We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience in the bush”
Review of Olduvai Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olduvai Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We visited Olduvai Camp on our second day of safari. A really good camp in a lovely setting. The camp is set into the rocks with the tents set around the rocks. We got to see the wilder beast migration. Thousands of them just outside the camp. We would have liked to have stayed longer than just 1 night. The tents are very nice and comfortable. Be careful with the water when showering as it is solar heated along with the lighting. Be sparing and it will last. You are in the middle of the bush and for us it was amazing. The staff were very good and the food was really nice. A lovely bar area where you can get a cold beer and relax. I would recommend torches as we had to get up really early and it was still dark and had no lighting left. We got ready by torch light but it worked.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

My parents absolutely loved this place. The staff is very welcoming, but it's really the grounds that impress. The various public spaces littered about the grounds are well thought out, and the peak at the top from which to view the sunrise/sunset is fantastic.

The service was average, though the food was very good. Make sure you turn off your safety light when you retire for the night or you won't have any power left in the morning :)

We did end up doing the Maasai walk to the watering hole, and that was one of the best parts of our safari. We ended up walking through a gorge right next to a family of giraffes. Be warned; the Maasai walk very quickly!

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking, try to get one of the further rooms so you don't have people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The setting is peaceful and relaxing, and the proximity to safari wildlife is close. Food quality is great. The only drawback is the drinks. They don't show prices and you can be surprised at the charges when you check out--ask for costs first.
The camp is run by Masai tribesman who are all multi-lingual. The only noise you'll here is zebras and wildabeests thundering by each morning. Exceptional.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by "tent camp". The tents are clean with concrete floors, well decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowyInSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Most travelers use this camp simply as a place to overnight between Ngorongoro crater and the Serengeti, but it deserves much more than that!

The camp offers walking guides to the area - there's not much wildlife in the dry season (excepting some up-close moments with giraffes), but you get a ton of information and a fantastic conversation with your guide. This was one of the few places in our trip where we felt we learned about people and culture more than random quips about animals.

The nearby Olduvai Gorge is a good "destination" for a walk at 12km away (though you may want a lift back), and also worth paying a visit to if you're at all interested in anthropology.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joncamfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you are going from the Ngorongoro Crater to the Northern Serengeti, you might choose to pass thru Olduvai gorge. And if you do, definitely spend a night at Olduvai Camp. The setting (a rock outcropping in the middle of the Serengeti) is magnificent and everything about the Camp is first rate. We did not do many of the things people do here (sand dunes; excavation site, etc.) but we did go to the Masai Village and wish we had skipped it. Except for going into one of their "houses" (exceptionally interesting), it is solely about separating you from you money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Oldavai camp for 1 night on October9th, 2013.
The location is unique and the area had a wild desolate beauty to it.
The masai staff are friendly and there is an authentic feel to the camp.
We are vegetarian and the food was simple and and tasty.
On arrival we were greeted by the staff and taken to the bar for a welcome drink which is a lovely area to relax. This was much needed after the long bumpy dusty journey to the camp. It was a short walk to our tent. The tents are built on a wooden platform at ground level so you have an area of wooden decking for having a drink and enjoying the view. The tents were simply furnished, clean, comfortable bed and plenty of hot water.
I highly recommend going on the sunset safari walk where you are accompanied by 2 Masai guides to a nearby rock kopje where you can watch the sunset over the desert and watch the Masai herding their goats. It’s very peaceful and good to talk about the history of the camp and the local people.
I would recommend staying at Oldavai camp as it breaks up the long drive between the Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti. I am very glad we stayed at Oldavai but I think one night is sufficient. It was a beautiful area and the camp has a real ‘Out of Africa’ feel.
We visited Oldavai museum which was about 15kms away on a dusty bumpy road - this was really interesting (it costs $18 USD pp) and we also went to local masai village where for $50 USD per group you are given a traditional masai dance welcome (you participate) and a tour of their camp. This was good, however we did not appreciate the "hard sell" by the masai elder for us to buy things - we ended up buying 2 things which we did not need and would have been cheaper in Arusha.
We also stayed at Rivertrees, Mawe Ninga, Gibbs Farm and Alex Walker in Nth Serengeti before we went to see gorillas in Rwanda.

Room Tip: Arrive in time for evening sunset tour and if you like history and museums go the Oldavai museum abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As we drove to Olduvai from the Serengeti, a long and bumpy road, we didn't know what to expect although most reviews rave about the camp. Located in the middle of nowhere, it was a wonderful surprise to come upon the beautiful setting of Olduvai; it is stunning! All the prior reviews are right on about the special aspects of this camp. I would suggest that you zip up the inner tent that leads to your bathroom to protect from any insect or animal intruders that might get in from the outside perimeter; I did read about that happening so just a cautionary note up front. Otherwise, the tents were quite comfortable and regular showers were appreciated. The dining room is really beautiful and unusual; it's built into the rock formation and maintains the integrity of the entire layout of Olduvai. Our sunset walk with two Masai guides was lovely; the six of us had 2 guides, one who spoke English more fluently than the other, but both shared stories about growing up on the side of the crater and tried to educate us about the Masai way of life. Personally, I have one regret about this experience......I would have liked to stay one more day and explore the Gorge, take a longer walk with the Masai, visit a nearby village, etc. Driving in late in the day and leaving early the next morning wasn't enough time to really appreciate this camp and its environs. I would suggest spending another night at Olduvai and enjoying more of what the area has to offer historically and culturally.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
21.2 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
173 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
#27 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
52 reviews
46.5 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#21 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
103.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
521 reviews
45.6 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
261 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olduvai Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olduvai Camp

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olduvai Camp has only 17 tents, built around a big kopje. His location in the heart of the NCA is ideal for treks, especially along the Olduvai gorges. Every tent has a good comfort: big beds (doubles or twins) with quality bedding, pillows, covers etc...Necessary furniture, terrace with safari chairs, bathroom inside the structure (WC, hot shower with running water, small sink). The camp is eco-friendly, using solar panels (for lights, water heating etc.), Recycling garbage, water saving etc. Olduvai Camp is a must not to be missed if you like to experience an unforgettable overnight in the bush, between the famous Ngorongoro crater and the endless plains of Serengeti. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olduvai Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing