We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and poorly maintained”
Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive and poorly maintained”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I come to Harare and stay in Meikles several times in a year. In the past two years I have seen the maintenance of the hotel go down severely just as the prices, particularly of food, have shot up. In the past two visits I have regularly seen cockroaches in the bathroom and the bed room. It seems it is a policy not to replace fused bulbs unless the customers ask for it. Toilet seats have not been replaced for years and you will often see that the rubber padding underneath has worn away so that the seat rests only on iron screws. The gym has two tread mills and one of them has needed repairs for at least two years that I have been coming. All in all a poor value for money. I wish there were alternatives to staying in Meikles.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pk20818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    198
    76
    22
    6
See reviews for
29
44
34
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My stay at the Meikles was for a week, the hotel has nice colonial ambience a stone throwaway from the supreme court, right in front of Africa Unit Square in central Harare. The room service was good, the only issue being that they do not have vegetarian food. I being a vege was difficult. The breakfast had a nice spread..breads, muffins, fruits, egg, milk, pottato wedges & non veg dishes...ofcourse chargeable at USD 15.00. If you want a colonial experience i recomend the Meikles.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lakshmananchocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

having stayed there in December and in August last year, i really wonder whether one should return to stay there.. yes, the hotel was on of the best - anywhere (we lived there, we put up all our overseas guests from international insitutions, had our workshops there etc.) . but that was some time ago. some of the old/long serving staff members still display that excellent attitude towards guests and service... now it seems to be a money grabbing place, where quality and service do not reflect the charges. slow service - waiting 30 minutes for the change, air con not working, a medium rare e steak becomes a piece of leather, high charges for the so-called business centre etc etc... still, the quickest service was put in place on my last day.. by the time i finished my early breakfast (still worth the money) my room had been cleared by the cleaners already... but i managed to get a towel back....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I have stayed in this hotel several times and have eaten there many times as I lived in Harare for a few years, this is the main hotel in Harare for business and good food, always polite and friendly, I will definately eat there again when I go back. I do think though the rooms are expencive for where it is

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Stayed at the Meikles for 1 night during my one week trip to Zimbabwe. The service is fantastic and reliable. On par with the best 5 start hotels accros the globe. Definitely the best hotel in Town.

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This is the one of the best hotels in Africa? I feel sorry for the others then.
I have stayed at this hotel fopr 6 nights, and problems started upon arrival. Initially they gave me a room where the A/C and the TV were not working, and a light bulb was burned out. Then they changed for another room, 2 floors lower, with a bed smell.
Upon the 3rd try, they gave me a larger, better room, in the south wing, whre thy said that I would have thermostat control of the A/c (unlike in the other tower, whre you only have an "on/off" button. Wel,, the famous burron wouldn't influence the temp in my room - it was constantly hot. The second night, while talking on the phone and before I've entered the shopwer, something bit me - some bloody insect from the carpet.
They haven't vaccumed my room for 3 days in a row and only after my complain on the 4th day, they've done it. The hot water in the batthroom has no pressure.
The restaurant is not bad, but the average time you need to allocate for a meal is 1.5-2 hours... The slowest service I've ever seen! If you order a coffee, it takes 30 minutes - after 10 minutes they bring you the cup, after another 10 the sugar and finally after 30 minutes, the much expected liquid shows up! Unbelievable, but true! One day they didn't have mushrooms at all, so nothing on the menu that included mushrooms could be ordred. Another day they took an order for ostrich, and 20 minutes later they've returned saying "sorry, we don't have it".
Thew bartender at the pool, on the roof, simply dissapears for 30-60 minutes, so you might sit there and wait in vain. The bar in the lobby is kind of ok, but you have to beg several times for some chips/peanuts.
the concierge is prtetty useless, since you can't find out any info from him. In the customer service area, if you need adaptors, don't be too optimistic - they have a box full with 2 dozen broken ones, and they tell you that is all they have....
Overall, NOT/NOT an amaising experience, TO SAY THE LEAST!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robroy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I would like to take my wife to Zimbabwe just to stay at this Hotel for a night. It is not the most exclusive, smartest and yet it exudes a past era.. Anyone who is visitng Z on business or on their way to the falls, game parks....take a night out to rest and recouperate here.
Full tea and cakes are served in the lobby, The restaurant is totally 1950's, Napery, Live Music, Crepe Suzzette...a very enjoyable and high quality time warp. Well appointed gym and pool area (not large) Was there for a week and had a great time. Am biased I enjoy Harare and its people. If you get a chance go to A restaurant called Cascais - hotel will arrange. Simple food very relaxed atmosphere - beware the piri-piri sauce

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerlea45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.2 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#5 of 13 in Harare
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 13 in Harare
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#8 of 13 in Harare
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Property: Meikles Hotel
Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing