We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronte Hotel(Harare)
US$179
US$168
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Inn(Harare)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
23
52
23
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
52
23
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterself caterother guestsenjoyed our staylocation is greatclean roomsdormitorywififacilitieslodgecaravanaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent repeteadly 2 months in this lodge. We found it clean and well-located; in walking distance from Avondale, quite nice and relatively safe shopping centre. On the other hand, the way to city centre is longer (you can take a commuter), but there is literally nothing to see - maybe instead of Megawat Palace from street).

Shower and bathrooms are on average; the showers that belong to "inner rooms" are cleaner. Service is good and staff is quite willing. If there is a problem, you can insist on contanting boss, Mr. George (the owner and quite a nice fellow, by the way). As the receptionist seemed to be quite tired fom my 2 questions, just mentioning of Georg's name made her immediately start to be nice again.

The common kitchen is not very nice, however, it is acceptable. I recomend to take your own dish for the "public dish" is not very trustworthy. But if you are not picky, you can slightly bear it. Water is not drinkable (no matter what told a receptionist), but suitable for cooking (boiling).

The small pond near summerhause is more like a nice decoration, on the other hand it makes perfect place for insect in the evening, so don't forget long sleeves and trousers. Swimming suit is not a good choice for evening...

You can book a car as well, the price is on average (20-25 USD from lodge to airport).

In summary, I would recommend this lodge as a well-situated, friendly-priced and solid accomodation for short as well as long trips. In Harare there are many lodges, so it is good to know were to go.

Room Tip: There are "inner rooms" and "outer rooms". "Inner-one" are much better and cleaner. Don't forget to enjoy very cool "outdoor shower", which is covered by palm trees from above and white cloth from the lodge entrance.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vojtěch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

As a single female traveller, the atmospere of a backpackers is important to me. I found smallworld backpackers had good ambience, friendly informative staff, who could advise travellers on travels to neighboring countries, and around Zimb. The dorm room/beds were clean, and the shopping centre is only 10 mins (or less) walk away where you will find anything you need. Bit far from the city centre but it was easy to catch a Combe from the nearby shopping centre. Also has the most friendly/easy-going resident cat. Overall a very independent-backpacker friendly ambiance.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Seemingly the cheapest place in Harare, and decent set up - reliable hot water, communal kitchen, laundry, very helpful staff etc. The location is pretty good - walkable to a nearby Mall and a short $0.50 shared taxi to the centre of Harare. I think the dorms are a little pricey at $14, but we camped which was quite reasonable ($7). All in all would definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

That's propobly the cheapest place in Harare. A bit far from city center but it is easy to gain by city minibuses.
Different kinds of rooms-from dorm to self contained doubles. All of them are nice, cosy and comfortable. Prices start from around 15 USD for dorm up to 45 USD for self contained double room. Nice garden area and well equiped kitchen. Small bar and restaurant serve basic drinks and dishes.
Staff could be nicer and better organized.
Hot water is not always available even in the self contained rooms.

After being robed in Harare (stay very carefull ) -no photos to send.

Room Tip: rooms are very different so have a look at all of them to pick what you like.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank very-sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived at Small World after dark, after 36hrs traveling. It was a wonderful respite to shower, rest, have a bite to eat and get ready for the remainder of our trip. We were offered cold drinks on arrival & shown to our rooms. After a good night's rest & shower, we were refreshed & ready to go in the morning. Even though the power was out, they offered us breakfast. The carried the tables & chairs outside to enjoy the morning sunlight & warmth. As soon as the electricity came on, we were served a warm, traditional breakfast. Soon we were on our way to begin our mission trip. A nice place for a nice price, we definitely will return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews