We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Infrastrucrue seems to be old..Needs maintainance. Some basics needs to be improved comapred to the charges. there are some other good options in the similar price range. Japanese Restaurant was the best part..Different experice and good food. Breakfast was monotonus every day without any variations. People are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhamaliyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff are great! Hotel is quite old but still goog. The green area (park, gardens and pool) are very well maintained. Rooms quite simple and not 5*! Two good restaurants and bars. The attached conference center very populated on sunday.

Room Tip: Experienced some problem with room pass-card. The reception was not able to fix it. Please check you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel is quite old, showers are not the best, air conditioning wasn't working properly. Lifts are extremely slow. Best part about this hotel is the Japanese restaurant which was very good. Service was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTGuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

We would like to thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay at the Rainbow Towers Hotel.

We would like to apologise for the inconvinience caused to you during your stay. We want to assure you that we are working towards the issues you raised to ensure that your next visit is much more comfortable.

We deeply value our customers and always want to provide seamless service, only because our customers deserve the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Don’t expect the quality for the price you are paying. I am staying here as I write, February 2014. I have been here for almost a week in Harare for work, and have another to go. People are exceedingly pleasant, but there are a lot of frustrating aspects to staying here that I would not expect from a hotel trying to position itself as a fine hotel. Most frustrating is the wait for elevators, which can seem trivial, but after 2 minutes go by and there is no option for stairs (15 floors in the hotel), it is a patience test. I have been told a major part of the reason is that the staff elevator is out of order, and indeed, the staff seem to be using the elevator more than the clients. Other quirks include the internet, for which you have to get little pieces of paper for to enter to access, and then your time runs out and you need to get another one. Need paper, pen, or change for a $10 – well, it turns into a walk around the lobby to get such basic service that most hotels of this quality is sure to have ready and willing. The food is outrageously prices for Harare – for instance a $30 breakfast buffet. Because of its location, there is not many options so one must take a taxi for alternatives, which is at least $10 round trip, not to mention very convenient. I list this last because people staying here may be okay paying the more expensive prices for food, etc. But related, they may also expect service that is a notch up per my earlier comments. Of course one is in “Africa” and should not expect the same service as in more developed contexts, but then isn’t that why one pays more for their accommodation? But as I initially wrote, the people are exceedingly friendly, which helps to offset the other concerns.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgchaplowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTGuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

The Rainbow Towers Management would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience on your recent stay at the hotel. We would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvinience caused to you throughout your stay at the hotel.

I would like to assure you that as a hotel we are taking necessary corrective measures on the major areas of concern which are as highlighted above: elevator efficiency, food & beverage pricing and general responsiveness.

As hotel, we strive to ensure our guests’ experience is flawless throughout their stay.We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. We do hope the rest of your stay will be enjoyable and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at the rainbow towers hotel, formerly Sheraton hotel harare from the 02 to 09/12/2013 on business .

The gardens are beautiful and well manicured. There were lush green. The foyer/ reception area is beautifully designed.

Checking in was cumbersome. I arrived at the hotel at 1300hrs and the rooms were not yet ready. I was told to come back after 30 min. Knowing the level of service I came back after 2 hours and still the room were not yet ready. I had to sit in the foyer for at least 30 more minutes before I got a room.

For such a big hotel with many floors about 14 I think to have only 3 functional elevators is a shame . I waited for a good 5 minutes before the elevator finally made it to ground floor . Coming down from the third floor was a nightmare. The lifts coming down were almost always full. Please Rainbow towers management do something about the elevators.

The room I was given was ok. It was obviously dated, in need of some sprucing up.the toilet shower glass was broken and always let water spill on the floor. The carpet was dirty. The air con/fan was not working , only blowing cols air even when temperature set to 35*C.

WiFi was readily available and free which was really nice. They allowed you 500MB of data per coupon given with the option of getting more coupons as needed.

The hotel staff were very friendly. They always start the greeting with "refreshing morning, refreshing afternoon or refreshing evening.

I went for dinner in their buffet restaurant called Kombahari which means sitting around a cooking pot in Shona. I had stir fry sweet sour chicken which was very tasty.

Overall not a bad hotel but can be much better.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTGuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

A refreshing evening to you,

Thank you very much for taking your time to give us feedback about your recent stay at The Rainbow Towers. We genuinely value your input as it helps us in correcting ourselves where we fall short. On behalf of the relevant departments which you noted, i would like to assure you that we have already started taking corrective measures to eradicate our short-comings which caused discomfort during your visit i.e. check-in process, room set up and elevator efficiency.

I sincerly do hope that during your next visit to our hotel, your stay will be much more REFRESHING and flawless than your first visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is currently a two-star hotel living in the shell of an abandoned five-star

The management changed around June 2013. The General Manager and Front Office Manager are competent and sincere in their desire to reclaim a higher quality for the Rainbow Towers. However, they suffer from a legacy of neglected front line staff, ignored building maintenance, and shoddy renovations. This is a hotel in transition, and the traveler can expect a mixed experience.

Where the new management has concentrated its efforts, you will enjoy a wonderful experience (conference rooms, top floors, lobby). Where they haven't, you will suffer (A/C, wake-up calls, housekeeping, maintenance).

This may result in a trying time for the business traveler who is unwilling to complain to middle management or above when they run into a problem. For example, in my first two days, I was moved four times before I was given a room in which the A/C worked. I followed the standard chain of command - front desk, front desk manager, front office manager, general manager - to try to resolve the problem. Resolution came at the General Manager level - I as given an Executive Suite on the top floor at standard room rate as compensation for my inconvenience. But the time and effort I had to invest in getting a room with A/C was frustrating.

The front line staff is friendly, but incompetent. They clearly have not received any training or monitoring for years. Therefore, you may not get your wake-up call, and may miss your meeting. Or you may have to spend two to three hours to get help with your internet connection or borrow the proper size adapter or an extension cord. (During renovations, the contractor installed different sized round pin sockets, so your adapter may not fit all sockets, and you may need to ask for an extension cord so you can plug in your laptop.)

Rely on middle management and up to competently respond to your requirements. Front line staff will smile and say yes, but won't be able to respond. Call to a middle manager,and get them to direct their staff.

Buffet food is fine at breakfast, but a bit stale at lunch. I did not have dinner at the buffet. There is an oriental restaurant with excellent chefs who sautee food at a grill station while you sit around him and watch. His cleanliness and style are excellent. Unfortunately, he is working at a station which has mice, which I watched run around the floor behind him. I attribute this to the legacy of a poor infrastructure.

All in all, my impression is that the new upper management is sincere in its desire to upgrade the hotel, and they are doing it as quickly and properly as possible. But the hotel staff and infrastructure were clearly neglected for years, and the traveler who stays here will need to make an effort at the outset establish a direct line to a middle manager to ensure that their stay is good.

Room Tip: Higher floors have newer A/C. Check the climate control immediately. If you cannot feel cold air, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winxalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Spent five nights for conferences. Was quite pleased with room; well cared for if furniture somewhat scratched up. The staff are truly great. Always a hello and a smile. And great service. The large lobby is close to elegant, and contains the lobby coffee bar and more formal alcohol bar (x2). The buffet restaurant is pleasant, food good. The Benihana style restaurant is truly superb.
The bath needs some work. Clearly very old, with corrosion in the telephone booth-like shower, and staining of other fixtures. Very well kept by housekeeping. Happily stay here again, and very good wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSSinCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTGuestRelations2013, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

A refreshing morning to you,

Thank you very much for the feedback! We deeply value your sentiments and assure you that we are working towards eradicating our shortcomings to ensure that your next visit is much more refreshing and even more comfortable.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
4.3 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#4 of 14 in Harare
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
297 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Cresta Jameson Hotel
#7 of 14 in Harare
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Towers Hotel

Address: 1 Pennefather Avenue, Harare, Zimbabwe (Formerly Sheraton Harare)
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: £60 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainbow Towers Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-Star Rainbow Towers Hotel and Conference Centre is the premier choice in Harare, Zimbabwe's sunshine capital city, for major business and social events. It is located on the fringe of the vibrant city centre and regally set in spacious landscaped gardens.The 304-room Hotel, formerly Sheraton Harare, opened in 1985 and regularly hosts Heads-of-State and many other VIPs of distinction. The main auditorium holds 4,500 people for a state-of-the-art conference or live show and the whole complex has a plethora of ancillary conference, exhibition and other multi-purpose function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rainbow Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Towers Hotel Harare
Rainbow Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing