We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 50 Harare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Strausberg, Germany
2 reviews
“We will come back”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A wonderful place in a big city, very friendly owners, very friendly staff, I don't know what I should say, we loved it. They tried to answer every question. A lot of green and a lot of very beautiful aces in the garden and the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elke312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Elke,

thanks so much for your review, much appreciated.
We are looking forward to welcome you again here at Jacana Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    40
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
74
34
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Really nice!
Rian and Willem have something very special not too far from Harare centre if required.
First time back in Zimbabwe for several decades and could not have made a better choice. Everybody at the guest house was very helpful and friendly as well as an interesting mix of guests.

Dave Williams

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveRW669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Dave,

thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy we have been able to contribute in a positive way to your return to Zimbabwe after so many years and lets hope it is the first one of many more visits to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at Jacana for 3 nights business stay early January 2014. Was warmly welcomed by the husband and wife team of Willem and Rian. Jacana is an oasis after hectic work days in Harare. It is close to a shopping centre with restaurants that have outdoor eating areas.

The garden is stunning in summer and great to sit back with an ice cold beverage – from the honesty bar. Rooms are comfortable with a huge shower. As a coffee drinker – the best was a personal Bodum in the room with ground coffee. Heaven.

As a South African traveller, paying in ZAR online or cash is a huge advantage.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeets2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jeets,

thank you so much for your review. Happy to read you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to meet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

In January 2014, I made my fourth trip to Zimbabwe. The first one was in 2001, and we stayed with a Missionary friend. The other trips were in June and October, 2013. Both times, we stayed at a well-known American-owned hotel chain in downtown Harare. There is simply no comparison between the hotel and this wonderful lodge. The owners were extremely kind and helpful, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were excellent. The ambiance was indescribable, and the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. I cannot say enough good about Jacana Gardens. I fully intend to stay there again, and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PastorRiggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Pastor Riggen,

thanks a lot for your great review, it was a pleasure having you all around and hope to see you again later this year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in the self catering garden cottage for eight nights during Christmas. I found Jacana Gardens here at Tripadvisor, and I am glad I chose it! Jacana Gardens will certainly always be our home when we get back to Harare to visit my husband's family. The Garden Cottage has everything you need. We enjoyed having dinner outside at the wooden table/benches. It gives you a very private feeling - as if you are alone in the garden. The decoration in the garden and around and in the houses is stunning, the owners really made it an African jewel. The complex is built according to the Feng Shui rules, and you feel it! You have a feeling of tranquility and harmony. The lovely owners made us feeling at home and even allowed us to invite my in-laws for Christmas day - a rather big family...

The streets around Jacana Gardens are perfect for a stroll or for jogging, and there is a little Spar not far away, not to forget the marvellous sculpture park at the corner of Borrowdale Road where you can buy metal handicraft of all sizes, even an original sized zebra!

Thank you so much for having us there, we very much enjoyed it and we will certainly be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laulalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Laulallei,

thanks for your wonderful words. it was great having you here over Christmas. We kept your beautiful blue star Christmas decoration from Jordan for next Christmas. Hope you will be able to join us again during that time of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Jacana Gardens is a tranquil haven nestled under indigenous trees, surrounded by beautiful lawns and gardens, a birder’s paradise! All the rooms are decorated with original Zimbabwean art and antiques, a treat for the eye and the soul. Rian and Willem have been excellent hosts, and have fully understood our situation as new expatriates to Zimbabwe. The self catering cottage was a perfect ¨first home¨ for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JandB318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear both,

it was our pleasure to support you with 'landing softly' in this beautiful country which will be your home for the coming years. By the way, we can add one more bird species to the 21 different ones you spotted in our garden, since we now have a small owl as a new guest at Jacana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Especially if you visit Harare on a short vacation I think Jacana Gardens is a perfect place to stay. I stayed there in the end of October for 4 nights. The house itself is very beutiful, nice decorations and very charming couple, Rian and Willem, made me feel like visiting a home of my friends. And of course the dogs very nice, too. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jute,

thank you so much for your kind review. Especially since our lodge was one of the first places you stayed in at the very beginning of your amazing trip through Southern Africa, we truly appreciate your effort to write your review. Hopefully Zimbabwe stays on your list of favourite African countries to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
6.6 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
7.4 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kingsmead Guesthouse
Kingsmead Guesthouse
#2 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.8 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#5 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge

Property: Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
Address: 14 Jacana Drive | Borrowdale, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy genuine and uncomplicated hospitality at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, situated on a quiet and secure one acre property within the Golden Triangle of Harare’s Northern suburbs, a 10 minute drive from the centre of Harare. Come stay in one of our six newly decorated spacious bedrooms or self-contained Garden Cottage, each with it's own individual design, all en-suite and with patio doors that open onto verandas, overlooking a lush garden and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing