We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but not great”
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Tunis
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine but not great”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel is centrally located and will give you a fine, but not great experience. The hotel rooms as well as reception, restaurant and meeting rooms look and feel worn and dated and could do with being updated/renovated. The rooms, including bathrooms, are a good size. The beds are comfortable and at least my room was quiet enough although it was facing a busy street. I don't know if rooms facing the opposite direction would be preferable.
The restaurant is very big and the buffet is very generous and varied both for breakfast and lunch. However, the food is good but not great. The service is also good, but not great. You could order a coffee after lunch, but it will cost you extra and take some time, for example.
The meeting rooms are fine, but again - not great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    160
    95
    28
    20
See reviews for
27
53
46
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Been there on a business trip.

The overall experience was good, they offered me a welcome drink and gave me early access to the room since I arrived early.

The laundry service is really fast, got my t-shirt the same day. Room service is good too, though I only asked for breakfast.

The buffet at diner was average, food doesn't have a great taste, they should work on this.

I also had an extra 2 hours before check out for free because my flight was late that night.

Also convenient location in the heart of Tunis and close to the airport

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisham Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This place is really a rip off. It is overpriced. The linens were like something from the 70s. You'll feel like you're back in US--at least in a marginal hotel with an overpriced mini-bar and no price list. I was somewhat weary and unable to muster the language skills to get a reasonable price for the room. The creepy guy at the front desk acted like he was giving me a great deal when he gave me the price of a room with breakfast--then told me he was giving me breakfast free. My "business" is academia; so I don't walk around in heels and a suit. After a long, hot walk in the city and the medina, they had the nerve to ask me if I was really staying there. But it was handy for friends who were picking me up. And as one of the tallest buildings in Tunis, a useful landmark. You can drink a Heineken in peace out of your minibar. But avoid it if you can--there is a Novotel a few blocks away, not on the main street (Habib Bourguiba), but really close.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophrosune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear guest

Dear guest,

Thank you for your attention.

We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us. We regret your disappointment regarding all the points you have mentioned and would like to insure you that we have immediately brought your comments to the attention of the concerned managers.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Tunis.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aqui
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed 3 nights for a business trip and everybody recommended this hotel because of the safety and it's true.
I've couldn't compare but everybody told me it's the best in the city center.
It's near the Airport (you only should pay 10 dinar), near the Highway (1 minute by car) and near the Medina (3 minutes walking straight ahead).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-Av-Ma-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We enjoyed welcoming you to Africa Tunis Hotel. It was a real pleasure to read these wonderful remarks. Your comments about the location and the safety of our hotel were nice.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to see you soon at our property.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed at the Africa Hotel for three days. The rooms where clean and comfortable, but I had some mosquitos in my room, which was kind of annoying, specially during the nights. The conference rooms where really nice, but one of the things that really bummed me out was the fact that the coffee they served was some from some sort of instant coffee machines.
Wifi worked pretty well at almost every spot in the hotel. The air conditioning was not that great, sometimes it just didn't work properly, and some lightbulbs where missing in the room.
they didn't have complimentary water bottles in the room, that was a bummer as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us at Africa Tunis Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the meeting rooms and the internet.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the room and the air-conditioner. We have immediately brought your comments to the attention of the concerned managers.

We always appreciate getting feedback and hope to welcome you again with better service.

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband, adult son and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Africa Hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent and the rooms were clean and comfortable but there were some negative aspects. As other contributors have noted, the air conditioning does not work and our rooms stayed at around 27C. We ate twice at the restaurant on the 5th floor and both times my choice was unavailable. We had been looking forward to Tunisian coucous but it was stodgy and unappetising - we've had better at home and in Middle Eastern restestaurants. The buffet on the 1st floor is extensive but the food is not hot if you do not arrive early. On the second day the toilet paper in our room ran out and was not replaced despite three calls to reception. Only one person on reception was friendly and helpful to ladies, as were others of the staff we encountered, but a notable exeption was the bar staff who were surly and unsmiling. Almost without fail they got our order wrong and every time took my husband and son's order then walked off without taking mine. Perhaps more serious is the maintainance of the lifts: in one case when our son was alone in a lift it started to make complaining noises and lurched rapidly down five floors until breaks cut in. One of the other two lifts was also malfunctioning according to a member of staff who stopped us entering, but there was no out-of-order notice placed and it continued to be used immediately afterwards.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your attention.
We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us.
We also regret your disappointment regarding all the points you have mentioned and would like to insure you that your remarks were taken into account in order to improve the quality of the service.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Tunis.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed here one night for business trip. Hotels location is in the center of city. Very close to places you can eat. But when you see the hotel from outside you expect better hotel but rooms are quite ordinary. You can not even find a toothbrush or toothpaste and the price is realy not cheap.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ugur F N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,

Nous vous remercions infiniment d’avoir laissé vos commentaires sur TripAdvisor.
Nous sommes vraiment enchantés que l’emplacement de notre hôtel a répondu à vos attentes.
Nous vous assurons que nous avons bien pris en considération vos remarques et nous tenons par la même à vous informer de l'existance d'une note dans les chambres stipulant la mise à disposition d’une brosse à dents et un dentifrice au besoin du client.

Nous espérons tout de même avoir à nouveau l’occasion de vous recevoir dans notre hôtel.

Meilleures salutations

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#19 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Property: Africa Hotel
Address: 50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Africa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Africa Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing