We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent services & treated like a BABY !”
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It a was a short stay, but so wonderful! i liked the view of the room, the declicious tunisian food ,and specially the lovely lady Basima calling me every day checking what i need , and whether if im satisfied or no .
I liked the amazing cashier Salim .
(i really push you to try africa hotel , you will be treated as a BABY !)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction010, Responsable commercial at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear guest,
We would like to express our sincere thanks for taking the time to post your feedback from your last stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.
We are very pleased to read all the positive comments you mentioned, especially regarding the staff of the reception area and the Tunisian dishes in our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Africa TunisHotel.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

Perfect location, easy walking distance from all key town centre waypoints. It is not a holiday hotel, though, so do not expect a swimming pool, spa or impressive gym, otherwise you might be disappointed. Breakfast buffet on par with most business class hotels: no particular gourmet extra points, but a good spread with a nice variety. Coming from Europe I found that fruit in Tunisia are particularly tasty. Lunch buffet a little uninspired, but admittedly it is in the nature of hotel buffet lunches. Overall a good stay. The staff was particularly friendly and helpful in making reservations for restaurants outside, arranging for a (external shop-bought) bottle of champagne to be delivered to the room at a specific time with flowers, and generally very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niccoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction010, Responsable commercial at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for taking the time to post the feedback regarding your last stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.

We are highly delighted that you found the location of the hotel convenient and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the staff of the hotel and the quality of the services.

We are also honored to announce that a lifting program is already prepared and is under study for execution.

Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously and all necessary actions are undertaken with the aim to continuously improve our product and the quality we deliver.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I've stayed here several times because my customer has a favorable rate with the management and it's reasonably close to their offices. That said, the hotel is adequate, a three star that claims a five star status. It isn't. It has the large reception area characteristic of the old fashion five star hotels. Marble entrance and so on but other than that, there is nothing five star about the hotel. The rooms have dated decor, the restuarant is not good, the breakfast is passable at best, the staff is ok, nothing great, the TV has a limited selection. but the internet is free and stable. The location on Avenue Habib Bourgiba is very central but even here, Tunis' famous central boulevard is really the evening haunt for the male working class. The "smart" people and "smart" places are in Berge du Lac (alcohol free), Sidi Bou Said and La Goulette. So unless you have business that requires a central location, there is really no reason to stay in central Tunis. An afternoon or early evening stroll is sufficient combined with a daytime visit to the Medina, Tunis' old town. After nine PM, everything gets a bit sketchy. Since the "Awakening" many tourists seem to have avoided Tunis. Getting a room should be no problem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timhrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction010, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your last stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.
We are glad that you mentioned the favorite price, the quality of internet connection and the staff of the hotel.
We would like to inform you that your remark concerning the room and restaurant decoration was forwarded to the CEO for consideration. Also, be informed that a lifting program for the hotel is already prepared and is under study for execution.
We also regret your disappointment regarding the centre of Tunis but at the same time we believe that the town center has its charm and is still the centre of the capital's business and administrative activities, all whilst being very close to beaches, les Berges du Lac, Sidi Bou Said and Carthage.
We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We splurged on a 5 star and man I am sorry we did. Crappy food from the restaurant and the shower was broken - had to wash my hair in the tub. I told the staff who said I hould have told them earlier - how? People usually shower in the morning.

Crappy experience and not recommended. Why pay for not kept up shower and rude staff?

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Amazing hotel, in the heart of the city. Very near to the airport. Elegant, at the same time not too fancy. Just to suit your needs. Very nice view of the city form the hotel rooms.

Lot of variety for breakfast. Plenty of eateries around in case you dont feel like eating in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bombaybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Because you will not need it. I even tried speaking French for basic information as English was not understood. Room smelled like it had not been cleaned in some time. Food was lackluster at best, coffee was worse than the standard fast food coffee back home. I ended up getting a lot of good information from a man on business from London who was also unimpressed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuiepodeLlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

This hotel suited the purpose of our two night stay. Our room was quiet, well equipped and of reasonable size. A typical 5* Tunisian hotel breakfast was provided with variable service.

The reception staff ranged from highly competent to downright rude and arrogant. For example when we asked shortly after arrival how to order a taxi the reply was "don't ask me, I'm not the bell-hop" (there was no bell-hop in evidence). The following day a female member on reception became irate at our inability to understand her vague city directions and we were reminded once again this was Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannaspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 55 in Tunis
454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 55 in Tunis
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#16 of 55 in Tunis
129 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Address: 50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
Price Range: £53 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Africa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Africa Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing