile away; we caught the tail end of the great migration). The food in the dining room was nicely done, and the campfire just outside was a pleasant way to sit out under the stars and mingle with the other guests. There were a few bats flying through the dining room, but it wasn't a problem. Also, they have people walk you back to your tent at night, in case there are any big animals on the prowl (though we never saw any animals directly in the lodge area). The location is convenient too, if you're exploring the central part of the Serengeti; the lodge is just a five-minute drive outside the Ikoma gate of the park. I'd be curious to compare what the other Serengeti camps are like, but I would have no problem with giving a thumbs up to Ikoma Bush Camp.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Jeremy J,

Thank you very much for posting this nice and positive review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the camp and that you had a lovely time.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This camp offers clean tents equipped with comfortable beds (protected with mosquito nets), a toilet and shower within the tent. Everything you need. If you want to feel the nature, THIS is the place to go. You can wake up watching the nature and the animals close to your tent. A true sense of nature. Restaurant is not far from the rooms and a fire is on every night. Food is very good and cheap. I definitely recommend this place, if was the simplest but the most genuine in my 1-week trip in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Al G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of the Ikoma Tented Camp.

It is always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the nature and animals in the camps' vicinity.

We are happy that you stayed with us and looking forward to your next visit!

The Moivaro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay with the animals raoming around at night.
Tents were arranged really well and had all amenities -- the bathroom area being permenent building attached to the tent.
Beds were warm and confortable.
Each tent has a seating area outside where you can just sit and watch the world go by. Sadly only stayed 1 night as would have happily stayed longer.
Staff are very attentive and welcoming -- they could not do enough and were happy talking to us and trying to teach us some swahili -- my friends speak it fluently so they were more tham happy talking to somebody who could understand them but dont get me wrong -- they speak excellent English so you will not feel left out.

Room Tip: Be careful with food in the rooms as animals are very good at sniffing that out and they do come clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coopebbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Coopebbt,

Thank you for your positive and lovely review of the Ikoma Tented Camp.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you when you are in the Serengeti again!

Kind Regards,

The Moivaro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#3 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#39 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £206 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of an incredible scenery of savannah and skies, you find Ikoma Tented Camp, sheltered in a grove of acacia trees. Ikoma has 35 traditional semi-luxury Meru tents, each under thatch with a private veranda overlooking the impressive plains of the Serengeti. The central restaurant and bar area boast a large camp fire an ideal spot to unwind with a chilled drink after a long days of exciting game viewing.Ikoma Tented Camp is ideally situated at the border of the world-renowned Serengeti National Park, along the path of the migrating wildebeests between Kenya and Tanzania. From Ikoma you can enter the western corridor of the park, taking in Kirawira and the Grumeti river home to the giant wildebeest eating crocodiles. There is no better place to enjoy one of the world's greatest wildlife spectacles.Staying at Ikoma Tented Camp gives you the unique opportunity to enjoy a night game drive or a walking safari, as the camp is located just outside the national park boundary. A great chance to see and hear some of the nocturnal animals that can’t be spotted in daytime, such as the Leopard, Aardvark and the Bat-eared fox. Another special way of experiencing the bush is by going along on a guided walking safari. Guided by a professional ranger and guard you discover the bush and its inhabitants at close range. A great way to start or end a day in the Serengeti, followed by a breakfast in the bush or a sun downer at the close of the day.The airstrip a short distance away from the camp means you can be with us in next to no time and avoid the long drive through the park should you prefer a shorter journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing