We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guinea Fowls Rest B&B
Ranked #4 of 50 Harare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A really great mid-range B&B – a real gem. This comfortable B&B, set in a secure and leafy garden, is a great place to relax and refresh after the rigours of travel. There’s plenty of comfortable outdoor seating, so you can find a nice spot to sit in the shade or the sun (Harare is at approx. 500m above sea level, so it can get surprisingly cold), and there is a swimming pool.

Meals here are excellent – the owner is a keen cook. The breakfasts are huge and will really set you up for the day, and you can also order dinner ($US15). We are vegetarian and were always offered a wide variety of food. Hot drinks are always available (for free) and there is an honesty bar for cold drinks in the fridge.

Rooms are well furnished and homely, and spotlessly clean. The common areas are very comfortable, and allow you to meet other travellers.

Owners Dave and Annette are extremely helpful and friendly, and have been running guesthouses for a long time – they are very well suited to the role because they’re always there if you need them, but also know when to leave you to do your own thing. We didn’t have our own vehicle, so they always organised transport for us – whether it be Annette driving us somewhere nearby or organising a cheap and reliable taxi (ie. for day trips outside of Harare).

We (an elderly mother and slightly younger daughter) felt quite safe staying at this B&B, and were looked after extremely well by Dave and Annette (including taking us to a medical clinic at 9 o’clock at night). I can’t praise them highly enough.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

John and I stayed for a week, the only mistake you would make is by not staying, Dave & Annette
are wonderful hoists, full of information where ever you want to go, can not do enough for you. the breakfast is more than adequate, the evening meals are also very nice, we found this place by accident its very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianwood66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent one night in Guinea Fowls and definitely this is a place to recommend. Very clean, quiet and beautiful place with a nice garden, pool table and a self service ''honesty bar'' etc.
Annette and Dave really did their best to assist us in all possible ways. We had a great dinner in the evening and the breakfast next day was not lacking anything. Will clearly stay here again if returning to Zimbabwe.

Room Tip: We were in a family room, despite only being 2 persons. Very spacious, with WiFi and full DSTV attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Having spent 5 nights at Guinea Fowls Rest we couldn't have found a more welcoming, peaceful and safe place to stay. Annette and Dave are absolutely wonderful hosts, friendly and helpful in every way, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious, immaculate and comfortable. Food was great and served beautifully in lovely veranda surrounded by gorgeous gardens.Honesty bar was a lovely place to relax. Close to town and amenities.Highly recommended B & B .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great stay during our business trip to Harare. Very friendly hosts who made our stay very memorable. Great food in healthy portions! Will most definitely stay here in the future....you can't beat it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms face garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conraym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Fantastic stay! Good value home in Harare, close to University and central hospitals. This is a very safe place to stay. All the other necessities like wifi and en suites included. Leafy garden and swimming pool with honesty bar to relax after a tough day. The breakfasts are fantastic: fresh fruits followed by a full fry-up to order, on the veranda, accompanied by birdsong. Save a night to have dinner here instead of eating out. Hosts Dave and Annette are very helpful and will even save you money by dropping you at the airport for a small fee!

Room Tip: Veranda room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karlheinz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at Guinea Fowls Rest for 2 nights in December 2013. I highly recommend it. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, the garden is lovely and the free wifi is excellent. The best thing though is Annette, who was so welcoming and so helpful. She advised us how to get around town, and how to continue on with our journey, and where to stay in Beitbridge; and she drew us some great maps and even drove with us out to the highway when we were leaving. Thank you Annette, I hope we will be back in Harare one day to stay at your place again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaL784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
2.6 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.1 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
3.0 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#5 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guinea Fowls Rest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guinea Fowls Rest B&B

Property: Guinea Fowls Rest B&B
Address: College Road | Alexandra Park, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, homely, secure & relaxing overnight accommodation in up-market suburb of Harare. Ideal for visitors to Harare, whether on holiday or for business. Close to city centre, hospitals and shopping centres and restaurants. A lovely spacious veranda with an honesty bar & pool table for entertainment; a sparkling swimming pool for those beautiful warm, sunny days! A laundry service is also available if required. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing