We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very close view to predator birds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuimba Shiri Bird Sanctuary

Kuimba Shiri Bird Sanctuary
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very close view to predator birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I did not know so many predator birds in zimbabwe.we had a nice look around.Followed by a good refreshing meal.
There is still some work to be done to really set up the other facilities needed in th the sanctuary.They have really helped to bring succour to injured and orphaned birds.Replicating their natural environment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Unwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    42
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Kuimba Shiri is a hidden gem on the Lake Chivero shoreline. The entry fee means that the 'Madding Crowd' chooses to go elsewhere, but is reasonable enough for families to come and enjoy the green lawns, open views, trees, birds and food in peace.

The home-made burgers are always good, indeed, we make a point of bringing any overseas, especially American, guests out here for a few hours, generally to have lunch, enjoy the fresh air and Lake, before a late afternoon tour of the Lion and Cheetah park located close by.

Prices are very reasonable, staff helpful, and there are always activities of interest going on. We have never used the place for an event venue, but that is always a possibility.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveHarris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kuimba shiri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice place, my kids absolutely loved it. They have a bird show too. Which was very informative. Really nice place to spend the day

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazzago San martino, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

When we went to this my last place was a terrific place to relax and learn more about the Lake Chivero ECOSYSTEM. I was taken on a tour of the owners have plans for this place and I'm excited about their future. It is a GREAT PLACE TO DRINK A DRINK during the week!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mario r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This place is so dope but they are still doing more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

When I last went there this place was such an awesome place to hang out and learn more about the ECOSYSTEM at Lake Chivero. I was taken on a tour of the plans the owners have for this place and I am excited about their future. GREAT PLACE TO HAVE DRINKS in the week!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlNcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuimba Shiri Bird Sanctuary also viewed

 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to Kuimba Shiri Bird Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing