We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Let me start the review by saying the we really enjoyed our stay. For those looking or a true wildlife experience, you may not be totally convinced by this venue, but if you are looking for a great destination with some unique offers then give this place some serious consideration.

The Elephant Camp accommodations, service staff and food are simply superb. Jonathon, Hilda, Dickson, Sheppard, Bornface and Prosper all contributed to a memorable stay. The absence of a traditional complement of wildlife was more than offset by the opportunity to go on an early morning walk in the wild accompanied by an adult (rescued) cheetah. Sylvester was just a tiny cub when his mother was driven off and his brothers and sisters killed by a lion. He has been reared in captivity and is now a cheetah ambassador, helping to educate visitors and visiting groups of local school kids about cheetahs. He is by no means tame, and viewing his behavior with visitors and his handlers Ed and Lewis makes that quite clear. This team of 3 makes a visit to the Elephant Camp quite unforgettable, as do the groups of orphaned elephants with which a guest can interact and even ride for guided bush walks (in very comfortable saddles).

All said, for somebody wanting to see the awesome Vic Falls, get up close and personal with an adult cheetah and ride African elephant (totally different from their Asian cousins) all in the lap of luxury, the Elephant camp delivers. And again, the staff are simply wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grim-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    64
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
191
380
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solomons, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

On an 3 week trip in Africa this was the highlight of our trip. Unique camp with luxury accommodations. Very helpful staff who had great tour suggestions and attentive to our needs. Good food and quiet setting made for a restful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thanks so much for your fantastic feedback! We hope to welcome you back to Zimbabwe again soon. Kindest regards, Wilma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadoma, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by friendly smiling faces and we were amazed by the breathtaking views and sprays of the Victoria Falls from the deck of the camp. The food was always delicious and never the same for the 6 nights we stayed there. Every request to be taken in and out of the camp to attend activities and tour the town were met with complimentary transport.
The staff was forever helpful and friendly. The mini bar in our tent was forever stocked up to the fullest not forgetting the forever open bar by the main deck. Very grateful to Jonathan, Hilda, Shepard and the rest of the crew for making our holiday amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ernest Jnr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We hope to welcome you back to Victoria Falls again soon. My best, Wilma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our first trip to Africa started in this amazing setting. Jonathan and his team made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The views toward Vic Falls and the Zambezi River gorge never get old. The food was excellent as was the service. The rooms are very nice but we spent a lot of time in the central lounge, where you can mingle with visitors from around the world over drinks while looking out at the beautiful African scenery and wildlife! I highly recommend it! If you go, do the walking safari with Sylvester the Cheetah. Amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GVPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atchison, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our stay in Elephant Camp was truly special- Wonderful accommodation with great hosts. They took us everywhere we wanted to go. The suites were spectacular, the food good and the venue superb. The hotel was not full, but the other guests were delightful too, making for a perfect stay!

Room Tip: All suites are basically the same and beautiful. If you want to be closer to the main lodge where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I recently took 8 New Zealanders to Victoria Falls before my wedding in South Africa and we stayed at the Elephant Camp which was just out of this world. There is nothing to fault about the place. The rooms are totally luxurious, air conditioned with big baths (with a view!) and showers and your own deck with a plunge pool. The food is absolutely delicious and they ensure that you never go hungry! And the staff are incredibly attentive and kind. Camilla and her team looked after us so well and did such a great job ensuring that we had a fantastic stay in Vic Falls. I would have no problems recommending the Elephant Camp to any of my friends and family – it is THE place to stay! Also make sure that you do the morning walk with Sylvester - a truly incredible experience. My only regret is that we did not have more time there!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Thank you to Jonathan and his Staff you all were amazing, you all exceeded our expectations with customer service and after traveling over 1800 miles to end at Elephant Camp was a dream come true, from food, our room (6) and just overall beauty I say Thank you again.... We have memories for a life time...... will make sure to visit again and spread the word of your Beautiful locations..... Ciao

Room Tip: Tent #6 was perfect, it was close to the lobby location, but far enough away for complete privacy es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhyllisR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing