We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere”
Review of Paula's Place

Paula's Place
Ranked #4 of 163 Restaurants in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A place home from home with good portuguese food, and chicken cooked on the charcoal. ( just like it should be.......)
Mutare, Zimbabwe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Paula's chicken and gravy is superb. Ivhad the combo chicken/calamari. Friendly and warm teception from management and staff.

Helpful?
Thank jeannegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Many thanks for a great review! It really goes a long way to encourage our team-really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    102
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have been going to Paula`s for a while now and it has become our favorite place to have a meal
Their food is excellent and service is top notch
My favorite is the gibblet starter and chicken main course not to mention the lovely garlic
My wife and daughter have tried most of their dishes and cannot find fault with any of them
I recommend Paula`s to anyone who wants a great meal with great service at a very reasonable price

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Craig,
Thank you for a great rating and valued review! You have also become a very loyal and dear patron at Paula's. Our team are always pleased to serve you and your family. Your pleasure is our soul satisfaction-you rock!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant went through a bit of a bad patch last year and we have since returned, admittedly with some reservations. But I can confirm the food is back on track and the service levels much better. Still not convinced the warehouse type structure is welcoming, but hey I guess it's cool in summer but might be somewhat chilly in winter unless you are directly under the gas heaters.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you so much for your valued review. I am happy you did return and found an improvement. It is our goal is always improve, even though we are in the restaurant business for over 20yrs there is always, always room for improvement!
In reference to our warehouse type structure, it has been modified and I believe it is more homely now....... Hope to you see you again and again. thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare-Zimbabwe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have eaten here many times both with family and business colleagues. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. The waiters are courteous and provide excellent service. Great warm and welcoming restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVMHarare_Zimbabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you very much for your great review-it really is appreciated and we take this opportunity to thank you for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great chicken with great service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Wednesday night dinner at Paula's was a great idea. The waiters were helpful with the menu, attentive when required a served up a real treat. Half chicken for me with a quarter chicken and calamari combo for the dinner guest washed down with ice cream for desert - set us back just over $40 with drinks. The waiters were good enough to bring a booster cushion for the little one and wipe the spilt drink with minimal fuss.
The decor may turn some off (the lights at the front had my older companions comparing it to a night club) while the plastic flowers and interesting centrepieces are not for the faint hearted - but don't let that put you off what will undoubtably be a solid, good meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MufambiSerenity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this review, 23 October 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We were delighted you enjoyed our food and service and our aim is to only get better. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paula's Place also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to Paula's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing