We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stopover”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stopped over here for a drink and found the hotel much as I left it last time I was here. It does look a bit run down, there were things like the stair edges missing where they could have been replaced. I trust it will be given a lick of paint soon and some basic maintenance as I remember it being a fine hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krobbyzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Jameson Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stopover at Cresta Jameson. We would like to thank you for choosing us and hope that we will see you again.

We are aware of the need for refurbishment in the hotel, and are currently working to make improvements in this area. We do appreciate your comments and with your helpful feedback, we can work on problem areas and affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Mr. Tinashe Kuvheya
GM, Cresta Jameson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    33
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
14
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I had to find a place that arranged late night airport transfer. I also needed a base near the passport offices. the Jameson met both conditions. as for the transfer, they sent a fine taxi guy called Brian and made me feel welcome. check in and reception was good. the room was a bit old and dirty. Not dirty as in not been swept but as in needs refurbishing. The TV was not so much of an issue on the first night but I couldn't work it. its a fair hotel but I think it busks too much in the fame of its past.
they serve semi self service breakfast. all in all it is a secure helpful and simple hotel favoured by a lot of politicians from out of Harare.

Room Tip: I am not sure which rooms but I am told there is a wing with good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkamchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Jameson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Jameson. We would like to thank you for choosing us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased to hear that on the whole your stay was satisfactory, but regret that you did not get the TV working. We are aware of the need for refurbishment in the rooms, and hope to make improvements in this area. We do appreciate your comments and with your helpful feedback, we can work on problem areas and affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Tinashe Kuvheya
GM, Cresta Jameson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Whats right with the hotel?
Good working wifi connection throughout the premise, and a free voucher with a bw limit per day

What's wrong?
Lousy restaurant
Bored staff
Single working lift
Complete run down look to the whole place
Dirty rooms
No safe in room
Water problems, no flowing water
Boring choices in restaurant
Staff couldn't keep up with replenishing food and keeping tables ready for the bf crowd

I could go on and on
Not ever coming back here

Room Tip: Rooms facing road are noisy, stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MHJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Jameson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Jameson.

Despite the fact that you enjoyed reliable Wifi, we regret that you had such an unsatisfactory stay at the Jameson. We will certainly look into all the areas you highlighted in your post. We do appreciate your comments and with your helpful feedback, we can work on problem areas and affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Jameson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harare hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Air conditioning does not work. Changed rooms three times....still no a/c. I guess I should
feel lucky that the electricity works most of the time.

This hotel is filthy. Carpets stained everywhere. Marks on the walls. Lampshades
stained. Mattresses worn out. Cracked windows.

Contrary to some website info....there is no "free internet."

There is only one working elevator...and it is a very long time in coming if you call it.

The place is a run down mess.

The staff are very friendly and try to accommodate, but they have little to work with.

The hotel is located several blocks from the city center....no street lights, lots of crime.

This used to be one of the finest hotels in Africa. Now I would not take a paid date
there.

For nearly the same price you can stay at the Monomatapa Crowne Plaza.....another poor hotel still not up to any reasonable standards, but it's probably the best in this class in Harare. Or even the next best on the list...the awful Holiday Inn is still a big improvement on the Jameson.

Room Tip: any room not in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Nice hotel,stayed with my bridesmaids before my wedding and after.Friendly staff ,clean rooms and lively food.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.7 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
288 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#5 of 13 in Harare
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#4 of 13 in Harare
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#8 of 13 in Harare
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cresta Oasis Hotel
Cresta Oasis Hotel
#10 of 13 in Harare
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Jameson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Jameson Hotel

Property: Cresta Jameson Hotel
Address: Cnr Samora Machel Avenue & Park Street, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Jameson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cresta Jameson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing