We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and bar”
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Reviewed 24 July 2014

During Ramadan it is one place you can get food. The restaurant upstairs is good, but the bar food offering is no up to a 5 star hotel standard and it can take them 45 mins to deliver a sandwich with 3 ingredients.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luzmsoulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you found the restaurant of our hotel convenient.

Please be assured that your comments regarding the bar will be shared with our team members.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you on a future occasion.

Regards,

Sales Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed in a suite for one night. The room was clean and well maintained with a lovely view. Great location on the Main Street filled with cafés and restaurants. The bar in the hotel was also nice but the restaurants where very dated and breakfast horrible.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your attention. Your comments about the location, the view and the room of our hotel were nice.

Also, we are very concerned by your remarks regarding the breakfast and the restaurants. Our executive team is taking the necessary actions to offer a better service.

We always appreciate getting feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Tunis.

Regards
Sales Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I didn't stay in the Hotel Africa instead I chose the Ibis (also reviewed) but when we were in the city centre on a daily basis - be it to eat, visit the souk or walk to the TGM we would nip into the lobby bar for a drink or two.
The hotel itself looked great and very luxurious but I never went into a room upstairs. Reception was always manned and 2 or 3 staff behind the bar which was a godsend.
The bar was open all day during Ramadan, the staff are friendly and interested in your trip. They speak Arabic, French, English and I heard some German too. A Celtia (bottle) will cost 6 dinar and they also serve a nice choice of cocktails starting from 8 dinar that were well made and contained sufficient alcohol.
With your beer you'll get a free bowl of olives, crisps and cheese!.
Overall the bar is a great place to stroll on into and get away from it all for a few beers and light snack - they do serve sandwiches and a 'club sandwich' being a reasonable 10 dinar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful comment on Tripadvisor. Thank you very much for sharing it with us!

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services of the bar. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

We would very much have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to Tunis and we hope you choose to stay with us in the very near future.

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

- Stayed for one night and then changed to different hotel that offered better value
- Location is very good, but bear in mind of the Friday demonstrations that took place/take place in the centre of Tunis
- Hotel is not bad, used to be grand but now past its sell by date
- rooms are ok, breakfast was ok
- nice view from room
- better value to be had elsewhere in the centre of Tunis

Room Tip: upper floor room facing Avenue Habib Bourguiba guarantees a nice view of Tunis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan_O_1971_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Africa Tunis Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location, the room, the breakfast and the view of the hotel.

We are truly looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Tunis.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First of all: don't expect luxury and personal, warm service! Africa Hotel is a huge impersonal place for mainly business clients
But I certainly would come back due to many positive things:
The aircondition works very well. I have been there at a burning hot weekend in June 2014, but the room was a cool, relaxing haven. Soundproof is good, which is an important thing in a noisy city like Tunis. The room is comfortable and spacious with a good and unobtrusive design and a nice, small sitting area. The bathroom may be a bit oldfashioned but offers plenty of space. The bathroom amenities, however, are of a somewhat cheap quality. If you get a good, competititive rate (mostly on weekends, from about 68 Euros per room without breakfast), Hotel Africa is a very good choice right in the middle of everything, which makes it possible to take a break in your room inbetween your daytime activities. Clearly my number one for a city trip tu Tunis!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Africa Tunis Hotel. Thank you very much for this wonderful comment on Tripadvisor.
We are highly delighted that the location of the hotel and the room met your expectations.
Please be assured that your comments regarding the bathroom amenities will be shared with our team members.
Indeed, the satisfaction of every individual guest is very important to us and we are thrilled that we achieved this goal.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you on a future occasion.
Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the Africa on the last night of our Tunisian holiday. We have stayed here several times after stays in other Tunis hotels over the years.
It is centrally situated and close to shops, restaurants and other attractions. The main railway station is a few blocks away. The room we had this visit was on the 12th floor. It was clean and spacious with a view over the Avenue Habib Bourgiba. The bathroom was spotless with toiletries of good quality. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.
We took breakfast in the first floor restaurant. We were served our coffee and helped ourselves from the buffet of hot and cold dishes as well as breads, yoghourts etc. Omelettes etc were cooked to order.
Front of house staff were efficient and friendly. I have no doubt we will stay at the Africa again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizbang1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful comment on Tripadvisor, thank you very much for sharing it with us!

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Africa Tunis Hotel and we were glad to make your stay special.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our services. Your enthusiasm for our hotel and especially for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon and we will make everything possible to make it even more special the next time

Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

service is sooo slow you need a bed
coffee nearly undrinkable, which takes a biiig effort by tunisian standards. supposed be Lavazza, yeah riiiight, my a..e it is.
wifi no longer free
but it's really central
try at berge du lac the new hotel de paris - service excellent

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank abelljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us.
We are very concerned by your remarks regarding the service; our executive team is taking the necessary steps to prevent reoccurrence in the future.
Please rest assured that we are undertaking the needed measures to make sure such inconvenience do not occur again.
Thank you for your comments. Your opinion will certainly help us to improve our services and guest experience.
Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 55 in Tunis
463 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#17 of 55 in Tunis
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 55 in Tunis
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Address: 50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range: £54 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Africa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Africa Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing