We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singita Sasakwa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This lodge is a dream, located in the most beautiful part of northern Tanzania. The Sasakwa lodge is located at the hill with a breathtaking view. You are facing a high end luxury stay, but no jet set style. Expensive, but value for money.
We stayed with our whole family (parents and 3 children, age 13, 15, 17 years) in a separate cottage 2 min walking from the main building. This cottage was very spacial and you miss nothing not even your own pool. Laundry is taking care within 3 hours - free of charge. You have an all inclusive room rate so nobody is asking for the room number before saying good morning and you do not even have to sign anything during your stay. Everything like Breakfast, lunches and dinner, wine and drinks at the bar is part of all inclusive. The wine they serve is at the upper mid range level and ok. If you need your Chateau Petrus it is available. The staff is a dream. You have your personal butler which knows all about you before your arrive, after the first contact and dinner he even knows your habits. Your personal ranger is extremely knowledgeable and shows you all the games. He even knows when the "lion and leopard kills" are going to take place and bring you there.
All in all the manager of the Sasakwa lodge manager couple Brad and Kate are excellent host. You feel as staying with good friends. Exstremly gentle, personalities who kept their natural human being behavior.
Our 8 days safari is over. After having our last safari tour on a ballon safari we are now heading towards Zanzibar where we are staying in The Residence. After that experience. They will have a tough time " to keep up with the Jones"

Björn and Veronika, Ferdinand, Nikolaus and Tatiana Böckenförde, Zürich, Switzerland
18.-20. April, 2014

Room Tip: Try to be close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Björn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The service, staff and experience at this lodge make it the very best. It deserves to be ranked at the top of the list of lodges. Do the walking tour after your game drive - it is a well kept secret. Aloise is an excellent guide and he will ensure that you see all the wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liesl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

After spending 4 days in the lovely tented camp at Sabora, we went to Sasakwa lodge. My son Daan (13 years old) and I were already mind-blown by the experience at Sabora, but arriving at Sasakwa lodge we were speechless. Though we were prepared by my sister Bea and her husband Karl-Heinz, who had invited us for this amazing trip, Daan and I were beyond belief.
Sasakwa has fantastic facilities and staff with a stunning view over the beautiful landscape. The staff, run by Brad and Kate, adds a personal touch and a high service level to Sasakwa. When Daan got ill because of an ear-infection Brad immediately got a doctor to look at it. Thank you again Brad...... But our stay at Sabora tented camp and Sasakwa lodge was even more unforgettable by meeting Matthew, our guide during this week. He showed us so much of the beautiful nature, animals and plants and learned us so much about his people, the Masai. He really interacted, specially with Daan, who is a nature-lover by heart. Matthew is an amazing person. We feel so privileged having made this journey thanks to Bea and Karl-Heinz. Daan and I will never forget

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Having stayed at many safari lodges and camps, I can say with confidence that this property has the very best of accommodation and service that the area has to offer. The wildlife populations vary according to time of year, however, this is a private reserve and great care is taken to protect the wildlife here. The staff is excellent and friendly and the facilities are lovely. The view from the main lodge and cottages is breathtaking. There is a swimming pool, equestrian facility, gym, spa, daily game drives, walking safaris, etc. We arrived here hot and dusty following two weeks of game drives in the bush at various other tented and permanent camps. This place is an oasis in the park. Our laundry was done immediately. Should someone arrive lacking in safari gear, the on-site shop(s) can provide whatever one needs, from polar fleece for chilly mornings and evenings to jewelry and Masai footwear. The boutiques can also arrange for packing and shipping of artwork purchased here. There are articles from a variety of African nations sold here. I had a fabulous massage in the spa here as well. Every effort is made to ensure that guests are well taken care of and happy. Thank you to Tansy, Brad and our butler, Joseph! Well done! Also a thank you to our very sweet guide, James. Thanks for all of the elephant action! Thank you to the fabulous chef who fed us excellent food at every meal.

Room Tip: Choose any one of the cottages. We stayed in "Roosevelt" and were very happy and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

For my complete review, including pictures visit my blog: http://theeyetravels.blogspot.com/2014/01/singita-sasakwa-lodge.html

First stop, Sasakwa Lodge for two nights, I would say this is by far the most gentle safari experience of the three Singita lodges that we stayed at in the Grumeti. Perched on a hill, Sasakwa Lodge has a birds eye view of the grand Serengeti plains. The view is nothing less than stunning, it takes your breath away, and it.. is... memorizing. It's a vision that seduces the eye, leaving you no choice but to surrender to its magnificent glory. This dreamlike scene just yearns for your long gaze. It's easy to lose yourself, and hard to imagine that you could ever tire of that majestic vision of the vast plains and abundant nature.

After the trip was complete I found that Sasakwa was truly the best first stop on our tour of the Grumeti, it's captivating to see the grandeur of the place that you're in, before you dig deep into its nooks and crannies. And it gives you great perspective on the adventure that you are about to embark upon. I will tell you that a picture will never do it justice, because you can't breath the air, hear the sounds of nature all around you, and feel the gentle pink warmth of the sun slowing creeping above the horizon.

Sasakwa is definitely the most elegant and regal lodge, with its old-world charm and antiques. Let's just say it's not difficult to turn away from the view and gaze into the opulent manor house. In my case it was a constant back and forth, a true feast for the eyes. The lodge has a unmistakeable old wealth/British royalty vibe, and it would be impressive to see this manor house in any first world country, let alone in the middle of the Serengeti!! It boggled my mind to think of how they even built it...of course I asked, I had to. It took between 2,000-3,000 people, 12 months to build Sasakwa Lodge. I truly appreciate every detail that went into making Sasakwa what it is, a masterpiece. You can see that it's a labor of love, and a homage to the decadent and luxurious things in life. Yet I must say that with this type of luxury and opulence a certain kind of guest is attracted, luckily there's more than enough space to be secluded at most times. I felt so happy and blessed to be able to appreciate Singita through the eyes of a young woman born and raised in the inner city of Buffalo, NY, because Sasakwa deserves that kind of gratitude, which from the looks of it, may just be another day in the lives of some of the other guests. But then again, I'll be the first to say, never judge a book by its cover.

The only problem with Sasakwa is trying to figure out where you should go after your trip. Where do you go from here? What could better or even equal? The lesson is don't peak too soon, because once you visit the Grumeti Reserve you'll never be the same.

For more visit: theeyetravels.blogspot.com

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beastloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Singita Sasakwa was the last stop of a 10 day Safari that took us through Rwanda, Kenya and Tanzania and it was the place we enjoyed the most. Singita locations set the bar when it comes to high-quality, luxurious safari experiences and Sasakwa must be at the top of that list. The price is worth it, as you will truly be staying in one of the world's best lodges and receive personalized service. Also, the guest lodges are one of a kind and truly evoke a previous era of Eastern Africa. The common areas in the main lodge are impecable and it's worth spending a day inside the lodge. Meals where amongst the best we had on our trip. Sasakwa's location provides the best view of the reserve as it is situated on top of the most dominant hill in the area. Game viewing is a delight as you can freely move around the terrain at your liking (it's a private reserve) and plan your day's objectives with trackers that talk are always in contact with Singita Staff members and almost certainly will be able to spot what you're looking for. While most of the staff was amazing, our tracker had a bit of an attitude and wanted to do things his way during the game drives. However, after talking about it with him and briefly going over the plan for each game drive, we got our way. Lesson: be sure to communicate with the staff about how you want things, they'll most certainly accommodate you. We had a good time meeting a few of the other guests, while at the same time feeling total privacy. On our next visit to East Africa we'll close our safari with a 4 night stay in Sasakwa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlonsoFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Singita Sasakwa is, without question, the most sublime travel experience I have had. And, that is even before experiencing the majesty of the Serengeti and its wildlife.

The joy of Sasakwa is experiencing luxury that is free of pretense, obsequiousness and over-statement. From the impeccably and authentically appointed lodges and rooms, to the genuine warmth of each host, to the exquisite food and wine, Sasakwa reminds us that there is no greater luxury than being at home. And, that is the experience and feeling that Sasakwa delivers in spades.

High on a hill, you appreciate the vast expanse of the Serengeti in a way that, surprisingly, makes you feel more connected than removed. On the "floor" of the Serengeti, the expert guides deliver an intimacy with the animals that reminds you how much more we should connect with and respect nature. At home at the lodge, you can do nothing but connect with yourself and your travel companions. As one, the Sasakwa experience is about recalibrating our appreciation of our place in the world.

My partner and I, after leaving Sasakwa, could only say of past and future travel experiences: "we've peaked!"

Room Tip: There is no room that is not exquisite. You will not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
6.1 mi away
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
#40 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
102 reviews
8.1 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#31 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
197 reviews
7.9 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#59 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#46 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
123 reviews
31.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
393 reviews
15.3 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#54 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Sasakwa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Sasakwa Lodge

Property: Singita Sasakwa Lodge
Address: Grumeti Reserves, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the style of a stately Edwardian manor house, Singita Sasakwa Lodge is positioned on Sasakwa Hill with sweeping views over the plains of the Serengeti. The lodge's grand entrance leads to elegant rooms of generous proportions, wide wraparound verandas and rolling lawns. The traditional glamour of Venetian mirrors, cut-glass crystal, silver candelabras and antiques are combined with animal hides, local artefacts and tribal cushions. The lodge has nine cottages with one, two or three bedrooms, all with private infinity pools, and also a four-bedroom villa. From elegant afternoon teas on the veranda to wine-paired dinners on the lawn, every experience is memorable and overflowing with special details. A spa, gym and tennis courts provide a multitude of activities in between game drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Singita Sasakwa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Sasakwa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing