We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singita Sabora Tented Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The service and the desire to please is better than ever experienced before. It is that good.
The staff is perfect. The location for the plains is fantastic with endless views and frequent visits of many wildlife (giraffes, baboons, zebras etc.). The food is perfect with a changing menu and food that rivals the best cuisine. If you like the colonial Africa antiquities that too is beyond comprehension. While purposely not modern and dates back to the era all the modern amenities are available (wifi worked well). Was very surprised all the way through the trip on the constant service and experience.

Room Tip: Only 9 tents "rooms" so they are all good. Room 9 is very private as at the end. But the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
68
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We started our Safari here at Sabora. If my memory serves me correct "Sabora" means (meant) land with nothing. This was before the reserve started to restore the animals back to area.
This permanet tented camp is a beautiful place,the wildlife walks just past your tent, and at night they are brave enough to graze next to your tent. It is very relaxing to sit in the day beds under the trees and watch the horizon with Water Buffalo, Zebra, Baboons and so much wildlife doing their thing.
The staff is great, the food is delicious and everything was perfect. The showers are outside your tent and it was a beautiful experiance to shower with the stars above!!

A must!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

All the decor helped to make us feel that we were back in colonial Africa. Our dinner by lamplight under the tree was delightful and private. Relaxing on my daybed was a total treat. A smaller camp which made it more intimate. Being surrounded by a herd of 5000 wildebeest, grunting through the night was unforgettable!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryTaylor143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Singita Sabora is about as good as "camping" can get. Great property and facilities, and a great staff. I can't single any one person out because all were so good. As for the tents, they are better accommodations than most Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton hotel rooms that we have stayed in. We could happily stay here and relax even if it weren't for the awesome game viewing all around us at this property. Everything was provided at the usual highest quality Singita level that we have come to expect. We have stayed at seven Singita properties so far, many of them multiple times, and all but one have been truly wonderful. We are already planning a return trip for next year and we have only just returned from this trip.

Room Tip: They are all good, but of course they are tents and as luxurious as they are you can get some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

It is so difficult to describe Sabora Tented Camp and feel like I will do it any justice but after staying there for four days, it is easy to see how Grumeti Reserve ranked as the 2012 #1 hotel in the world.
We were met at the airstrip by a lovely young man named Simon. Simon, while not our guide for the stay, took us on a great game drive as we made our way to the camp. I really wanted to see giraffe and Simon found them in the first 5 minutes of the drive.
When we arrived at the camp approximately 1.5 hours later, the manager, Wilson, met us with cool, scented towels, welcome drinks gave us the run down of how game drives worked (2 per day – one in the morning and one in the afternoon). We were then introduced to our amazing butler Jeremiah. I didn’t know it at the time but Jeremiah and our game guide, Toti, were soon to become two of the people who made our honeymoon so amazing.
As mentioned above, Toti was our game drive guide for our entire 8 days in the Grumeti Reserve. I don’t know how we got so lucky but Toti is one of Sabora’s top game guides and it showed. He was funny, patient, interested and interesting. He is an amazing teacher and can mimic the call of every animal (certainly in Tanzania and quite possibly the whole of Africa). He has the ears of a bat and the eyes of a hawk. With him we spotted 4 of the Big Five (there are few if any Rhino in Tanzania) and we saw babies of every kind – cheetah, giraffe, elephant, zebra, etc. and even saw some lone wildebeest who’d hung around after the migration just 2 weeks earlier.
Jeremiah made our stay at camp so special. He asked if he could surprise us with a special drink and we received Pimm’s Cups - Pimm’s Cups in the wilds of Africa! He arranged for us to have tables away from the group of New Yorkers and kids; he hung lanterns in the tree on our last night and set up a table underneath them for our final meal. Upon returning to our tent from our last game drive at Sabora, Jeremiah had drawn a lovely hot bubble bath and left a bottle of champagne chilling right beside it. Spectacular. Words can’t describe the thoughtfulness, warmth and genuine kindness of Jeremiah and anyone would be lucky to have him care for them during their stay.
Our tent was gorgeous – crystal decanter of port and crystal glasses; down comforter and plush robes – no hotel I’ve ever stayed in has been more luxurious. The pillows were a little to soft for my taste but to me that mattered not one fig when I was laying there staring out into the inky blackness hearing a hyena call in the distance.
Every day at the camp was wonderful and each game drive almost better than the last. Our time at Sabora Tented Camp was too short and while we did enjoy our stay at Faru Faru Lodge, we preferred Sabora. Jeremiah, Toti, Wilson and every other person at Sabora Tented Camp went above and beyond to make our honeymoon special – we look forward to the day when we can return.

Room Tip: We traveled in August of 2012 but it was so long ago it wasn't in the dropdown menu
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bingopajamagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

All I know is that we've never felt more like Meryl Streep and Robert Redford. The word "tented" is almost a misnomer for the magnificence that surrounds you. The lights from chandeliers twinkle on the silver and Irish crystal that grace the tables. Antique appointments are everywhere and comfort welcomes you after a day of animal viewing.
Expensive? Yes.
Worth it? Absolutely

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our family trip to the Singita Grumeti Private Reserve properties was beyond comparison! We had the privalege of staying at both the Singita Sabora Tented Camp and the Sasakwa Lodge. Each were unique settings in themselves, but by visiting both of these properties we were able to have totally different experiences, while emersed in Ernest Hemingway style and grace. Being an Interior Designer, I truly appreciated the beautiful antiques and furnishings, the exquisite interior selections, and the attention to details that was exhibited throughout these properties. Nothing was overlooked or left to chance. We were lucky enough to be there during the Great Migration and to witness the movement of the millions of Wildebeests and Zebras across the Serengeti - it was an incredible experience! One morning, we ventured on a hot air balloon ride over the migrating herds- WOW!- would recommend this to everyone! During our stay ,we were able to observe a Lion pride with 9 playful baby cubs, Lions mating, a mother Cheetah kill a Gazelle for her 3 cubs, Hyenas kill a baby wildebeest, and herds of Giraffe and Elephants. Our Landrover was also charged by a feisty bull Elephant. Luckily, our guide Medard (whom we would highly recommend) was very capable of handling the situation. Because you are on a private reserve you are able to have very up close and personal experiences with these animals. We couldn't believe how close the animals allowed us to be to them without running away. After one of our night trips back from the bush, we returned to a hot, filled bath tub, fresh roses and champagne waiting. Other memorable highlights included the surprise sundowners in the bush, the native local villagers dancing around the fire, spa treatments in a tent, showering outside while watching animals walking by and reading on the iron daybed behind our tent while curious zebras wandered by. Our African Safari to the Singita properties was a trip of a lifetime- it was 5-star in every aspect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson O, Manager at Singita Sabora Tented Camp, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you Denise for the great review of our property. We are delighted to note that you had a great experience while staying at our camp and that we were able to meet your expectations. It was great hosting you and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
12.3 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#63 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
18.9 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#44 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
50.8 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
17.6 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
14.2 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#32 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Sabora Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Sabora Tented Camp

Property: Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Address: Grumeti Reserves, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — Singita Sabora Tented Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Jovago.com so you can book your Singita Sabora Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Sabora Tented Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing