We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service ever found in the city and in my life”

Hotel Plaza Corniche
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tunis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Plaza Corniche
Ranked #14 of 19 Tunis B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst service ever found in the city and in my life”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Im canadian and Starting from the door you'll find that stuff cant try a smile even in your dreams, they treat clients like homeless, foods are good i visited times ago but service deserve than half a star and is going from bad to worse and property not in the level of what they showing in pictures, ill recommend to avoid this place so many other places you can enjoy not far from it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manfromfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
2
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

BARS/RESTAURANTS: This seems to be the (or one of the) places to see and be seen in La Marsa. There are a few separate bars and restaurants, including a casual back terrace overlooking the sea, a fancier fish restaurant, and a front pub/bar area, which during our visit were all packed and lively. The common characteristic in all areas (including the hotel) is that the service terrible and slow, which it should not be for the price (20TND for a cocktail = 12USD = 9EUR, which is ridiculous for Tunisia). In terms of food we only ate appetizers which were just fine, but I'm given to understand that the food in general is not that great. Again, it's more about the scene.

HOTEL: The rooms are clean but dated, with old CRT TVs, furniture, and less-than-modern bathrooms, however comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarineFiveRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Went here last Sunday with my DH and daughter. Husband is presently working in Tunisia and really likes this place; from my experience on a Sunday lunchtime there was a smattering of locals. The decor is 'interesting' to say the least. I am led to believe that during the week you can bring in pizzas from the restaurant next door; on a sunday lunchtime we could get only snacks and these included olives, bread balls (like bread sticks but ball shaped); and a bowl of fennel.
On the plus, it does sell alcohol which can be hard to find sometimes, but didn't have the chance to go to the restaurant or try the adjoining pizza house.

Room Tip: Sorry, only visited the bar not the hotel but can throughly recommend the hotel where we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBSandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This place is busy in the night and the ambiance is nice. People are coming from outside, if you forget to book a table you will not have anything even if you are staying in the hotel.
The service is not efficient, we ordered diner at 8:30 pm and we got our food at 11:00 pm.
We started to complain to the waiter he became not nice at all.
In the morning the breakfast is one plateau with croissant, bred etc .. i asked for other type of breakfast they told me ... this is what we have and turn the back and go.
The service is totally different then what I experienced in Tunisia where the people are very nice, certainly because they are busy.
They announce 4 stars it is a 2 stars maximum.

Room Tip: ask to visit first....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amédée S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We ended up in this busy local bar / disco / restaurant / hotel attraction by luck. We dined in a restaurant and met the waiter who took us to this local attraction. It is in La Marsa area near the beach. Sadly the security didn't let him in cos he was wearing shorts. We got in easily being tourists. The waiters were all wearing strange uniforms as they looked like a custom security in white shirts with epaulettes. It was buzzing with local people dressed up smartly. We were wearing trainers but since were tourists it wasn't an issue. We had 2gin and tonics each which were very strong. About £6.50 each glass. It has a fantastic atmosphere with the bars disco and restaurant within. Truly a great find. Taxis were a bit dodgey tho as they tend to multiply the meter for tourists. Starting cost should be 45 pence but they can alter it to anything they want s get out quickly if you see the basic meter charge more than .45 as it multiplies according to the basic rate. Very easy to find a taxi everywhere no matter what time if the day or night so not really a problem.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marcelodelpilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunis
2.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Carthage Tunis
0.3 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 6 in La Marsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Villa Bleue
La Villa Bleue
#1 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dar Said
Hotel Dar Said
#2 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
3.9 mi away
El Mouradi Gammarth
El Mouradi Gammarth
#3 of 12 in Gammarth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Corniche

Property: Hotel Plaza Corniche
Address: 22 rue du Maroc La Marsa Corniche, Tunis, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Tunis
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing