We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business travelers”
Review of Holiday Inn Harare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Harare
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The location is great, and the two restaurants served good food. The staff behind the desk are pleasant but do not know what they are doing. When we arrived after 15 + hours of travel, they could not find our reservations and, even worse, could not use the credit card machine to charge our cards. They wanted us to pay cash for the 5 day stay in advance! After we had been set up for bed and breakfast, we only got"bed, and breakfast was $26.00! Since the credit card machine was not working we couldn't charge anything to our room so had to pay cash for everything that we wanted. The internet process was a nightmare, with very short usage allowed with a password/id combination that was variable. To get a new id/pass one had to physically go down to the front desk, stand in line, and MAYBE you could get one. Since only one elevator was working, this was a problem. Inadequate outlets in room, and when I needed an adaptor, I was charged a $5.00 deposit, which was not returned on my departure. That said, the BED was great, duvet, lots of pillows, individual room heat/aircon which is impressive, and the staff, especially PRECIOUS from housekeeping were frindly and did try their best.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel face a busy street with a loud jazz club down the street, the noise leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suemidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

My overwhelming sense of being in this hotel was one of confinement, unlike Meikles or Bronte. There are no easy places to have small business meetings, which was inconvenient. We only need space for 3 people and to plug in our laptops and we had to do with moving around the restaurant. With just a dollar or two difference at the Bronte I would go for that one everytime because there is simply more at your disposal for a productive working environment, relaxing leisure environment and general enjoyment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is a big international chain and I was expecting the best of everything;
Excellent Central Location , recently renovated, clean all amenities working well and the staff were very helpful. The wireless internet was to my surprise good but you have to get ID/PASS everyday with limited bytes! Breakfast was normal and good enough, I even tried the steak bar -restaurant and enjoyed a nice meal.
The real scares were the very Old elevators! I was told that the service company does not have the personnel /spares to repair it!
It was kind of let down but given the circumstances I was realized/appreciated that the management efforts to keep everything at an acceptable level: local have a better price than ridiculous price of the foreigners!

Room Tip: Careful of the Elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dantes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

As long as you're not expecting 4 or 5 star surroundings & facilities I think you should be happy here.

The staff are the best asset to the hotel & were always welcoming and friendly (especially in the restaurant & pool bar). The rooms were well tended and comfortable, with the only downside being some noise from the front of the hotel which may wake some light sleepers.

Food I think was the only big let down here. The breakfast buffet was ok but the lunch & dinner buffets I felt were quite lacking, with not enough variety or quality dishes. The lack of an a la carte menu option was also disappointing. As options though, there's the steak/burger bar built in the hotel & there are some fast food franchises if you fancy a pizza, burger or chicken. There's also a small Nandos 150yards away where you have a few options for some good (but limited) food.

All in all, not a bad place to stay as long as you're

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper then you might like to try and get rooms at the back of the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SillybritUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear SillybritUK,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding our staff.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the food selection. We will look into this and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment so you should not be surprised to be rudely woken up at 7.30 by the racket of drilling from a nearby room - as I was on the last morning of my 4 night stay here. Other than that, the hotel was pretty much what I expected, if a little run-down (hence the refurbishment, I guess).. The sofas in the lobby for instance, have all but collapsed!
The service was generally friendly and cheerful though the staff in the restaurant were not always as efficient as one would expect. The rooms are clean and have air-conditioning.
Complimentary wifi a big plus!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kibet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Kibet M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations and the free WIFI. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the noise and the poor service you received at the restaurant. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel's furniture and surroundings is more a 3 star, don't expect to see Holiday inn standards as per South Africa. The staff really go out of their way to make the stay a lot better than your first expression of the hotel. Very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are ok, at least clean and fresh. Breakfast compared to all the places I've been to is bad, I tried havving lunch at the Spur inside the Hotel, extremely expensive. Dinner is a buffet, but it is not good at all, no imagination, the same food every night. Overall the stay was good enough due the the staff making a big effort.
No gym facility, they told me to use a local gym in Harare but there was no one when I got there.

Room Tip: Nothing, all the same, no view, maybe the photo above was taken from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Although the city of Harare may not be a major tourist attraction many persons would nontheless wish to spend a night there on there way to one of the tourist attractions in Zimbabwe, or visit it for business purposes. We stayed in the hotel while travelling between Kariba and Nyanga National park. Although the hotel is currently being renovated it did not disturb us in any way and the room was clean and neat. The personnel were efficient and welcomed us like 'long lost family members'. Centrally located in the city with sufficient safe parking space for our vehicle and off-road caravan we found it a convenient and safe stopover. The price was resonable and the breakfast buffet of good quality. I recommend the hotel to all visitors, who wish to stay a night or two in Harare and do not wish to stay in a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Most African cities can be quite noisy at night, so tryand get a room on one of the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peetvdyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
3 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#4 of 14 in Harare
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#10 of 14 in Harare
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Cresta Jameson Hotel
#7 of 14 in Harare
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Harare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Harare

Address: Samora Machel Avenue | P.O. Box 7, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: £83 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Harare 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harare is ideally situated in the centre of Harare, making it the perfect place for your business or pleasure stay. It is minutes away from Harare's shopping and business district with beautiful parks, markets and curio shops also within easy reach.The hotel has 201 rooms and 4 suites. The hotel has conference facilities that cater for all business needs with facilities for up to 300 guests. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere with two restaurants and a pool terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Harare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harare Hotel Harare
Harare Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing