We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Brief Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bowood Lodge

Bowood Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowood Lodge
Ranked #13 of 50 Harare B&B and Inns
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Brief Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great hospitality and a great time had by myself, my family and by the other guests staying at the time. You won't go hungry when it comes to breakfast either. If I'm ever passing through Harare, I'll be in touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

A great place to stay in Harare. The house was spacious and had a large garden with a tennis court, swimming pool and we were entertained by the guinea fowl running around. The food was also fantastic. Christine (the owner) was very helpful and really makes the effort to ensure that her guests love the stay at the lodge and also get the best experience of Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ae1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

One of the best places I've ever stayed in my travels - friendly, comfortable, and very welcoming. Christine and Kirsten really went out of their way to make me feel at home. Strongly recommended for anyone else staying in Harare.
Adam

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed at Bowood Lodge in January 2013, from the moment I arrived Christine was so warm, welcoming and ever so helpful. She also helped with a taxi pickup from the airport which she arranged earlier. Upon my arrival i was greeted with a warm smile and very loving dogs. My room was clean, peaceful with on suite. Breakfast was prepared at the time I requested - with a great view of the garden and pool. The staff are ever so helpful and are friendly to chat with. Christine goes way beyond to make sure my stay was comfortable and always happy to answer questions. You do feel as if you are in your own home. Bowood lodge is a walking distance to supermarket - yes it is safe to walk around. From the other places i stayed at in Harare this is the one i will come back to..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

This B & B has it all...and then some more. The personal care and attention to detail which Christine (and Kirsten) deliver are well beyond the call of duty. Enforced changes to my travel plans, which impacted on my booking were met with a smile and a shrug, while Christine's concern over my less than ideal mode of transport to Harare from Malawi via Mozambique was touching.

The accommodation was spotless, the breakfasts tasty and filling, while the situation of the lodge is ideal. Go there! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lomondbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Having travelled through Harare on so many occassions I have tried many places for accomodation, from Back Packers to Hotels, and finally can say I have found a place I will happily return to. Stayed at Ridglee Roost, run by the owners of Bowood Lodge. Its across in Avondale and has easy access to most parts of Harare. The staff were very good, especially Theresa. Breakfast very good, my room always spotless. Well priced for the business travellers who just wants a clean and quiet place to sleep. The rooms as either single or double, either with en suite or their own bathroom. Close to a variety of shops and restaurants. A quiet spot in Harare that I will return to.

Room Tip: Two rooms have en suite, the third has the bathroom next door. Essentially all have their own bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Bowood Lodge. Christine was an excellent host and Tendai makes a great breakfast. The kids also had a great time running around the yard, chasing the guinnea fowl and playing with the puppies. The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
5.5 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.6 mi away
Malcolm Lodge
Malcolm Lodge
#10 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Simba Harare
Simba Harare
#37 of 50 in Harare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandalwood Lodge
Sandalwood Lodge
#8 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kingsmead Guesthouse
Kingsmead Guesthouse
#2 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Lodge

Property: Bowood Lodge
Address: 8 Bowood Road | Mount Pleasant, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in two acres in peaceful Mount Pleasant, North Harare, Bowood Lodge offers tranquil and superior Bed & Breakfast accommodation to business and tourist visitors. It is the perfect base for relaxation after a day of work or from which to plan your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Bowood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing