We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu, food, ambience”
Review of Shop Cafe

Shop Cafe
Ranked #34 of 162 Restaurants in Harare
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
DXB
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great menu, food, ambience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This man and his merry band can make lettuce taste delicious. Enough said!

Thanks to this Trip Advisor listing, I went looking for this place and was quite blown away by the explosion of subtle flavours that chef Kerrry Wallace and his merry band stirs up every day. To the extent that I've already been there thrice in four days - including the quirky 'Christmas in July' special today where they laid out a full christmas lunch - including gifts at your table :)

There isn't much more to add to the long list of glowing reviews for the place - except that every good word written about this incredible little place is true. Do take time to find the place if you're a visitor - it isn't a high-street location that is easy to find if you aren't local. That said, the location adds its own rustic and slightly artsy charm to the place - it fits in perfectly amongst all the gift shops in a surprisingly quite portion of the Msasa Industrial area. And the band of monkeys that keep you entertained with their antics.

Loved the food, the friendly staff, et al. I don't normally eat bread, but the stuff they put on your table as you arrive is irresistible.

Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

A great lunch spot. We arrived a little late and the waiters kindly put the salad buffet back out for us. My partner had the crumbed chicken and we both helped ourselves to the amazing salads. The home made bread here is extremely, as is their lemonade. I loved the Thai papaya salad and the warm rice, sultana and crispy onion salad, the roast aubergine and mozzarella stacks were also absolutely delicious. The quality of food here has to be tasted to be believed. Salads change regularly using seasonal veggies and the cakes and desserts are also mouth- watering. We had a few vervet monkey "guests" who were very interested in sharing our lunch too but the staff shooed them away.
This is most definitely a place to keep coming back to, I've never had a bad meal here and have been many times.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buzzyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredibly delicious vegetarian buffet”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were so glad we tried the Shop Cafe for lunch. They had a vegetarian buffet with a huge assortment of dishes, each one utterly delicious. Their homemade lemonade and bread, which were both complimentary, were also outstandingly yummy. Sitting outside and watching the vervet monkeys playing around made for great entertainment during the meal. We went with the larger plate option, which is probably a good idea. It's located in the Doon Estates shopping area, so afterwards we shopped at some of the local stores, including the Dendera Gallery. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King William's Town, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Take-Away”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The company we were visiting organised a take-away lunch delivered to us from the Shop Cafe. Absolutely delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sammi_H2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming venue, exquisite food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My friend described the food as "fireworks" in her mouth! A simple yet elegant setting, unique vegetable buffet and everything was fresh. The chefs/owners of the place have a great sense of humour and make you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. I have been there several times and have never been disappointed. First place I recommend to anyone for a healthy lunch!

Helpful?
Thank natigr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shop Cafe also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing