We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pizza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Reviewed 2 April 2013

In the evening is nice to stay there feeling in a friendly place.It's easy to find friends,talking with people from all over the world and having a very good pizza (I don't understand why they serve them all with garlic..tell them in advance if you don't like).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beppeamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

If you're after affordable accommodation in Vic Falls (and fancy a decent nights sleep) Vic Falls Backpackers is a good bet. The rooms are an adequate size, there's a swimming pool, pool table and kitchen area.

It's a bit further out of town than the other backpackers but it's only a 15 minute walk so nothing too strenuous.

If you're in Vic Falls just to party and not too bothered getting much sleep, than Shoestrings Backpackers is probably the one for you. However if you're keen for a more chilled place, then I'd recommend Vic Falls Backpackers.

Ian, the owner, is very helpful and can sort out activities, airport/bus pick-ups or just give advice on what to do.

The rooms are basic but clean and have mosquito nets and duvets provided. There's a small breakfast provided (tea, coffee and toast) and there's a kitchen too.

We stayed 4 nights and paid a fraction of the price of the hotels there. Totally enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone visiting Vic Falls.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

One of the cheapest places to stay at Vic Falls but it's cheap in more ways than one.

Positives: Quiet, secluded, cheap.

Negatives: Rooms are open to the outside. The little mosquito nets hanging from the ceilings above the beds will not stop the critters from constantly buzzing around you and biting you in bed if your hand is up against the net. In a malaria zone, this is unacceptable. No shower curtains. Almost too quiet with not much opportunity to interact with other travellers. Pool is murky. The facility is a fair walk out of town.

Overall, unless you're on a very tight budget, I'd recommend giving this place a miss.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were really pleased about what we recieved for the price! It seems to be a little quieter than the other hostels at Vic falls but thats what I liked about it - we had beers by the boma at night or played pool and it wasnt really rowdy. Its about a 15 minute walk into town and I think thats why its a little quieter! The owners were really friendly and helpful and rhe couple of dinners we had there were tasty!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We chose Victoria Falls backpackers hesitantly, usually when we travel we stay in nothing less than a 3 star hotel, but seeing how hotels are so expensive in Victoria falls we decided to try the backpacker experience. We didnt know what to expect but were surprisely pleased with our stay. We stayed for 3 nights and though it is nothing close to the luxe experience I would have usually settled for, the place was comfortable and the service was very friendly and pleasant. Ian the guy who runs the place was very helpful with organizing transport around Vic falls as well as dinner reservations in restaurants. We loved the sit around fire that they have every evening and we met a few interesting people and had good conversations around the fire. I have to say if you are looking for a no frills place to sleep during your stay in Vic Falls, then don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is my second worst stay ever spread across 50+ countries. My number one worst stay was a humped out bed in a Beirut brothel. Vic Falls backpackers was a very close second. The rooms were stinky, moldy, wet and just plain rotten. The bed was ok, the fan was ok and the provided linens were ok.
The stench and dampness just killed the experience.
The dumper is separated by the bedroom a 2 foot tall wall. Which works out well if watching your girl spray out an authentic African butt sneeze is your thing.
The location is not great and you will want to take a car in/out of town. The staff at Vic Falls can call a taxi for you. The guy that runs the place is really helpful and very friendly.
So if you have to stay overnight get liquored up at shoestrings or one of the fancy places on the river. Then head back to Vic Falls Backpackers and drown your sorrows in your "swamp booty" sheets. Don’t bother bringing soap. A credit card will be more effective at scraping off the grime.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punchmyclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The only reason for the 4 star rating is that the place is a bit outdated and the breakfast left something to be desired. But it's hard to complain when you realize that for everyone else around you, this is the reality of Zimbabwe. We had our choice of an open-air room or a closed room in proximity to the bathroom. Given the bugs, we chose the closed room. In general, it was totally fine. A bit hot, but there was a fan. The plumbing in the bathroom worked. The mosquito nets were a little old and needed to be taped up in some places, but neither my husband nor I was bitten. We had our laundry done for the first time on our trip, and it was ready when they said it would be. It's a bit of a walk to the downtown, and a bit further to the Falls, but we enjoyed it. The owners were really helpful and friendly and interesting, and in general, the people we ran into on the streets of Vic Falls were really friendly. The place is a good deal and has a lot of character.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gmercier311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
493 reviews
1.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
915 reviews
1 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Backpackers

Address: 357 Gibson Rd | P.O. Box 151, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £12 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Victoria Falls. En-suite,Twin,Dorms and camping available, we are a short walk from town. Facilities include:- Car Parking Available- Unlimited Wi-Fi- Laundry Service- Linen provided- Towels provided on request- Mossie Nets- Adventure centre - Best advise and activity packages !!- Platform with view of the Mosi-Oa-Tunya (Smoke that thunders)- Beautiful Garden- Swimming Pool- Video / Lounge Area- Nightly Boma Fire- Swings- Home cooked meals- Safety boxes- Self catering kitchen- Capture the exotic flair of Zimbabwean culture and indigenous art with affordable comfort and friendly service. Our eye catching accommodation is scattered across our luscious garden of which our swimming pool and fire place forms the center piece providing a delightful setting for interacting with other travelers or to simply relax. Let management arrange your adventure activities for you, from bungee jumping to riding on an elephant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Expedia so you can book your Victoria Falls Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Backpackers Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing