We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Africa American Cemetery and Memorial
Ranked #8 of 99 things to do in Tunis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open Hours: Monday-Friday 09:00-16:00. Closed on Weekends
Rigby, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Serene”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Great place to come and get away for a bit. Very quiet, relaxing and beautiful. Friendly, helpful and respectful staff. Great memorial to those who paid the ultimate price in the defense of Freedom in North Africa.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A piece of America in Carthage, Tunisia”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

When you walk or drive into the main gate of the North Africa American Cemetery you believe you have been transported to America. The Memorial and cemetery is maintained to the high standard you would expect. There is helpful staff on duty - just ask. It is hard to believe that the men and women honored there have been there since WWII. The fountains in the plot area invite you sit and ponder about what happened. It is beautifully kept and peaceful.

Yes, those honored there are still on duty - if you visit Tunisia - it is a must place to visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Greenmc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“World War II”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is a great stop for historians. The cemetery reminded me of the Arlington cemetery in Virginia, as the white crosses commemorate the fallen American soldiers who fought in north Africa to stop German troops from invasion. There are 2840 crosses, and a Wall of Remembrance to the 3724 who were never found. There is also a great marble map with the battle plan, showing how the offensive was carried out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For history interested.”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Peaceful.....strange, as it is a place created due to war. Inaugrated by Eisenhower, the visitor´s centre includes a Roman mosaic which was given to the then American ambassador. He had a hard time accepting this ancient monument and had a brilliant idea, giving it back, so to speak! By donating it to the cemetary, it remains a gift from Tunisia to America, while remaining in the country. There are several WW2 military cemetarys in Tunisia and I am always impressed at how nicely they are kept and protected.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 605flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well-maintained tribute to our brave soldiers”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I happened upon this cemetery almost by chance, and as an American, this place held special meaning to me. It is amazing how important the North African campaign was during World War II, and a shame how little I knew about it.

My client drove me here as he was taking me around town, and we stopped in for a quick tour. The girl who worked at the center got the job after the revolution in 2011 and spoke very good English. She gave us a brief tour of the facility, and walked us around the cemetery, which was very well maintained and very relaxing. I asked the guide how often families of the deceased come to visit, and she said that although very few come, many of them remember to ask the cemetery staff to lay out flowers on important days like birthdays, Memorial Day, and Veteran's Day. I still thought it was a bit sad that their families did not visit.

In any case, if you are in town and would like to pay your respects to our fallen soldiers, this is a good place to do that.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank calkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Africa American Cemetery and Memorial also viewed

Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to North Africa American Cemetery and Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing