We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great steaks!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #15 of 157 Restaurants in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bellville, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great steaks!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

And offered a well-selected South African wine list.
Steaks was moist, well seasoned and grilled to perfection.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CharneLoftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonably priced. Warm atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The food is great and reasonably priced. Well worth trying. The waiters provided excellent service. We were well looked after.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MorneBritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had dinner at The Bistro recently, warm and friendly staff as we all expect in Zimbabwe, prompt service and overall well presented, good tasting food. We were seated on the veranda with +/- 12 other diners, noticed that the unreserved tables were not laid which made it feel a bit bare and 'cold' despite the canvas blinds being down and the nearby heater keeping us warm on a chilly autumn night.

All in a all a good experience and will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicholasMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food on a cold and rainy night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A group of us men came on a dark and stormy night. The canvas flaps had not yet been put down and we were seated by the door which made it drafty. The tables were assigned in order of when the dinner reservation had been received rather than by first come-first serve. But the menu was imaginative and the service initially was great. When things got busy one had to repeatedly signal a waiter, but that's life sometimes. The portions were nouvelle cuisine style, which meant that there was just enough food to satisfy but not to leave one feeling unduly stuffed. The restaurant had a feel of the white community, which is great, but it might do well to extend its ambiance to the black Zim community as well. Though the atmosphere of the restaurant was hobbled by the threatening weather, making outdoor seating a suicidal option, this restaurant was able to pull off a nice meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Effecient and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Went to the bistro for a business dinner. We were greeted at the door by the manager with warm Harare friendliness and we had to add a seat to our table which was met with no problems and quickly added. Drinks arrived on queue and we all the the fillet that was really outstanding. It was a excellent choice for a business dinner. I can recommend the bistro without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing