We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived here and honestly did not expect the Hotel to be as nice as it was. The rooms seem to have been recently redecorated and were very clean. I had a really comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. The view over Harare were lovely. The breakfast was expensive but understandable considering the availability of items. The public spaces need upgrading to the standards of the guest rooms. The staff are friendly and efficient.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

The positives:
- Clean
- Friendly staff
- Small but adequate training / gym room
- Hotel is in the process of renovating rooms, so can only get better
- All rooms offer a good view over the scenic parts of Harare
The problems:
- Public areas, such as the bar and buffet restaurant, are still in need of an urgent renovation
- Even after renovation, bathrooms and parts of the bedrooms have a distinct 1980s feel
- The breakfast buffet is quite extensive but not always the freshest, especially the large selection of breads, which was mostly stale every morning of my four day stay

Room Tip: Ask for a newly-renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ribbie_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Ribbie_001,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate the compliments on the level of hotel staff service received. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the condition of the hotel amenities, room decor and sincerely regret our breakfast fell below your expectations. Please remain assured that we will share your comments with the respective departments to improve upon our service and products.

Again, we appreciate your feedback. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Great Rooms, With the rooms been upgraded recently. Wish they would upgrade the toilets. Still have a shower in the bath. Food always a pleasure. TV channels aren't clear, very fuzzy. Internet is good, just struggle sometimes to login with the details provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis-seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent Hotel in downtown Harare. Great views of the hills surrounding Harare. The rooms were clean and there was warmth from all the staff of the hotel. A destination I will repeat when I am next in Harare.There are taxis available and best arranged by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is the only hotel in Harare that is close to meeting international standards for rooms (refurbished). Staff is extremely attentive and friendly. Unfortunately AC not working during my stay which made for unbearable hot room. Meikles has better facilities and grandiosity. But at least until Meikles refurbishes its rooms--the best rooms are here. Breakfast at USD26 is unreasonable but you can get pastries and coffee for a reasonable price at the cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Excellent Room service and food. The rooms are ok not the best when compared to the price. I stayed here for a week on a business trip. The wifi service is good but can only be used for checking emails and basic internet surfing .Buffet breakfast is very good. People are very helpful, you can get taxis just outside the hotel and taxi driver helps you to get the local prepaid SIM and provides you with enough detail about the city.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EktaS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here in July 2013 for 2 nights to attend a conference in one of the other major hotels in Harare. Very friendly staff who were always eager to assist. The reception staff went looking outside for someone to assist me in getting a Zimbabwean SIM card for my phone. Buffet breakfast was very good but still a bit expensive (US$ 26). The lobby is a bit small and not inviting to have meetings with business relations. The coffee bar, staff also very friendly, serves espresso but here there is definitely some barista work to be done. Rooms are decent-sized but mine had a rather outdated interior. Bed was good and overall room was acceptably clean. I did not try the restaurant because there are many good restaurants within reasonable (driving) distance from the hotel. The hotel bar on the first floor is without any atmosphere and closes early at 10.00pm, which is too early for an international hotel.

Overall, Crowne Plaza is a nice place and I would not mind to book this one again when in Zim. The argument for rating the hotel 'very good' and not 'average' is the fact that service is very good and people are friendly. If available, I would have rated 'good' as the hotel needs some refurbishment, but that is not an option with TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.5 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
287 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#10 of 14 in Harare
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy

Address: 54 Park Lane | Julius Nyerere Way, Harare, Zimbabwe (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotels Harare - Monomotapa)
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: £78 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The facilities at Monomotapa are specially designed for the convenience of the guest. The hotel provides a one-stop service where accommodation and other services are concerned. We have a wide selection of food and beverage outlets with the restaurants and bars to the full conference and banqueting facilities. Fitness center and outdoor swimming pool allows the guest to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotels Harare - Monomotapa Hotel Harare
Crowne Plaza Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing