We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like royalty”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We had a 2 night stay at Elephant Camp as our first stop on a 3 week Africa trip. What a great start. Jonathan was not there, but Laura and Hilde did a top-notch job in his absence and left us wanting for nothing. Three new tents have been added (9-12) and we were in number 11. The plus was it was very private with a great view of the gorge. The minus was that it was a long walk to the lodge. However, on several occasions Laura arranged for a ride to drop us off at a closer location.

We were greeted on arrival with a cool drink and a fabulous lunch and it only got better from there. We did not have a car, but the free shuttle from the Camp worked out just fine and they were very accommodating about getting us where we wanted to go and when.

The added plus was the elephants and Sylvester. As guests at the camp we had time to interact with the elephants and also spend time with Sylvester, the cheetah.

What would we change? Nothing at all! If we ever return to Zimbabwe, Elephant Camp will be at the top of our list.

Room Tip: 9-12 rooms are more secluded with great views, but require a longer walk. All rooms are furnished a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNMauiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Elephant Camp is a fairy tale home away from home! My husband and I also stayed at the The Victoria Falls Hotel (Victoria Falls) and the Royal Livingston (Livingston) and The Elephant Camp won our hearts in every category. The "tents" were amazing - private, clean, and elegant with a great view. The food was healthy, slightly adventurous and perfectly tasty! The highlight was the kindness of the employees of The Elephant Camp. They did laundry, made great travel suggestions, greeted and transported us without asking for a dime! Needless to say, all of our tip money went to The Elephant Camp and the other two hotels got our nickels and dimes! Safety wise, we were in an country with political unrest (to say the least) but all of the people we met were wonderful and The Elephant Camp is within a fenced National Park with a guarded entrance. I never felt unsafe. I would recommend this paradise for anyone-solo, families or couples and I would go back in a second!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmccarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband decided on flying direct to Victoria Falls, which would take you to Zimbabwe side of Victoria Falls. Check which countries need visa, and decide if you only need a single entry visa (US$50 in cash...and there are no ready atms so come prepared).
After the chaotic airport clearance, the transfer and drive to The Elephant Camp was a breeze.
The place is secluded, but it didn't matter because all the meals were deliciously-prepared and drinks were all inclusive.
They have safaris on elephant back! Take the early morning one..much cooler.
Go with Jonathan's suggestions. Once he determines what sort of a thrill-seeker you are, he is quite spot on.
Be aware that the volume of water in Vic Falls is significantly less in the winter months. Vegetation is also sparse and brown but nonetheless dramatic.
Also did the Walk With Lions tour..awesome experience to stroke the cubs (7 months but still pretty big) as well as walk with the 14 month old cubs.
Lovely tents and complete privacy in the furthest flung unit #12.
Good choice!

Room Tip: If you have any great aversity to a walk, don't ask for unit 12. But if you enjoy the seclusion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joyce018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I visited The Elephant Camp for our five-year anniversary and everyone there helped to make it memorable. After a dinner cruise on the Zambezi we returned to our room to discover candles, champagne, flower petals and a hot bubble bath - how romantic! The Elephant Camp is located a little out of town, but we really enjoyed the peace and quiet, the views of the bush and wildlife during the day and the stars at night, and especially our walk to the gorge with the resident cheetah, Sylvester, on our last day. If we ever wanted to go into town it was not a problem at all - all we had to do was ask. The food was excellent - definitely the best we've had at a safari lodge by far - the drinks all included and freely flowing, and the service beyond friendly and helpful. They even went out of their way to procure some super-hot sauce for us. We found the free laundry service to be a real treat, especially after one of the resident elephants decided to spit all over my husband's white linen shirt - it came back looking like new! We also really enjoyed getting to know the manager, Jonathan. Not only is he hilarious, he has some great stories and a really interesting point of view of the region. Needless to say, we would absolutely recommend The Elephant Camp - I'd even say this is probably the first place we visited in Africa where I want to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

An absolute treasure - we are so grateful to our travel agent for recommending this to us. My wife had her doubts before we went as everyone she mentioned our trip to asked if we were staying at the Victoria Falls Hotel. Well after a day at Elephant Camp and a quick evening drink at the Victoria Falls Hotel we had no doubt we'd made the right choice. The Camp is very intimate and Jonathan is a fantastic host - for each of our 3 nights there he ended up having a night cap with us and regaling us with stories of Zimbabwe. He was also kind enough to get a special birthday cake for my wife at dinner.

Other highlights of the Camp (rather than the Falls) - excellent food, wonderful daily visits by Sylvester the orphan cheetah & the sheer peace and quiet so close to the Falls. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same in layout - after dark you are escorted so no need to worry about location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had two nights at Elephant Camp after 10 days in 5 top camps in Botswana and Elephant Camp was the best. Very good tented suites and food, although the coffee was not strong enough, friendly, professional staff and the huge plus of a one and a half hour walk with cheetah, Sylvester.
The camp is about 15 minutes from town but a bus was always available for trips. Really, this is the only place to stay when visiting the Falls.

Room Tip: Internet is available but usually only in public areas. We had room 4 which had excellent reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at Elephant camp for just 1 night in June 2012. We were blown away by the accomodation and the fantastic welcome and hospitality shown by our host Johnathon. Our evening meal was a taster menu which would be the pride of any Rosette restaurant and the breakfast was good and filling. The accomodation was superb and I couldnt resist getting in the huge bath just to view the falls from the bath. On the upper upper side of our budget but well well worth it for a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Our room was number 5. Very private. We felt like the only visitors until everyone met up for dinne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,024 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,557 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
497 reviews
4.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £610 - £861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing