We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale
Reviewed 23 March 2014

ROOM: I had a private room with a double-bed, shared bath. The room was comfortable and furnished nicely. Just outside my window, however, was an open-air toilet and shower. Not ideal.

SHARED BATH: The nearby shared bath had a single shower, basin and toilet. The window was stuck ajar, so if you were in the shower (behind the sheer shower curtain) you don't feel very private.

RESTAURANT/BAR: Food was decent, bar and cafe area is nice and peaceful.

POOL: Pool area was small and compact, but okay. They need to invest in new patio furniture for sure.

KITCHEN: Shared kitchen area was absolutely FILTHY and doesn't appear to be tended to by the staff at all. I know guests are supposed to clean up after themselves, but this obviously wasn't happening. Staff needed to make sure this space was clean, but clearly neglected it. This room needs a complete renovation.

SERVICES/LOCATION: Internet (which you have to pay for -- $5 for 4 1/2 hours of access) was pretty reliable. Airport pick-up was $25. I didn't book any tours so cannot speak to that part. Location is a short walk to the Avondale Flea Market and shops where you can find groceries, pharmacy, cafe/bakery, restaurants (pizza, burgers, sandwiches), Eco Net phone store, and a few other merchants.

STAY HERE AGAIN?: Yes

Room Tip: The private rooms that I saw all seemed very nice. The dorms are adjacent to the cafe, so are probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJH518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Pleasant gardens surround a nice pool for cooling down in the mid day heat. Small World backpackers is situated in a nice quiet and secure suburban area of Harare. Secure parking is provided and reasonable WiFi is available for $5 for 4.5 hrs. The staff are friendly too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TechnomadicJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was a peaceful place with kind and helpful staff (who offer homemade meals if pre-arranged!). The staff also invited us out to a musical event, which was really nice, though we couldn't make it.

The room was basic but clean and decent enough, though the communal showers weren't as clean and had windows facing a courtyard with no curtains or frosting on the glass... It's several blocks from the main downtown, on a peaceful, shady, suburban-like neighborhood, though note that you shouldn't walk anywhere after dark.

Airport transfers were a pricey $25 each way, but we tried to negotiate a lower price directly with a few drivers and couldn't get them to lower the price at all either.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent a few in nights here, we had a family room and stayed with our two kids. The kids enjoyed the garden, we all enjoyed the environment! Staff were great and very accommodating and helpful with requests. Great location for being close, (as you can get in a big city like harare) to shops. We used the lodges car/taxi to go on a trip, the rates were reasonable and to get to and from the airport! In summary an enjoyable trip! Would totally recommend and visit again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed there for the duration of my stay 10 days and enjoyed every minute of it. Staff very friendly, location u can't ask for more. I recommend anyone thinking of visiting Harare to go and enjoy the whole package. U not gonna be disappointed. I'm going back again in April to stay at small world.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This review is for the Small World's Fife Avenue/Ninth Street lodge, not their Avondale location.

Due to the fact that we were visiting our daughter who lived nearby, we only really had two options, The Bronte at $160 per night or the Small World at less than $50. As we were staying for a total of 9 nights, this made a significant difference. You can't compare the two for facilities but we only wanted to sleep there, not live there all day. If we were booking again we would still go back to Small World. We had the en-suite room, which was a good size, clean and pretty much bug free except for the occasional ant. The shower was quite spacious but the hot water was closer to mildly warm. At a saving of around $115 per night, we could live with that. We brought our own towels as they are not provided. If you are a light sleeper and have the en-suite room, bring an eye shade as some light spills in the room from an adjoining part of the building.

The grounds are small but nicely laid out. The swimming pool at the back is tiny and was out of action when we were there. The lounge is comfortable and there are cooking facilities, although we never tried them. The reception keeps a stock of cold drinks including beers ($2).

We went traveling for some days, on two occasions, and needed to leave luggage behind. The staff were happy to look after it for us and couldn't have been more helpful. Overall a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamPayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Small World is one of the cheapest places to stay in Harare, with shared dorms and private rooms. There's a nice communal area (including bar). The only drawn back is the kitchen/equipment is a bit limited (although you can make do, and there is also the possibility to order food). It's well located - just down the road from Avondale, where there are supermarkets, internet cafes, restaurants, a decent DVD/clothing/souvenir market and combis to the city centre. The best thing about Small World is the resident cat - oh, and the lovely staff!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tariro01, Guest Relations Manager at It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
2.2 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 14 in Harare
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#7 of 14 in Harare
14 reviews
4.7 mi away
Simba Harare
Simba Harare
#42 of 58 in Harare
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Daisy's Guest House
Daisy's Guest House
#30 of 58 in Harare
13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#4 of 14 in Harare
495 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about It's a Small World Backpackers Lodge Avondale

Address: 25 Ridge Rd | Avondale, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Harare
Price Range: £11 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small World Lodge is a backpackers lodge offering private rooms, dormitories and camping. We have a swimming pool, bar, and travel advice service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Small World Backpackers Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing