We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard of food and service”

The Palm Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Come and experience a culinary journey at the top rated Palm Restaurant. Centrally located only minutes away from the Victoria Falls at The Ilala Lodge, The Palm Restaurant offers a magnificent breakfast buffet, tasty lunches and al-fresco evening dining. With an unmatched menu, comprehensive wine list, the roar of the falls in the background and a star-lit setting, it’s an adventure for the appetite that is not to be missed.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“High standard of food and service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Fancied a change from our hotel (Victoria Falls). On recommendation tried this restaurant and it was definitely a good choice. Very good food on pleasant terrace. Candlelight added to ambience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    150
    28
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced and inedible”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The food we received at the Palm Restaurant was incredibly overpriced with very little to no taste. They try to create an avant-garde menu, which is fine if the taste delivers. Unfortunately, Palm Restaurant falls very very short. I wasn't able to finish the (expensive) appetizer that I ordered, my mother finished maybe half of her (expensive) entree, and the dessert was marginally edible.

Try to grab a sandwich during snack hours instead--the sandwich, while still overpriced, and fries are actually pretty good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snoozology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect experiance in all aspects”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing orange supermoon and the sound of the amazing vic falls, made this experiance one of the most romantic I have ever had.
We found love here.
The food was lovely, nicely large porsions, good selection, and the taste is beyond heavenly.
Enjoy.

Helpful?
1 Thank liranish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Upscale Vic Falls for Date Night”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a very nice dining room with wonderful outside seating as well. The service was very good and the food was very good. The pricing was a little high by regional standards but if you are visiting from Europe or the States you'll consider it a bargain. I would say less of a place to take the family to chow down and more for a very pleasant quiet couples night. Did not stay at the Lodge, but from what I saw it looked very nice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very good dining option”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Since we were staying at Ilala, we ate quite a few meals here. The breakfast was very good. Lunch and dinner were solid. Try the ostrich it was our favorite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbuettner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palm Restaurant also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to The Palm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing