We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad all things considered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Ambassador Hotel Harare
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I only stayed a single night, and found the staff very friendly and helpful. On arrival no TV remote in room but this was quickly sorted by a telephone call to reception.

Furnishings in the room a bit on the aging side but still very clean and acceptable. Nice firm mattress on bed which was covered with crisp clean linen.

Bathroom has an old tub (but clean) which is also fitted with a handheld shower. Unfortunately shower didn't work but could still enjoy a nice hot soak after a days traveling. Clean towels and mini soap & shampoos were thoughtfully provided.

Some of the fittings in the bathroom were a bit loose with a screw or two missing. It didn't bother me enough to insist on a new room though.

I ordered room service which was delivered within 15 min. The meal even arrived properly covered and hot and was also well prepared.

My room wasn't fitted with an air-conditioner. However, the ambient temperature didn't call for one thankfully. Actually got a bit chilly in the evening and a good oil heater which was provided in the room worked perfectly.

No safe in the room, but the hotel does offer a safekeeping service with security. I left my backpack containing among other my laptop, iPad and spare mobile phone with them when I went strolling through town. Got all my items back with no problems later.

My two grievances:
I was struggling to connect to the Free WiFi during office hours. Access improved dramatically after 6pm though, and I was able to catch up with loved ones back home.

Second grief was lack of fridge in my room to keep drinks cold.

Conclusion:
Will definitely return as the hotel offers good value for money for it's 3star rating.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Arowpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Being on a tight budget during the weekend I visited Harare, I wanted a hotel with the best conditions at the lowest price. Well, this was the perfect place for me as they have weekend special offers at a third of the week day prices and you still get the same service. The building is right in the city centre so it's perfect for shopaholics, and surprisingly, the streets are quite quiet for a middle of the town hotel. It could do with a few touch ups here and there......The staff are well dressed, polite and very helpful. I slept in a standard room - the tv channels were not there at all, the plug top for the fan heater was damaged so I couldn't use those. The bathroom and toilet are in good working condition, running hot water and clean white towels, but a bit of renovation wouldn't be of any harm. Breakfast is good, served hot, by friendly staff .I would definitely stay there again, but of course, during the weekend!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank AdventurousTete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very low price (for Harere) and I am told that the company is in the process of improvements. The staff do their utmost to make you welcome and really do care. Security was very good, no problems leaving stuff in the room.
The other review mentioned scruffy, I guess that is true of the bath tubs - paint cracking on the surfaces and some towel rails broken. But the place is really clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was great with a big range of choice, including full English. And I found that if you pack it in you don't need any lunch, so justifying the price.
Location is good for the shops and some bars etc, and as it's next to the Zim Ministry of Defence and backs onto the goverment buildings, security in the area is fine.
I would go again certainly. My context is as a person who doesn't use a lot of hotels and really don't care - need a fridge - mini-bar and super posh facilities. I like simple clean and friendly.

Room Tip: Wifi in higher floors not as good. No pool or fitness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin_Campbell_biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was cheap, I have stayed at all the hotels in the past 10 years in Harare and this is one of the cheapest and it shows it when you stay there, it is in the city centre should you want to go there but there is not much to see, there are more modern shopping area's in and around Harare much better equiped

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ストラーノ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rodrigo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#10 of 14 in Harare
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
287 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Cresta Jameson Hotel
#8 of 14 in Harare
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Ambassador Hotel Harare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Ambassador Hotel Harare

Address: 88 Kwame Nkrumah Ave | Box 872, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: £48 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Ambassador Hotel Harare 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New Ambassador Hotel Harare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing