We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homeward bound”
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homeward bound”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Africa on the last night of our Tunisian holiday. We have stayed here several times after stays in other Tunis hotels over the years.
It is centrally situated and close to shops, restaurants and other attractions. The main railway station is a few blocks away. The room we had this visit was on the 12th floor. It was clean and spacious with a view over the Avenue Habib Bourgiba. The bathroom was spotless with toiletries of good quality. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.
We took breakfast in the first floor restaurant. We were served our coffee and helped ourselves from the buffet of hot and cold dishes as well as breads, yoghourts etc. Omelettes etc were cooked to order.
Front of house staff were efficient and friendly. I have no doubt we will stay at the Africa again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizbang1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful comment on Tripadvisor, thank you very much for sharing it with us!

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Africa Tunis Hotel and we were glad to make your stay special.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon and we will make everything possible to make it even more special the next time

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    162
    98
    29
    22
See reviews for
27
55
46
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

service is sooo slow you need a bed
coffee nearly undrinkable, which takes a biiig effort by tunisian standards. supposed be Lavazza, yeah riiiight, my a..e it is.
wifi no longer free
but it's really central
try at berge du lac the new hotel de paris - service excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abelljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us.
We are very concerned by your remarks regarding the service; our executive team is taking the necessary steps to prevent reoccurrence in the future.
Please rest assured that we are undertaking the needed measures to make sure such inconvenience do not occur again.
Thank you for your comments. Your opinion will certainly help us to improve our services and guest experience.
Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tunis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tarrant Monkton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I understand this is t he best hotel in Tunis. The hotel is very central and is on a lovely wide tree lined boulevard. The location is ideal as it is in easy walking distance of the Medina.

The rooms were average as was the food. Some choices better than others.
The service as average too..

however, I would recommend the hotel as I am not sure there is anything better in Tunis.

Having said all this, we had a wonderful week in Tunisia. This hotel was our base while we visited WW2 Tunisian Battlefields and Carthage. An experience not to be missed.

We found the people of Tunisia to be very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 918PatriciaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.

We are thrilled that you had a great time in Tunis and that you found the location of the hotel convenient.

We also regret your disappointment regarding some points and would like to insure you that your remarks were taken into account in order to improve the quality of the service.

We always appreciate getting feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Tunis.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotels location is excellent. It's in the heart of the city. And close everything. I guess the 5 stars were accredited to having bellhops and amazing views. The rooms themselves were not so good. The air conditioning was not functioning. I felt the springs of the mattess. The room smelled like vinegar. But the bathrooms were clean. Maybe they were using the vinegar to clean things.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbduBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We enjoyed welcoming you to Africa Tunis Hotel. We are highly delighted that you found the location and the view of the hotel convenient.

We sincerely regret your disappointment regarding the air conditioner and the mattress.
Please know that we take every comment seriously and that we use them as tools to constantly improve ourselves.

We wish very much welcome you again in the near future with better service.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Africa Hotel proudly displays five stars everywhere, charges four-star prices, and has the amenities of a three-star hotel.

The location is excellent, and the hotel is perfectly comfortable, but it's nothing like the five-star hotel it claims to be. Double beds are twin beds pushed together. Bathroom amenities are minimal, bathrobes non-existent, and televisions old boxes from the 90s.

The hotel really is OK, but it suffers from a serious case of over-hyping itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and you found the hotel comfortable.

We are also happy to inform you that we are going to start a total plan of renovation very soon.

You should definitely give us a try again. You will see a major change in decoration on your next visit.

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel claims to be a 5 stars one but the service is for 3 minus. Room cleanliness is bad. The breakfast service is very bad (all the time missing items), housekeeping is not consistent, most reception staff not friendly... a lot of issues for a 5 stars hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

We apologize greatly for the inconvenience you had during your stay.
Please rest assured that we are undertaking the needed measures to make sure such inconvenience do not occur again. We have notified the relevant departments of the issue highlighted in order to take corrective actions.

We always appreciate getting feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Tunis.

Regards,

Sales Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is located down town Tunis. The only thing that I liked about it was the cart of tangerines and oranges for breakfast and lunch. I prolly had about 10 kgs of those. The pancakes/crepes for breakfast were okay as well. The lunch buffet selection- not that good at all. I stayed there for 4 days and 4 nights, but by the second day I could hardly eat the lunch. Then the room next to mine always had a tonne of teenagers making noise. Had to call reception to come shut them down.And for a 5 star hotel, they had no gym. That was a shock too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear guest,

We enjoyed welcoming you to Africa Tunis Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the breakfast and especially the seasonal fruit.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay and be advised that the hotel will have a nice gym very soon.

We all look forward to welcome you again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 54 in Tunis
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
448 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#19 of 54 in Tunis
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Property: Africa Hotel
Address: 50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Africa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Africa Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing