We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice restaurant.”
Review of El Ali

El Ali
Ranked #4 of 205 Restaurants in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: El Ali restaurant & Café is charming, an oasis of peace away from the chaos of the medina streets.when you step into it, you feel as through you've walked straight into someone's house; a home of the past.You have to come and see to discover how tasty are the recipes, how beauty is the place and how intense is your evasion when stretch out into it's different levels reserved to a restaurant, cultural café and an airy and greenery terrasse.
Taipei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice restaurant.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

the dessert is very suitable to the mint tea.

and the surrounding is delicate.

Helpful?
1 Thank 445irist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    88
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming lunch”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This little gem is a must try in Tunis. The food is delicious and it is typically Tunisois meals prepared to the perfection. Lovely ambiance and gorgeous location in a building thats over 100 years old in the old medinat of Tunis.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ji J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best in Tunis!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Undoubtedly one of the best restaurants in downtown Tunis. Certainly if you're in the medina this is the place to eat. We've been a number of times - most recently last week - and it has proved to be very reliable. A great place to sample Tunisian cooking, the portions are a good size, the prices very reasonable. The staff are friendly too (the manager was unfazed by a demand for gluten free dishes). In short, very good VFM. If I had to quibble, I would note that it can be a bit cramped for space when it's full, which it often is - because it's so good!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So friendly”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We went there because we saw good comments in Trip advisor. We had cafe and desert first. When everyone was so friendly, we went there for lunch and very delicious. Prices are not so expensive. Very clean. Thanks for this good lunch
Tuba from Istanbul

Helpful?
1 Thank Tuba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Maybe it was a day off...”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Pretty old building in the Medina, very nicely restored. We arrived early evening, on our first day in Tunis and were greeted by a very charming but slightly stressed lady. We were informed that it was menu only, choice between meat and fish. We found the food plentiful but very average, a rely warm for the main course, in my case a piece of (very resilient) chicken in a nice.ish sauce , a very indifferent custard like pudding and a (very)good slice of fruit/nut cake. The staff was nice but patchy service. At 100 dinars for 2 without wine far too expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radiolondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Ali also viewed

Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to El Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing