We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 50 Harare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Rian & Willem are extremely accommodating hosts. Jacana is truly a home away from home. My room & bathroom were spacious with a lovely view of the garden. Breakfast is something to look forward to! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 21 December 2015
Dear Annie, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    40
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
74
34
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

two times I've stayed at Jacana guesthouseand I am very content with the rooms, which are beautifully decorated, clean and spacious.
The location and service is great and Wim and Rian's hospitality is a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marije B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2015
Dear Marije, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

What a gem this place is! Quiet comfort, spacious and beautiful gardens, interesting and eclectic art, delicious breakfast, a management team that is willing and able to assist in any way they can. We had a delightful stay, and would highly recommend Jacana Gardens.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OntarioWatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2015
Dear Ontariowatergirl, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A wonderful warm welcome to Zimbabwe, Rian the hostess is friendly helpful and attentive, the rooms are inviting and the pillows heavenly. I would most definitely recommend Jacana Gardens to anyone travelling to Zim

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nadja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2015
Dear Nadja, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chimoio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is, quite simply, a gem. The main house won an architecture award back in 2004 and it is indeed lovely, with large open lounges, verandas and sizeable bedrooms. The current owners have filled the house with an eclectic but always tasteful mix of African art, antiques and modern pieces. Each bedroom is different in colour scheme, spacious and well-equipped. The main house sits in fabulous gardens that are dotted with sculptures. We didn't eat dinner, but breakfast was excellent, especially the selection of rustic breads. Add to all of this attentive and welcoming owners who have the experience to really know what travellers need, and a very fair price, and you have a place that is just about perfect at this level.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MozEcoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks a lot for your great response, we are very happy to hear you liked your stay with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I Love Jacana Gardens! The rooms (I believe they have 6...?) were spacious, impeccable and lovely designed with a touch of Africa of course.The beds and bathroom very comfortable. Breakfast delicious and impressive. The staff very friendly and helpful with information about where to go and what to do. From your room you can walk directly into the luscious garden with local art and lovely pool. There als is a nice and elegant lounge with comfy sofa's, interesting books and fireplace if you want to answer your email or just sit and relax with a glass of wine. A real home away from home feeling. I highly recommend this lodge and look forward going back and staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daligala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2015
Dear Daligala, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Wonderful little heaven in Harare. This was the start of long holidays in Zimbabwe, we stayed twice at the start and the end of our trip. The entire house and the bedrooms are decorated with very good taste. Electricity cuts are not a problem, they have a generator.
WIFI works all the time. Nice little pool in the middle of the garden, however it was too cold to swim in June. It's bed and breakfast but you can order a dinner for the evening. It's only 35 mn drive from the International Airport. They can arrange transfer if you book in advance.
The Dutch hosts are very friendly and professional, they make you feel warm and welcome.
Go there if you want to have a comfortable stay in Harare!!!

Room Tip: Room n°3 has a fantastic bathroom. In any case all rooms are nice and cosy. They all have a fridge w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isa-Urban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2015
Dear Isa and Urban, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
6.6 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
7.4 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kingsmead Guesthouse
Kingsmead Guesthouse
#2 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#5 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge

Property: Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
Address: 14 Jacana Drive | Borrowdale, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy genuine and uncomplicated hospitality at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, situated on a quiet and secure one acre property within the Golden Triangle of Harare’s Northern suburbs, a 10 minute drive from the centre of Harare. Come stay in one of our six newly decorated spacious bedrooms or self-contained Garden Cottage, each with it's own individual design, all en-suite and with patio doors that open onto verandas, overlooking a lush garden and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing