We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel - perhaps a bit snooty”
Review of Villa Didon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Didon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carthage
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel - perhaps a bit snooty”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The Villa Didon is a beautiful hotel situated with incredible Mediterranean views. The rooms are beautiful and everything one might expect from a 5 star property. Breakfast served in the room is great. Would be a wonderful and romantic getaway as hotel has only 10 rooms as well as a spa, restaurant, and hopping bar. The decor is great. The room is very comfortable with really cool showers and jacuzzi, a sweet balcony, a nice sitting area and all in all a great place to stay and relax. Its built right on the ruins of ancient Carthage and its location is prime although very convenient and a brief 5 minute walk to the tram to Tunis or 10 minutes to the beach or a small shopping area. My only gripe is that they are kind of snooty and didn't allow friends to enter who weren't dressed up (we were just returning from an excursion). I think they are quite picky about who they admit which is good for security I guess but still makes one feel a bit awkward. The staff ranged from very helpful to a bit aloof. But it's a beautiful hotel in a great location with great service. I didn't eat in their restaurant since it was a bit out of my price range but I'm quite sure it's excellent. The hotel is pretty expensive but lives up to it's cost. I'd return if given a chance!

Room Tip: all rooms here offer great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    21
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
4
45
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed at the Villa in the Venus suite. The room is quite alright, stylish and features a great view on Carthage and the Bay of Tunis. I found the staff at breakfast quite friendly and decently quick. Reception was also friendly despite an issue in booking dates (we got there one day too early. We were not plagued by issues mentioned in other reviews like noise or arrogance - the room was actually very quiet and cleaning staff was quite discrete, waiting for us to wake up and exit the room... we booked through friends from Tunisia though - I'm sure that helped a lot.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

A friend and I went to Villa Didon for cocktails, or at least tried to go. When we arrived (Im African American) we were harassed by security outside of the hotel about the purpose of our visit and if we had a reservation for the restaurant. When we repeatedly said in Arabic and French that we are going to the bar, they promptly said there was no room. We decided to enter and found plenty of space. This is the second time that this has occurred at Villa Didon. The first incident was two months ago with another friend, where again we were told there was no room at the bar, and decided to enter despite their protest and found plenty of room at the bar. This most recent incident, I was so disgusted that I asked for the manager who was "not present at the time" but the receptionist assured me that he would register my complaint. We decided to take our business elsewhere. Needless to say I doubt the manager will hear about the incident, therefore I will be visiting again and speaking to the manager in person. I spoke with security and told them that I would be speaking to the manager about this most recent incident and I will not be spending my dollars at their establishment.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Linnisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graefelfing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I tried to see their rooms for future reasons - they kept me waiting and waiting in the lobby. What I saw there in the meantime, was an unbelievably arrogant attitude to their customers.
Staff at the reception was unfriendly (not a single smile!), extremely slow and completely inefficient. Once you enter the building you have the very strange feeling of not being welcome. The design is modern, however not as breathtaking as in design-hotels in Central Europe. Their clientele seems to be mostly persons who want to show their wealth ... smoking cigars, showing a lot of gold ... well, they want to impress others, that's it. But far from "understatement". The Villa Didon is truly not an authentic place, it could be anywhere and their staff does not even life to 3-stars-standards. If you look for a nice, quiet place in a great location, then you may try the charming Dar El Medina in Tunis, which is a lovely, welcoming place.
Oh, yes, after 1.5hrs waiting I was told that all (10) rooms were occupied and I went off. I simply do not understand, how a hotel can exist like this - but the negative ever same reviews here over the last years so far had no impact on this product.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilkRoadTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

OMG... we just had the worst SPA ever... we wanted to do the hammam + Massage... at the hammam we were scrubbed with soap that is basically a liquid hand soap refill for toilets. Then we had to wait for 30 minutes lying on a bed before the massage... a lady came a decided to perfume the SPA with... a toilet spray! ... we finally decided not to have the massage... avoid avoid avoid!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xaxounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Hi,

I choose this hotel because it's rooms, location and services. the Jacuzzi is not working in the jounir suit i got , tea and coffee always cold and the most important thing that i cannot sleep untill the last bar is closed because while am in bed i can hear every thing happens down which wasn't excepected at all as a 5 stars hotel. i spend lovely time in the morning at the spa and suffer ALL NIGHT.

Noura

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nouras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

First the positives. The location is fantastic and all the rooms have amazing views over the punic ports from the lovely balconies. The suites are huge, there is a great hammam downstairs, the beds are comfy and there is a bit of a wow factor.

However.... once the wow has worn off you notice the cracks both physical and in the quality of service.

The finish on the rooms is not as good as it could be, which is a shame as a lot of money has been spent here and with slightly better workmanship it would be better.

The in-room bath area at the end of the bed is interesting. It is a nice idea, but it would help if the shower worked properly and did not flood the room. It would also be good if the bath could drain, or you could get hot water out of the taps in the sink.

Other minor annoyances included the bizarre stocking of the mini-bar, the inability to provide any glasses in the room, the impossible complexity of controlling the temperature in your room and the strange automatic time-controlled, motion sensitive lighting.

The main probelm was the service. You were not made to feel like a guest at a hotel but an annoyance getting in the way of running one of Tunis's top restaurant/bars downstairs. It was almost as though they had forgotten there were rooms attached.
Whilst the restaurant was nice, it is dramatically overpriced compared to other equally good eateries nearby and is no longer part of the Alain Ducasse stable.

The bar staff were entertainingly incompetent and full of their own self-importance, which was surprising given the very limited range of drink available. We also spotted them pouring left overs from drinks back into the bottles! On most nights all the seating in the bar is reserved for private parties meaning that guests have no where to sit anywhere in the hotel other than their rooms, given that the bar also serves as lounge and reception.

Unfortunately you could hear the noise all night from your room.

All the makings of a very nice hotel are here - it just needs some professional hotel management and staff.

  • Liked — Views of the punic ports
  • Disliked — obnoxious bar staff
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Lawrence232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
1.9 mi away
La Villa Bleue
La Villa Bleue
#1 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
2.2 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 6 in La Marsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dar Said
Hotel Dar Said
#2 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 12 in Gammarth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
3.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Didon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Didon

Property: Villa Didon
Address: Rue Mendes France, Carthage 2016, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Carthage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Didon 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Ancient Magic And Modern Luxury Of Tunisia. Antiquity and modern times converge in perfect symbiosis at Villa Didon, an exceptional luxury hotel of exquisite design, boutique sensibility and a truly magical setting. Surrounding ruins of ancient Carthage embrace the Punic Port, where Queen Didon disembarked to found this world-renowned ancient city on the coast of Tunisia. Rejuvenate in one of 10 luxurious and superbly appointed guestrooms, boasting unparalleled views of the shimmering Mediterranean. For the epitome of relaxation, enjoy a soothing and therapeutic massage in the spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Didon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Didon Hotel Carthage
Didon Hotel Carthage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing