We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1920's Out of Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

All I know is that we've never felt more like Meryl Streep and Robert Redford. The word "tented" is almost a misnomer for the magnificence that surrounds you. The lights from chandeliers twinkle on the silver and Irish crystal that grace the tables. Antique appointments are everywhere and comfort welcomes you after a day of animal viewing.
Expensive? Yes.
Worth it? Absolutely

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our family trip to the Singita Grumeti Private Reserve properties was beyond comparison! We had the privalege of staying at both the Singita Sabora Tented Camp and the Sasakwa Lodge. Each were unique settings in themselves, but by visiting both of these properties we were able to have totally different experiences, while emersed in Ernest Hemingway style and grace. Being an Interior Designer, I truly appreciated the beautiful antiques and furnishings, the exquisite interior selections, and the attention to details that was exhibited throughout these properties. Nothing was overlooked or left to chance. We were lucky enough to be there during the Great Migration and to witness the movement of the millions of Wildebeests and Zebras across the Serengeti - it was an incredible experience! One morning, we ventured on a hot air balloon ride over the migrating herds- WOW!- would recommend this to everyone! During our stay ,we were able to observe a Lion pride with 9 playful baby cubs, Lions mating, a mother Cheetah kill a Gazelle for her 3 cubs, Hyenas kill a baby wildebeest, and herds of Giraffe and Elephants. Our Landrover was also charged by a feisty bull Elephant. Luckily, our guide Medard (whom we would highly recommend) was very capable of handling the situation. Because you are on a private reserve you are able to have very up close and personal experiences with these animals. We couldn't believe how close the animals allowed us to be to them without running away. After one of our night trips back from the bush, we returned to a hot, filled bath tub, fresh roses and champagne waiting. Other memorable highlights included the surprise sundowners in the bush, the native local villagers dancing around the fire, spa treatments in a tent, showering outside while watching animals walking by and reading on the iron daybed behind our tent while curious zebras wandered by. Our African Safari to the Singita properties was a trip of a lifetime- it was 5-star in every aspect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson O, Manager at Singita Sabora Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you Denise for the great review of our property. We are delighted to note that you had a great experience while staying at our camp and that we were able to meet your expectations. It was great hosting you and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I want to meet the person who can walk away from this experience and not say they were blown away by every aspect. Singita and the Grumeti Reserves will change your life forever. Just bring tissues to the airstrip when leaving because tears are likely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson O, Manager at Singita Sabora Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for such an honest review of Singita Grumeti Reserve! We are humbled by your choice of words to express your experience during your visit of our property. Hope to host you again in the future.

Wilson Owino
Lodge Manager
Singita Sabora Tented Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What an experience! We were at Sabora for three nights, June 14-16. The migration was in full swing through Grumeti and the wildebeest and zebra were grazing all around our tent, if you can call it that; more like a Hollywood movie set. Everything was perfect and the staff made us feel as if we were royalty. We were accompanied (driven) on all game drives by Meeshy (sp.?) who was knowledgable and experienced. Working with Lloyd our tour guide they were able to locate a fresh leopard kill and we then located the overstuffed leopard in a nearby tree. This resulted in another wild animal experience not only for our vehicle , but for several others to follow after we moved away. Sabora was a once in a lifetime experience for us and you should not miss it either, especially in mid June.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wimby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It is hard to put into words the experience one feels when walking into a tented 1000 sf room and private bath full of antiques. From the Waterford crystal carafe full of port to the silver coffee service with French press for your morning pick me up, this place screams of historical experience.
Add to that your personal assistant, a private guide in a 9 seat safari range rover, and a 5 star chef, gym, and Spa, and that pretty much sums up a trip to Sabora. Your 500 sf deck outside your tent overlooks a very busy waterhole that attracts many species of game. Keep your camera ready, anything can happen. You get to know what it must have been like for the Great White Hunters to live in the bush during a safari in the late 1800's. of the five Singita's we have stayed at, this is our favorite.

Room Tip: Tent one is at the end of the camp and gives you an 300 degree unobstructed view of the surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

To say that this camp is luxurious is an understatement. Between the fresh-cut roses, air conditioning over the bed, huge bathroom with clawfoot tub and outdoor shower, Four poster bed and great food and service.. This camp ticks all the boxes! We loved the Traditional dancing in the evening... And fell asleep listening to hyenas taking down wildebeest. And we finally saw our Cheetah...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This place is amazing, in every respect.

The tents (which are larger than my entire medium-sized apartment in Australia) are authentically styled in the mode of intrepid Victorian adventurer, without feeling at all put on or anything less than inviting. And the level of luxury is amazing. From the four poster bed to the beautiful bath (sized for two) overlooking the animal-rich watering hole in the distance, this is an experience that is dazzling.

The staff are as good as their location - friendly and genuine without losing the strong emphasis on five-star service.

Room Tip: Make sure that, if you are staying for a few days, you spend a night or two in their other lodges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thoughtpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
30 mi away
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
#38 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
35 reviews
60.9 mi away
andBeyond Klein's Camp
andBeyond Klein's Camp
#45 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
139 reviews
26.8 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#33 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
220 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
20 mi away
Kirawira Serena Camp
Kirawira Serena Camp
#34 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Sabora Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Sabora Tented Camp

Address: Grumeti Reserves, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £637 - £2,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Singita Sabora Tented Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, South African Hotels, Jovago.com and Ebookers so you can book your Singita Sabora Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Sabora Tented Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing