We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, an excellent homely atmosphere. Professionally run.”
Review of Bowood Lodge

Bowood Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowood Lodge
Ranked #12 of 51 Harare B&B and Inns
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, an excellent homely atmosphere. Professionally run.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed at Bowood lodge several times. Bowood lodge is a spacious, homely, bed and breakfast in a large tropical garden setting with a swimming pool.

Christine and her team made us feel at ease and go that extra mile for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you knew Harare back in the day, you'll feel at home here. A lovely place to stay and really handy for the University. Mount Pleasant always was a good area and hasn't deteriorated - no problems walking around. Don't bother with a hotel, this is much better and Christine is so welcoming.

Room Tip: I had a room with doors onto the garden, very nice - don't know if all have this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazabuka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at Bowood Lodge on numerous occasions on both business and pleasure. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very attentive and nothing is a problem to help you find your way around the city or where to go if you are stuck.
Also understand that they have recently upgraded the facility so it will be even more comfortable.
Always look forward to my trips to Harare to reconnect to the all at Bowood lodge.
Well done guys !!

Rick d.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at Bowood Lodge twice on our trips to Harare and loved it each time. It has beautifully kept gardens, a pool, tennis court and an excellent breakfast. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean and Christine and the staff were very helpful to all our needs. I can't recommend this peaceful haven enough.

Room Tip: Blue room or orange room but all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGodsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for two weeks earlier this month. We have been going to Harare once a year for a while now and Bowood is one of the best places we have stayed at. It has good facilities, a nice breakfast, excellent location, and Chris was very helpful. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Bowood Lodge for two weeks on business. The lodge owner, Christine, and her family/staff were very warm and welcoming. Their breakfasts were delicious and laundry services were always fast, convenient, and professional. The lodge had a pleasant atmosphere. The other guests and I felt like part of the family. I would recommend this lodge for business or pleasure as it is conveniently located but far enough to provide a quiet hassle-free stay. I want to thank Christine and company again for a most pleasant and enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBR713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at Bowood Lodge for 5 nights - the owner - Christine - could not do enough to help. The (cheaper) room I had booked had a renewal & so I was upgraded to one of the more expensive rooms gratis. Christine & her family were friendly & helpful without being intrusive. Room was clean & bathroom with shower just what I needed. The daily power cuts were dealt with by Christine starting up the generator. Christine provides wifi - personally, because of large downloads, I walked to a cafe 5 minutes away where I could purchase much faster download speeds (Chill Spot). Thoroughly recommend & excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
5.5 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
381 reviews
4.0 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
288 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 51 in Harare
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Simba Harare
Simba Harare
#38 of 51 in Harare
42 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kingsmead Guesthouse
Kingsmead Guesthouse
#2 of 51 in Harare
143 reviews
5.4 mi away
Daisy's Guest House
Daisy's Guest House
#23 of 51 in Harare
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Lodge

Property: Bowood Lodge
Address: 8 Bowood Road | Mount Pleasant, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in two acres in peaceful Mount Pleasant, North Harare, Bowood Lodge offers tranquil and superior Bed & Breakfast accommodation to business and tourist visitors. It is the perfect base for relaxation after a day of work or from which to plan your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Bowood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing