We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make It Your First Night - And Last Night's - Spot.”
Review of Hotel Tiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tiba
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make It Your First Night - And Last Night's - Spot.”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Fantastic. Right in the middle of everything, but still quiet. Nice rooms, decent Wifi, hot water, kind staff... And a parking garage for those of us who foolishly brought bikes to Tunisia. Cannot recommend it enough - leave the budget accom for the middle of your trip, this is the place to start and end it in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AricSQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    75
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
46
30
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Foz do Iguassú, Parana, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is small hidden within the ancient looking buildings in Tunis's revolution street. From outside, it does not capture the imagination, but its quite exquisite inside, well air-conditioned, very clean rooms and quite relaxing. Above all, very very pocket friendly. The staff are friendly, struggle to communicate in English, but still are able to help. A walking distance to the old Medina where you experience the Tunisian culture. Loved staying and will stay there if I go back to Tunis

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A slightly more expensive option, in Tunisian terms, but a very nice hotel. Well-appointed rooms, spotlessly clean, very new, probably very recently refurbished, friendly desk staff and great breakfast. One of the better mid- to upper-range hotels in Tunis.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101worldcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed here for one night in Feb. 2013. The location of this small hotel is very convenient to central Tunis and the Medina, plenty of shops, cafes, and newsstands. The Tiba looks clean and bright both in the common areas and the rooms.... the elevator worked well. The room itself (305) was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in, but for 1-3 nights I would find it OK. The stall shower is a bit difficult to turn around in unless you're a very small person. The bed was quite comfy and had nice bedding with good fluffy pillows. Wi-fi in my room worked just fine.

The hotel could be improved by giving the staff some additional trianing in customer relations & communication. I had contacted the hotel by email the day before arriving, asking them to give me a status report on the area. This was important to me because I was coming during some political unrest and wanted to make sure they were still going to be open for business. They simply neglected to respond to my email. I found breakfast to be disappointing for a couple of reasons. I came down at 9:20, yet almost all of the fresh food was gone, I got the last 2 mini-croissants and no efforts were made to replenish any of the empty buffet trays, despite a couple more guests arriving after me. Then I was asked to move to a smaller table (my table could seat 4) by the woman in charge......despite the fact that there was still space for at least 22 people to sit in the room! That just seemed rude and totally unnecessary. Only 2 more guests came into the breakfast room in the last 30 minutes. The brewed coffee was absolutely the worst sludge I've ever attempted to consume. Thick as molasses, lukewarm, and full of sediment/grounds. It seemed as they only made one big urn of it, probably 3-4 hours earlier, and never freshened the urn. I did resort to drinking some instant coffee that was on the smallish buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mona-isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Quebec , Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

A small hotel located at a few hundred metres away from the Medina adn just at the corner of the main avenue of tunis. Friendly staff and food was abundant and delicious. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Good value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrestiLey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Very clean, very modern, extremely convenient for business in Tunis, central location. Very good price/quality ratio. Wifi on the room can be slightly weak. I had a suite and the space was great. New beds and good comfort. If you need a place for a business meeting then nearby cafe are available. I would go there anytime again.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abusultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

A very good find. Not one for traditionalists as very Western & modern inside but a good overnight stop before a day seeing the sites at Carthage using the Metro. We ate a pleasant light evening meal at La Parnesse 100 metres away on the main street (see my review). Continental breakfast was included in our price. Room (211) looked out on service alley and very quiet. Convenient for all forms of public transport.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#19 of 54 in Tunis
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#7 of 54 in Tunis
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.2 mi away
Tunisia Palace
Tunisia Palace
#13 of 54 in Tunis
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiba

Property: Hotel Tiba
Address: 4 Ali Bach Hamba, Tunis 1000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tiba 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiba Hotel Tunis 3 star luxury, offering a total of 47 rooms spread over 4 floors, offering free buffet breakfast, air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, the guest rooms at Tiba hotel Tunis are simply decorated. A shower and a hairdryer are features of the modern en suite bathrooms.Free private parking is available on site at the hotel.Tiba hotel is located in the center of Tunis and 15 minutes from Tunis-Carthage Airport, 50 meters from theatre, 5 minutes from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing