We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the dankest places on the planet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the dankest places on the planet”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is my second worst stay ever spread across 50+ countries. My number one worst stay was a humped out bed in a Beirut brothel. Vic Falls backpackers was a very close second. The rooms were stinky, moldy, wet and just plain rotten. The bed was ok, the fan was ok and the provided linens were ok.
The stench and dampness just killed the experience.
The dumper is separated by the bedroom a 2 foot tall wall. Which works out well if watching your girl spray out an authentic African butt sneeze is your thing.
The location is not great and you will want to take a car in/out of town. The staff at Vic Falls can call a taxi for you. The guy that runs the place is really helpful and very friendly.
So if you have to stay overnight get liquored up at shoestrings or one of the fancy places on the river. Then head back to Vic Falls Backpackers and drown your sorrows in your "swamp booty" sheets. Don’t bother bringing soap. A credit card will be more effective at scraping off the grime.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punchmyclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    62
    22
    15
    5
See reviews for
15
40
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The only reason for the 4 star rating is that the place is a bit outdated and the breakfast left something to be desired. But it's hard to complain when you realize that for everyone else around you, this is the reality of Zimbabwe. We had our choice of an open-air room or a closed room in proximity to the bathroom. Given the bugs, we chose the closed room. In general, it was totally fine. A bit hot, but there was a fan. The plumbing in the bathroom worked. The mosquito nets were a little old and needed to be taped up in some places, but neither my husband nor I was bitten. We had our laundry done for the first time on our trip, and it was ready when they said it would be. It's a bit of a walk to the downtown, and a bit further to the Falls, but we enjoyed it. The owners were really helpful and friendly and interesting, and in general, the people we ran into on the streets of Vic Falls were really friendly. The place is a good deal and has a lot of character.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gmercier311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The only complaint I could have about this place was that it was very quite and quite a walk away from the town.
The bathrooms and dorms were clean, and had mosquito nets which were needed.
The staff are all very nice and helpful.
Nice pool area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amixtika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here for four nights in one of the private "cabin" type rooms that included a bathroom. The walls of the cabin were made of block and the roof was straw. There were parts of the cabin that were not fully closed, making it welcoming for frogs, lizards and other creatures to visit. Also the bathroom was open to the rest of the room but had a 1/2 wall blocking it from the bed. After about the second day we got use to it and enjoyed "ruffing" it, especially after a week's stay at a resort in Zanzibar. The staff were friendly, helpful, and hospitably. We met many great people from around the world. Do know this is a bit of a walk from the downtown main street area. Also, their laundry service is a good price - hand washed that is!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyond_all_Borders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Cheap accommodation, helpful owner, and safe stop over for a couple of nights in Victoria Falls.

Alex, the owner/manager, was EXTREMELY HELPFUL in assisting us with activities and transport. He organized our rafting, confirmed our next hotel and let us hop on his internet to check emails quickly. The grounds are nice and there’s a charging station with power strip for US plugs.

The ROOMS are pretty shabby but safe. There’s no AC, only a fan that worked if we adjusted the cord just right. We looked at two other budget accommodations and they all seem to be on par in grottiness.

The BATHROOM in our tiny little room lacked a complete wall and had no door. We had to use the communal bathroom because a of a hot water heater problem. There’s two to choose from and I think the one on the right has a better shower.

A light, make-it-yourself BREAKFAST is provided (milk and cereal, coffee, toast and eggs) and there’s self-catering kitchen.

LOCATION is the biggest downfall to this place. It’s about a 20 minute walk to town or a $5 taxi ride. You can also rent scooters for $25-55 a day.

ECO-NESS – Didn’t really notice anything.

FINAL SAY – I’d recommend Victoria Falls Backpackers for anyone looking for a cheap overnight option that is accustomed to backpacker type accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowsun60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Vic falls backpackers is a really nice backpackers set a few blocks away from town centre. It is still easy walking though. It is not a "noisy" backpacker, so a good nights sleep is possible. The en suite units are great, and there are a variety of dorms.

For our group and budget it was perfect.

These guys also operate a jet propelled pontoon boat on the Zambezi above the falls. Its the best sunset cruise on offer on the Zimbabwe side. You get to land on and walk around on an island in the Zambezi river.. GREAT !!!

Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Loved my stay at the Vic Falls Backpacker Lodge. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and helped me arrange all the things I wanted to do in the town. Other travelers were really nice and we all went out for beer and pizza together. Would definitely stay again. Great price, too.

Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank deahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
517 reviews
1.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Backpackers

Property: Victoria Falls Backpackers
Address: 357 Gibson Rd | P.O. Box 151, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Victoria Falls. En-suite,Twin,Dorms and camping available, we are a short walk from town. Facilities include:- Car Parking Available- Unlimited Wi-Fi- Laundry Service- Linen provided- Towels provided on request- Mossie Nets- Adventure centre - Best advise and activity packages !!- Platform with view of the Mosi-Oa-Tunya (Smoke that thunders)- Beautiful Garden- Swimming Pool- Video / Lounge Area- Nightly Boma Fire- Swings- Home cooked meals- Safety boxes- Self catering kitchen- Capture the exotic flair of Zimbabwean culture and indigenous art with affordable comfort and friendly service. Our eye catching accommodation is scattered across our luscious garden of which our swimming pool and fire place forms the center piece providing a delightful setting for interacting with other travelers or to simply relax. Let management arrange your adventure activities for you, from bungee jumping to riding on an elephant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria Falls Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Backpackers Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing