We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to the 80's!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Tunis
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Welcome to the 80's!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I had a good stay. Bed was nice and hard, Isolation was good. Hotel definitly deseved its 5* 20 years ago. Hotel has been renovated but not modernised, meaning the carpet is new and clean but all facilities are still old style. Beautiful view on Tunis! (Stayed on the 20th floor).

Breakfast ist not up to standard. Lemonade instead of fresh juice. Again as in the 80's the decor is nice and the food is well presented. To my opinion they spend more time on the presentation then on quality.

Would have been nice to have a outside terace of a swimming pool on the roof.
Would recommend this hotel as I did not find anything better in the city center. Max reasonable price should be 100€. I do not think it is worth paying more.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvschaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction010, Responsable commercial at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Guest,
We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to inform you that your remarks concerning the food & beverage were forwarded to our executive team for consideration. We are also honored to announce that a lifting program will be executed in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again at our hotel.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    158
    92
    26
    20
See reviews for
26
51
45
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Londrina, PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

It a was a short stay, but so wonderful! i liked the view of the room, the declicious tunisian food ,and specially the lovely lady Basima calling me every day checking what i need , and whether if im satisfied or no .
I liked the amazing cashier Salim .
(i really push you to try africa hotel , you will be treated as a BABY !)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction010, Responsable commercial at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear guest,
We would like to express our sincere thanks for taking the time to post your feedback from your last stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.
We are very pleased to read all the positive comments you mentioned, especially regarding the staff of the reception area and the Tunisian dishes in our restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again at Africa TunisHotel.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels, belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Perfect location, easy walking distance from all key town centre waypoints. It is not a holiday hotel, though, so do not expect a swimming pool, spa or impressive gym, otherwise you might be disappointed. Breakfast buffet on par with most business class hotels: no particular gourmet extra points, but a good spread with a nice variety. Coming from Europe I found that fruit in Tunisia are particularly tasty. Lunch buffet a little uninspired, but admittedly it is in the nature of hotel buffet lunches. Overall a good stay. The staff was particularly friendly and helpful in making reservations for restaurants outside, arranging for a (external shop-bought) bottle of champagne to be delivered to the room at a specific time with flowers, and generally very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niccoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction010, Responsable commercial at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for taking the time to post the feedback regarding your last stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.

We are highly delighted that you found the location of the hotel convenient and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the staff of the hotel and the quality of the services.

We are also honored to announce that a lifting program is already prepared and is under study for execution.

Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously and all necessary actions are undertaken with the aim to continuously improve our product and the quality we deliver.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washingtondc
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I've stayed here several times because my customer has a favorable rate with the management and it's reasonably close to their offices. That said, the hotel is adequate, a three star that claims a five star status. It isn't. It has the large reception area characteristic of the old fashion five star hotels. Marble entrance and so on but other than that, there is nothing five star about the hotel. The rooms have dated decor, the restuarant is not good, the breakfast is passable at best, the staff is ok, nothing great, the TV has a limited selection. but the internet is free and stable. The location on Avenue Habib Bourgiba is very central but even here, Tunis' famous central boulevard is really the evening haunt for the male working class. The "smart" people and "smart" places are in Berge du Lac (alcohol free), Sidi Bou Said and La Goulette. So unless you have business that requires a central location, there is really no reason to stay in central Tunis. An afternoon or early evening stroll is sufficient combined with a daytime visit to the Medina, Tunis' old town. After nine PM, everything gets a bit sketchy. Since the "Awakening" many tourists seem to have avoided Tunis. Getting a room should be no problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timhrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direction010, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your last stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.
We are glad that you mentioned the favorite price, the quality of internet connection and the staff of the hotel.
We would like to inform you that your remark concerning the room and restaurant decoration was forwarded to the CEO for consideration. Also, be informed that a lifting program for the hotel is already prepared and is under study for execution.
We also regret your disappointment regarding the centre of Tunis but at the same time we believe that the town center has its charm and is still the centre of the capital's business and administrative activities, all whilst being very close to beaches, les Berges du Lac, Sidi Bou Said and Carthage.
We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again at our property.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

We splurged on a 5 star and man I am sorry we did. Crappy food from the restaurant and the shower was broken - had to wash my hair in the tub. I told the staff who said I hould have told them earlier - how? People usually shower in the morning.

Crappy experience and not recommended. Why pay for not kept up shower and rude staff?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bombay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Amazing hotel, in the heart of the city. Very near to the airport. Elegant, at the same time not too fancy. Just to suit your needs. Very nice view of the city form the hotel rooms.

Lot of variety for breakfast. Plenty of eateries around in case you dont feel like eating in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bombaybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Because you will not need it. I even tried speaking French for basic information as English was not understood. Room smelled like it had not been cleaned in some time. Food was lackluster at best, coffee was worse than the standard fast food coffee back home. I ended up getting a lot of good information from a man on business from London who was also unimpressed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuiepodeLlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#16 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Property: Africa Hotel
Address: 50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Africa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Africa Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing