We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One year later and I still think of it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One year later and I still think of it”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

It is so difficult to describe Sabora Tented Camp and feel like I will do it any justice but after staying there for four days, it is easy to see how Grumeti Reserve ranked as the 2012 #1 hotel in the world.
We were met at the airstrip by a lovely young man named Simon. Simon, while not our guide for the stay, took us on a great game drive as we made our way to the camp. I really wanted to see giraffe and Simon found them in the first 5 minutes of the drive.
When we arrived at the camp approximately 1.5 hours later, the manager, Wilson, met us with cool, scented towels, welcome drinks gave us the run down of how game drives worked (2 per day – one in the morning and one in the afternoon). We were then introduced to our amazing butler Jeremiah. I didn’t know it at the time but Jeremiah and our game guide, Toti, were soon to become two of the people who made our honeymoon so amazing.
As mentioned above, Toti was our game drive guide for our entire 8 days in the Grumeti Reserve. I don’t know how we got so lucky but Toti is one of Sabora’s top game guides and it showed. He was funny, patient, interested and interesting. He is an amazing teacher and can mimic the call of every animal (certainly in Tanzania and quite possibly the whole of Africa). He has the ears of a bat and the eyes of a hawk. With him we spotted 4 of the Big Five (there are few if any Rhino in Tanzania) and we saw babies of every kind – cheetah, giraffe, elephant, zebra, etc. and even saw some lone wildebeest who’d hung around after the migration just 2 weeks earlier.
Jeremiah made our stay at camp so special. He asked if he could surprise us with a special drink and we received Pimm’s Cups - Pimm’s Cups in the wilds of Africa! He arranged for us to have tables away from the group of New Yorkers and kids; he hung lanterns in the tree on our last night and set up a table underneath them for our final meal. Upon returning to our tent from our last game drive at Sabora, Jeremiah had drawn a lovely hot bubble bath and left a bottle of champagne chilling right beside it. Spectacular. Words can’t describe the thoughtfulness, warmth and genuine kindness of Jeremiah and anyone would be lucky to have him care for them during their stay.
Our tent was gorgeous – crystal decanter of port and crystal glasses; down comforter and plush robes – no hotel I’ve ever stayed in has been more luxurious. The pillows were a little to soft for my taste but to me that mattered not one fig when I was laying there staring out into the inky blackness hearing a hyena call in the distance.
Every day at the camp was wonderful and each game drive almost better than the last. Our time at Sabora Tented Camp was too short and while we did enjoy our stay at Faru Faru Lodge, we preferred Sabora. Jeremiah, Toti, Wilson and every other person at Sabora Tented Camp went above and beyond to make our honeymoon special – we look forward to the day when we can return.

Room Tip: We traveled in August of 2012 but it was so long ago it wasn't in the dropdown menu
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bingopajamagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

All I know is that we've never felt more like Meryl Streep and Robert Redford. The word "tented" is almost a misnomer for the magnificence that surrounds you. The lights from chandeliers twinkle on the silver and Irish crystal that grace the tables. Antique appointments are everywhere and comfort welcomes you after a day of animal viewing.
Expensive? Yes.
Worth it? Absolutely

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our family trip to the Singita Grumeti Private Reserve properties was beyond comparison! We had the privalege of staying at both the Singita Sabora Tented Camp and the Sasakwa Lodge. Each were unique settings in themselves, but by visiting both of these properties we were able to have totally different experiences, while emersed in Ernest Hemingway style and grace. Being an Interior Designer, I truly appreciated the beautiful antiques and furnishings, the exquisite interior selections, and the attention to details that was exhibited throughout these properties. Nothing was overlooked or left to chance. We were lucky enough to be there during the Great Migration and to witness the movement of the millions of Wildebeests and Zebras across the Serengeti - it was an incredible experience! One morning, we ventured on a hot air balloon ride over the migrating herds- WOW!- would recommend this to everyone! During our stay ,we were able to observe a Lion pride with 9 playful baby cubs, Lions mating, a mother Cheetah kill a Gazelle for her 3 cubs, Hyenas kill a baby wildebeest, and herds of Giraffe and Elephants. Our Landrover was also charged by a feisty bull Elephant. Luckily, our guide Medard (whom we would highly recommend) was very capable of handling the situation. Because you are on a private reserve you are able to have very up close and personal experiences with these animals. We couldn't believe how close the animals allowed us to be to them without running away. After one of our night trips back from the bush, we returned to a hot, filled bath tub, fresh roses and champagne waiting. Other memorable highlights included the surprise sundowners in the bush, the native local villagers dancing around the fire, spa treatments in a tent, showering outside while watching animals walking by and reading on the iron daybed behind our tent while curious zebras wandered by. Our African Safari to the Singita properties was a trip of a lifetime- it was 5-star in every aspect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson O, Manager at Singita Sabora Tented Camp, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you Denise for the great review of our property. We are delighted to note that you had a great experience while staying at our camp and that we were able to meet your expectations. It was great hosting you and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I want to meet the person who can walk away from this experience and not say they were blown away by every aspect. Singita and the Grumeti Reserves will change your life forever. Just bring tissues to the airstrip when leaving because tears are likely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson O, Manager at Singita Sabora Tented Camp, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for such an honest review of Singita Grumeti Reserve! We are humbled by your choice of words to express your experience during your visit of our property. Hope to host you again in the future.

Wilson Owino
Lodge Manager
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What an experience! We were at Sabora for three nights, June 14-16. The migration was in full swing through Grumeti and the wildebeest and zebra were grazing all around our tent, if you can call it that; more like a Hollywood movie set. Everything was perfect and the staff made us feel as if we were royalty. We were accompanied (driven) on all game drives by Meeshy (sp.?) who was knowledgable and experienced. Working with Lloyd our tour guide they were able to locate a fresh leopard kill and we then located the overstuffed leopard in a nearby tree. This resulted in another wild animal experience not only for our vehicle , but for several others to follow after we moved away. Sabora was a once in a lifetime experience for us and you should not miss it either, especially in mid June.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wimby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It is hard to put into words the experience one feels when walking into a tented 1000 sf room and private bath full of antiques. From the Waterford crystal carafe full of port to the silver coffee service with French press for your morning pick me up, this place screams of historical experience.
Add to that your personal assistant, a private guide in a 9 seat safari range rover, and a 5 star chef, gym, and Spa, and that pretty much sums up a trip to Sabora. Your 500 sf deck outside your tent overlooks a very busy waterhole that attracts many species of game. Keep your camera ready, anything can happen. You get to know what it must have been like for the Great White Hunters to live in the bush during a safari in the late 1800's. of the five Singita's we have stayed at, this is our favorite.

Room Tip: Tent one is at the end of the camp and gives you an 300 degree unobstructed view of the surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

To say that this camp is luxurious is an understatement. Between the fresh-cut roses, air conditioning over the bed, huge bathroom with clawfoot tub and outdoor shower, Four poster bed and great food and service.. This camp ticks all the boxes! We loved the Traditional dancing in the evening... And fell asleep listening to hyenas taking down wildebeest. And we finally saw our Cheetah...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
12.3 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#59 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
81 reviews
18.9 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#49 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
123 reviews
14.2 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#33 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#54 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
52 reviews
44.2 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
161 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Sabora Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Sabora Tented Camp

Property: Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Address: Grumeti Reserves, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Singita Sabora Tented Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Singita Sabora Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Sabora Tented Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing