We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money, Foodoptions under par”
Review of Novotel Mohamed V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Mohamed V
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel is very new, and is build together with her sister hotel IBIS. Rooms are standard (but excellent) Novotel quality. Is seems that the executive rooms are not worth the extra 20 DH, might be a little larger. Flatscreen has all different connectors, like HDMI, so take your laptop to connect with a good movie or to have superb Skype facilities on screen. Pool on the top of the roof is smallish, but great views and nice relaxed atmosphere. Staff is extremely friendly and are doing everything they can for your comfort. The hotel is in / near the center of Tunis, and the surroundings still have to be developed somewhat with some extra restaurants, because the menu is limited and of under par quality. This should be improved as long as there are no really good restaurant in the neighborhood. I was also for a meeting at Les Berger du Lac, which is outside the center, more posh but I think the Novotel is great Value for Money when you are in Tunis for business or leisure. When the food was better I would rate them with excellent, but now ' only' very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boonstra_Familiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel had only been open about 10 days when I stayed there on business so there were still a few small glitches but overall everything was fine. Rooms are a little spartan and bed a little hard for my taste but all things considered I was satisfied. The alcohol license was not yet operational and the F&B choices are very limited so anything other than a short stay and you will eat outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunesdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

New hotel - a month old - with a totally inept kitchen. The window from the eating area shows it all, mostly prepared food from plastic bags that is reheated. Staff yelling at each other. Gordon Ramsay is definitely needed here. We rejected uncooked fish and the veal had been boiled and served with a garlic sauce used to hide the poor cooking. The risotto was partially cooked and rubbish. The menu pictures are flattering and wine is shown. The hotel does not have an alcohol license either, so don't expect that from the menu either. Definitely our worst hotel meal in Tunisia.

Room Tip: Back of property is the Ibis Hotel. Front facing rooms look to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BowyerOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

At last there is a new option in Tunis, I stayed there for 3 nights, during a business trip in Tunis.

The room was clean and well equipped with sufficient space, mini bar, FOC internet, advanced entertainment system with multilingual channels and complimentary tea and coffee station.

I did not use the room service, breakfast or the gym.
Extremely friendly staff with smooth check is and out.

I had one complaint, the room telephone did not work, I reported it but they could not solve it, I believe it is normal as the Hotel still in soft opening period.

Highly recommended for business travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mihyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The four-star Novotel in Tunis opened at the end of Feb. 2012, together with the three-star Ibis Hotel immediately adjacent, both owned by the French Accor chain. In fact they are so closely joined one might think it is the same hotel (from most angles they appear to be the same building with different logos on either end), but they are run separately. The Ibis is "value oriented" with simple but modern room furnishings and pricing which should cause some welcome competition in the Tunis hotel scene: 109 Tunisian Dinars /night during the week and 99 Dinars on the weekend. For a brand-new, modern hotel in a convenient location in Tunis this is an exceptional bargain.

The Novotel costs more, but offers an upmarket (though not lavish) experience which again should bring about some long overdue dynamism to the Tunis market. For years Tunis has been saddled with pretentious, over-priced and badly-run hotels (Abu Nawas, Laico) which charged international prices for mediocre facilities and service. Over the last decade the Saudi-financed Berges du Lac area, developed on land reclaimed from a lake, has been the favored location for upmarket offices, embassies, shops and residences, with the original downtown area being largely neglected; think of this as Tunisia's version of suburban flight. Carthage, La Marsa, and Gammarth are even further from town than the Berges du Lac area, and have also been heavily developed by tourist resorts and expensive condominiums. The older hotels have changed hands many times, being bought and sold by speculators from other countries (including the Gaddafi family), and frequent name changes can make it difficult to know which hotel is being described in a review from several years ago. (Mercure or Golden Tulip? Concorde or Berges du Lac? Ramada or Residence? Best Western or Maison Blanche?...)

The Novotel and Ibis mark an interesting shift from the suburban exodus, being located along Mohamed V Avenue which is a main artery along the edge of the banking district of Tunis proper. Due to the absence of any real zoning in Tunis this neighborhood is very diverse: along with large banks, modern shopping centers (Carrefour and Monoprix nearby) and cafes, there are also repair shops with partly dismantled cars spilling into the street, and even empty buildings being used for parking. Sidewalks are often blocked by parked cars, or piled with trash waiting for pickup. This area has evidently been neglected by municipal authorities for years, with all the attention going to Berges du Lac and other outlying suburbs, but it would be interesting if the arrival of Novotel and Ibis marked a new commitment to cleaning-up and maintaining this older business district.

The Novotel's lobby is modern and airy, and the front desk is well-staffed and efficient.
Rooms are also furnished with very modern furniture and fittings: comfortable bed, good lighting, a modern flat panel TV, wifi plus two Ethernet ports near the desk, and plenty of electrical outlets placed at convenient locations. The room was absolutely quiet, thanks to a modern double-glazed window and a very thick door.

The bathroom has very modern fixtures -- a large "rain" showerhead as well as removable/adjustable spray unit, a tempered glass panel instead of shower curtain, an elegantly sculpted washbasin, built-in hair drier with electrical shaver outlet, ample lighting and a very quiet exhaust system. A small minibar contains juice, water and soft drinks but no beer or wine (as noted by another reviewer, the hotel has not yet been granted a liquor license). There is also an electronic safe, and adequate storage for hangers and folded items. Modern artwork and blond wood furniture give an airy feel to the room.

The breakfast area also serves as the restaurant, looking through a glass wall into a very modern kitchen. The bread, croissants and rolls were among the best I have encountered in Tunis (not sure if they are baked on-site). The lunch and dinner menus are modern, tending toward fresh and light selections -- another welcome change from some of the other hotel restaurants. One odd aspect is the prominent display of non-existent bar and cocktail menus, and waiters whom I asked seemed uncertain when the hotel would be permitted to sell alcohol -- apparently they have been telling guests "tomorrow" since the hotel opened four weeks ago! Whether this is due to bureaucratic inertia, or a symptom of Islamist attitudes within the new coalition government is not clear. (Guests can buy their own wine or beer at the Monoprix about six blocks away for consumption in the room.)

There is a rooftop swimming pool, sauna and fitness center, all of which are modest in size but very modern and well-designed. Underground parking is available, and security staff patrol the area around the hotels. Based on early evidence the Novotel seems to be doing well, with all rooms filled during my stay, and several business groups making use of the meeting facilities. As other reviewers have noted, staff are still being trained, but I found them helpful and competent, and had no problems during my stay (apart from an intermittent WiFi failure, which I resolved by using a cable and Ethernet).

It would be great if Accor's investment in this highly-visible location in Tunis could stimulate some badly-needed maintenance and clean-up in the surrounding area. While this is not the hotel's direct responsibility, they will also benefit from improving the local "curb appeal" and making the Mohamed V area more pleasant for walking. (I am not factoring this into my ratings, as I expect that most hotel guests will rely on taxis or cars, yet this area has so much unused potential going to waste due to municipal neglect.)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back look across at the sister Ibis Hotel; rooms at the front overlook an avenue lined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

a new hotel but great attentive staff who I found to be extremely friendly and attentive. I requested an iron and iron board in my room and this was delivered immediately. Room service was quick and the food good quality. The rooms as you expect from a new hotel were very clean and the decor in good condition. Free wi-fi with good connection

Only downside I found is that the hotel still doesnt have an alcohol license even though alcohol is shown in all the menu's however this was a minor inconvenience and the staff assure me they will have the license within the next week

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I only used the spa, I did not stay at this hotel but at the adjoining Ibis hotel of the same group (see my review for Ibis). This review is only for the spa.

The spa is accessible with payment from either the Ibis or the Novotel, for whose guests the small gym is free. Both hotels make you pay to use the hamam (15 TD or about 8 Euros).

I purchased a Lymphatic Drainage massage at the Inbalance Spa. The man giving me the massage appeared to be untrained and did not to know how to give such a massage. After the massage I hardly felt relaxed. Moreover, he was coughing on me every thirty seconds for most of the fifty minute massage. I am use to slightly different standards of hygiene, but this was ridiculous. The oils he used smelled bad and were in generic containers. Although they advertise and told me that they use branded products, this did not seem to be true from the quality of the products.

The spa is small and can barely accommodate two people at once. It was clean as it had opened just weeks before and seemed to have few customers.

After a treatment you need to pay another 15 TD or 8 Euro to use the hamam and another 15 tD or 8 Euro if you want to use the fitness room.

For the 90 TD or almost 50 Euro the 50 minute massage costs, you can get much better value for money at massage parlours around town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cfjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
390 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#6 of 55 in Tunis
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 55 in Tunis
459 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Corail Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Mohamed V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mohamed V

Address: 44 Avenue Mohamed V, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Price Range: £76 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Mohamed V 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Mohamed V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing