We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Harare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Harare
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a nice hotel and the staff are very friendly but I can only give this hotel an average score. The property is in dire need of an upgrade. I assume that light bulbs are expensive as there were quite a lot out in the public areas, elevators and corridors. The rooms even though comfortable and clean, look old due to the dated decor. There is a musty smell throughout, this is probably due to the supply air units not working properly. The bathrooms are old and our bathtub was chipped and scratched. Please do something about the internet, move away from the voucher system. Breakfast is good and the service is really efficient. This could be so much better if refurbished.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear William C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and breakfast service. However, it is regrettable to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the internet connection and facility maintenance. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort it may have caused you. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Holiday Inn is one of the best 3 hotels in Harare other than Miekles and Crowne.
the hotel is located at a very nice location right opposite to a pump so many eat out joints.
the hotel has huge rooms which are very nicely done but equally bad are the bathrooms.
the bathrooms are not at all a good sight to see and could have been done in a more tasteful way.
we used to have these kind of bathrooms in 90's.
the hotel has a bar in the lobby which get very lively in the evening and is a good place to hang out and meet new people.
overall its a nice good and decent place

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kshitij g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good hotel in Harare where everything is found and in a great location. Safe and convenient, pity the Spur resturant closed down as it was convenient to have a quick lunch during the day. Friendly staff in all parts of the hotel and good breakfast buffet on offer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanuram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Kanuram,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am delighted to know that you found our location suitable for your needs and that our staff were outstanding. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Again, thank you and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I don't mean this in a negative way, but generally you know what to expect when you go to a Holiday Inn - the one in Harare isn't significantly different to the one in Leicester ... I'm not sure what that actually says about either Harare or Leicester - I'll let those of you who have been to either draw your own conclusions.

Clean, spacious room. Reasonably comfortable bed, functional bathroom perhaps a little lacking in character - plenty of hot water, can't complain much really.

Had room service for dinner & breakfast - the burger for dinner was edible, chips were a tad limp, but I was hungry and they did fine - breakfast was ... interesting ... in my opinion, mostly inedible salvaged cereal and toast from the whole tray's worth and didn't starve ...

Can't say I would chose it as a romantic getaway, or even a particularly holiday friendly hotel - but as a business stop-over - it delivered adequately.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S1_812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear S1_812,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent business travel. We are very appreciative of the positive comments regarding our clean and spacious rooms. Your feed back regarding the dinner and breakfast items have been shared with the staff and we certainly welcome any opportunity to improve guest satisfaction. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here and enjoyed my stay. Roms are nice and standard. Nice choice of channels on TV. Almost all floors and rooms are carpeted so are a bit musty.
Restaurant always had a nice buffet with lots of fruits and the Friday menu was my best with African themed meals. We also got fruits for snacks during the meetings.
There was a crowd of 10+ men, singing to music and standing by the entrance of the hotel on Friday night as we came back from dinner outside the hotel. They wouldn't budge to let us pass and we had to walk through them to get by. The front desk was right there so we weren't too worried or really threatened.
Staff were friendly and responsive to needs of the guests. Special commendation to a front desk staff called 'Never'. I gave Never my trip advisor pin and took a picture of him. I needed a doctor early one morning and he worked extra hard to check on me and follow up with the doctor as needed. He had also helped me print some documents for a meeting I was having the following day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Chi_Chi2111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive C, Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Chi_Chi 211_11

Thank you so much for taking time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our breakfasts to be satisfactory. It is a pleasure to hear that you liked our traditional theme on Friday and that the fruits availed for your conference and conference tea breaks were quite handy. Many thanks for the feedback on staff responsiveness and the exemplary service provided by Never. We will share this feedback with the team so that they are encouraged.

Kindly be advised that we have taken note of the carpet issue as well as the singing by the group you encountered whilst coming from your dinner. We will correct this forthwith.

Once again, many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,


Clive Chinwada, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Holiday Inn Harare is a comfortable, clean and convenient freshly refurbished and upgraded facility. The service is very good and the location is excellent and rooms are affordable. With spacious and secure parking I recommend the hotel for professionals, businesspersons or leisure travellers. The food quality and service have improved but can still be better.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinoBERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive C, Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Tino Bere

We appreciate your taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are also pleased that you found our services to be good, the location to be convenient, and our rooms to be clean and comfortable.

We are grateful of your commendation and we will continuously strive to improve our food and beverage

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,


Clive Chinwada, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was in Harare for a month and stayed in Holiday inn ,Hotel is good, services are nice.
Breakfast is lil costly but quality is good.
Big hotel with huge parking space and good place to take the walk in night time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitabh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.4 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
3.0 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#9 of 14 in Harare
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Harare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Harare

Address: Samora Machel Avenue | P.O. Box 7, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: £87 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Harare 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harare is ideally situated in the centre of Harare, making it the perfect place for your business or pleasure stay. It is minutes away from Harare's shopping and business district with beautiful parks, markets and curio shops also within easy reach.The hotel has 201 rooms and 4 suites. The hotel has conference facilities that cater for all business needs with facilities for up to 300 guests. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere with two restaurants and a pool terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Harare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harare Hotel Harare
Harare Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing