We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice restaurant/cafe by the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Biwa

Biwa
Ranked #18 of 195 Restaurants in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant/cafe by the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The views from this restaurant are just spot on. The menu is good in choices. Nice and polite service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    35
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went to Biwa with the family, and I enjoyed the food, the service and the location in particular. The location is great. It is right on the lake with many other nice cafes and restaurants on the same stretch. We were there on a summer day, and it rained at the end of the day. It felt nice and fresh to be by the lake. We ordered mainly pizzas and soft drinks. The pizza was good, with thin crispy crust, with a large selections of toppings. It comes on wooden tablets and it is good for 2 with a nice salad if you are not too hungry. The menu is really extensive and there is a lot to choose from. The service was excellent. Our waiter was attentive with nice smile the whole evening without being overbearing! The food came really quickly, which was good since the kids were hungry and needed something to eat. Some of us had crêpes. The chocolate and almond crepe was delicious. The bill was not high. We paid around 50 Euro for 10 people! on average of 5 Euros per person. You cannot beat that anywhere in Europe! Our waiter was happy with a 5 dinar tip. The music starts after 9 in the evening. So, if not in the mood for western music, live band, just go early and leave before the music starts. The music didn't bother us though. The best time to go is sunset, and many local Tunisians go there to socialize and chill out.
We will be back to Biwa.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
484 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very noisy music, nice view, bad lake smell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We went with friends to enjoy a late night reunion. There was live music but it was too loud that we could not talk unless if we yelled.
A little bit expensive for what it is serving. Service was prompt and quick. Clean.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice if you have children with you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went to the Biwa with my daughter and her two young boys, (7 and 9) and their three year old cousin. Despite the fact that the food is nothing special, Biwa is always very busy with lunchtime trade from office workers in the Berges du Lac area. The restaurant lies on the edge of the Lac de Tunis and in addition to the pleasant view there is a large lawn where children can run about. This is a big plus when lunching with fidgety kids. I'd probably go again, particularly if I was with the my grandchildren.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skankoudamdoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Biwa also viewed

Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to Biwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing