We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here with friends in July 2014. The location and local people were great and welcoming with lots of local activities in the immediate surrounding area. The place was very peaceful, with clean rooms and bathrooms. Unfortunately, the staff were very unhelpful with poor and inconsistent advice on the local area. Trying to get any information was uncomfortable and very difficult. The restaurant had 'apparent' opening times but trying to order food or even a coffee was always met with moaning and disgust. The owner is a very scary gentleman with anger issues who awoke us two days in a row calling for his gun to fight off baboons. He was also very rude to his own staff in front of guests which we found extremely inappropriate (and often wildly unjustified). An intimidating man. The hostel has potential but staff let it down. The only saving grace was Roger who was kind, warm and welcoming (and sane). Without him, I would label the staff as universally unhelpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ndempster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

My friends and I had a great time at Victoria Falls Backpackers, it is a very quiet and relaxing place, with great trees and clean swimming pool. Staff and owners are very friendly and they helped us with all logistics: transportation from/to the airport, planning interesting activities, etc. Once a week they make a dinner barbeque with several kinds of meat and crocodile as well! It was also possible to rent bikes! At night the place was calm and we could hear the surrounding nature! Now they have a mascot as well: Doofus! (see picture)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank af c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were very happy with the information and assistance that Marina gave us during our stay here. It's quite a quirky place with lots of interesting artwork etc. The kitchen is well supplied, but you can also order meals from a limited menu which is good if you don't want to make the trip into the village. My friend had a double room to herself with an ensuite which was very comfortable. I shared a twin room which was a little small but there were a number of showers and toilets close to our room. The shower was nice and hot and the facilities were clean. Marina also gave us great advice on the activities that were available and booked them for us - easy. We especially appreciated this service when we didn't get anywhere near the same service at the place we stayed at in Livingstone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrabushwalker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the backpackers. All activities were booked through the friendly and helpful management, which can be tailor made to your requirements and are reasonably priced. The chalets are comfortable and the surrounding gardens are extremely relaxing and tranquil, causing us to extend our stay!
Would highly recommend a stay at the Victoria Falls Backpackers!

Room Tip: The en-suite chalets are very pleasant and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This backpackers is for those wanting a quieter stay in Victoria Falls. It has a lovely character, friendly staff and a rather pretty garden with a pool just for those times you want to chill out. All activities were booked through the hostel which saves time and effort and leaves you free just to enjoy your stay. It's easy enough to make your way to the Falls and to the Safari Lodge for vulture feeding time but taxis are the recommended way to go at night. Overall, it was a pleasant, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Not clean, very noisey, only one fan in all of the dorms... Locals in and out... Freidnly staff, good location.. I would recommend that you cross into Zambia better backpackers.. Lot so beggers waiting outside...

Room Tip: Gop to Livingstone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James_KK9185AX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina B, Owner at Victoria Falls Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We as the owners and managers take great exception to our lodge being called dirty as we take pride in it.

We enforce the rule of residents only on our premises.

We have a rule of consider people after ten and so have no noise on our premise, this is rigidly enforced.

NB: It is unfair of you to report negatively on Zimbabwe as a whole because you had a bad experience some where.

Zimbabwe in my opinion is much better than Zambia.

I think you have made a mistake in regards as to where you stayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Being a little out of town is a big advantage as it is quieter. The rooms were lovely and very clean. There are very few budget places in the whole of Zimbabwe so this one really flies the flag for backpacker hostels. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsaC748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
369 reviews
1.5 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
893 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Backpackers

Address: 357 Gibson Rd | P.O. Box 151, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £13 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Victoria Falls. En-suite,Twin,Dorms and camping available, we are a short walk from town. Facilities include:- Car Parking Available- Unlimited Wi-Fi- Laundry Service- Linen provided- Towels provided on request- Mossie Nets- Adventure centre - Best advise and activity packages !!- Platform with view of the Mosi-Oa-Tunya (Smoke that thunders)- Beautiful Garden- Swimming Pool- Video / Lounge Area- Nightly Boma Fire- Swings- Home cooked meals- Safety boxes- Self catering kitchen- Capture the exotic flair of Zimbabwean culture and indigenous art with affordable comfort and friendly service. Our eye catching accommodation is scattered across our luscious garden of which our swimming pool and fire place forms the center piece providing a delightful setting for interacting with other travelers or to simply relax. Let management arrange your adventure activities for you, from bungee jumping to riding on an elephant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Victoria Falls Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Backpackers Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing