We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best guesthouse experiences in the region” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 49 Harare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best guesthouse experiences in the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely, attentive, and accommodating owners and staff; beautiful and quiet grounds; set outside city but not too far; really lovely rooms; wonderful breakfasts; ability to take safe & comfortable walks and jogs around the area; good internet connection (even if at an extra cost of 5USD a day-- worth it). I can't think of a single complaint. It was just a fantastic stay, and I will definitely come again. Might be nice to be able to pay by credit card, but it's a small inconvenience for a set of close to perfection for a guesthouse in a Southern African city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much Stone S. for your wonderful review. I am sure your informative feedback will be helpful for other potential guests to get a better picture of who we are and what we have to offer. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    40
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
73
33
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, derby
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Wow, a huge thank you to our hosts, Rian and Willem for their warm and wonderful hospitality. We had a great time at Jacana Gardens - an oasis in Harare. Great Restaurants nearby. On their web site it says three reason to stay : Conveniently situation - small scale exclusivity - award winning design - all so true, but much more - great breakfast - beautiful gardens to relax in - warm and friendly staff. We shall be back - thank you both so very much.
My husband spent many of his 'youthful' years in Zimbabwe - and has written a book, called The Winds that Blow before the Rains, set in the Eastern Highlands of Zimbabwe. It was my first ever visit and we had an amazing time visiting this beautiful and friendly country.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Angie, thanks again for your great review. I am happy we could contribute to introduce you to this beautiful country, the place where your husband spent his youth and found the inspiration for his wonderful book (I read it !). Looking forward to see you both again at our lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strausberg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

A wonderful place in a big city, very friendly owners, very friendly staff, I don't know what I should say, we loved it. They tried to answer every question. A lot of green and a lot of very beautiful aces in the garden and the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elke312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Elke,

thanks so much for your review, much appreciated.
We are looking forward to welcome you again here at Jacana Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Really nice!
Rian and Willem have something very special not too far from Harare centre if required.
First time back in Zimbabwe for several decades and could not have made a better choice. Everybody at the guest house was very helpful and friendly as well as an interesting mix of guests.

Dave Williams

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveRW669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Dave,

thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy we have been able to contribute in a positive way to your return to Zimbabwe after so many years and lets hope it is the first one of many more visits to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at Jacana for 3 nights business stay early January 2014. Was warmly welcomed by the husband and wife team of Willem and Rian. Jacana is an oasis after hectic work days in Harare. It is close to a shopping centre with restaurants that have outdoor eating areas.

The garden is stunning in summer and great to sit back with an ice cold beverage – from the honesty bar. Rooms are comfortable with a huge shower. As a coffee drinker – the best was a personal Bodum in the room with ground coffee. Heaven.

As a South African traveller, paying in ZAR online or cash is a huge advantage.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeets2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jeets,

thank you so much for your review. Happy to read you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to meet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

In January 2014, I made my fourth trip to Zimbabwe. The first one was in 2001, and we stayed with a Missionary friend. The other trips were in June and October, 2013. Both times, we stayed at a well-known American-owned hotel chain in downtown Harare. There is simply no comparison between the hotel and this wonderful lodge. The owners were extremely kind and helpful, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were excellent. The ambiance was indescribable, and the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. I cannot say enough good about Jacana Gardens. I fully intend to stay there again, and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PastorRiggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Pastor Riggen,

thanks a lot for your great review, it was a pleasure having you all around and hope to see you again later this year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in the self catering garden cottage for eight nights during Christmas. I found Jacana Gardens here at Tripadvisor, and I am glad I chose it! Jacana Gardens will certainly always be our home when we get back to Harare to visit my husband's family. The Garden Cottage has everything you need. We enjoyed having dinner outside at the wooden table/benches. It gives you a very private feeling - as if you are alone in the garden. The decoration in the garden and around and in the houses is stunning, the owners really made it an African jewel. The complex is built according to the Feng Shui rules, and you feel it! You have a feeling of tranquility and harmony. The lovely owners made us feeling at home and even allowed us to invite my in-laws for Christmas day - a rather big family...

The streets around Jacana Gardens are perfect for a stroll or for jogging, and there is a little Spar not far away, not to forget the marvellous sculpture park at the corner of Borrowdale Road where you can buy metal handicraft of all sizes, even an original sized zebra!

Thank you so much for having us there, we very much enjoyed it and we will certainly be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laulalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Laulallei,

thanks for your wonderful words. it was great having you here over Christmas. We kept your beautiful blue star Christmas decoration from Jordan for next Christmas. Hope you will be able to join us again during that time of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
6.6 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#4 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.4 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 49 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kingsmead Guesthouse
Kingsmead Guesthouse
#2 of 49 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge

Property: Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
Address: 14 Jacana Drive | Borrowdale, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy genuine and uncomplicated hospitality at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, situated on a quiet and secure one acre property within the Golden Triangle of Harare’s Northern suburbs, a 10 minute drive from the centre of Harare. Come stay in one of our six newly decorated spacious bedrooms or self-contained Garden Cottage, each with it's own individual design, all en-suite and with patio doors that open onto verandas, overlooking a lush garden and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing