We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

5 star service, 5 star food, 5 star accommodation!!
This is an absolute Gem and well worth the visit.
All the staff are friendly and very helpful. Johnathan sure knows how to make you feel welcome and comfortable.
The activities in and around the Falls are outstanding.
The elephant encounter and Cheetah walk is a must and the sunset cruise on the Zambezi was spectacular.
And lets not forget the falls which were dynamic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MarkVer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for The Elephant Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

A brilliant place to unwind after a long flight & relax before heading off for more activity-based locations-or, conversely to do so after a hectic schedue & early mornings! Jonathan, in particular, made me feel special, and organised everything professionally & superbly. Nothing was too much trouble. Won't hesitate to return if/when next heading to S.Africa. Many thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: The room I had was excellent so have nothing to compare with.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words and wonderful feedback! I do hope you will be back to visit us again soon. Yours sincerely, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

With 15 other friends and fellow travellers we sent three amazing days at the Elephant Camp where Jonathon was the perfect host and where our only complaint was we found nothing to complain about. From the first greeting to the final farewell it was an amazing three days highlighted by our visits with Sylvester, the cheetah, whom we all fell in love with so much so we are going back next year. The "tents" are magnificent from the private plunge pools so every little luxury you can think of. And added to that Jonathon's attention to detail and the delicious food made every day one to always remember. As someone who has travelled extensively for many many years I can only offer this advice to anyone contemplating visiting Africa, put the Elephant Camp at the very top of your list and if you can't get in change your plans until you can. Peter Waltham, Perth, Western Australia.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect anyway.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Unquestionably the best managed hotel that we have ever stayed at. This includes all safari related hotels, be it Richard Branson's, or Oriental Express. Johnathan the General Manager knows his stuff and his staff headed by Bernie holds it all together. Other reviews give you the details of the lodge. Please get to know Ed the trainer of Sylvester and go for a walk in the wild with a Cheetah. If your adding a driving Safari during the day, take the time to go into Chobe National Park which offer a great variety of game. The meals are great, the lodge is luxurious and the air conditioning keeps you cool when you want to be. Cheers

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfortlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you very much for your fantastic review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that we will see you again. Kindest regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We chose the The Elephant Camp as part of our Honeymoon and dont regret this choice for a minute. The camp is beautifully laid out along the Zambezi Gorge with wonderful views into the African Savanna. Each of the superbly luxurious tents is beautifully appointed, even with their own citorian bath with a view. We spent 3 nights here and got to have the full Cheetah experience with "Sylvester" together with the interaction with the Elephants. This gives you a real inside view into some of Africas greatest animals. Try to get one of the rooms farthest from the central area, it just gives that added privacy and "in the bush" feel.
The team is great and no requests seemed to be too complicated, even frequent trips into Vic Falls town were always possible as was a personal trip to the edge of the gorge, really a must do experience. No negative feedback whatsoever, you will not be disappointed by this camp.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZAcouple_in_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thanks so much for your great feedback! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us at The Elephant Camp. Hopefully we will see you again soon (maybe for your anniversary :-)). Keep well and kindest regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Yes! Like all the other wonderful reviews, we loved the Elephant Camp with its super-friendly and helpful staff, it's supremely comfortable tent-rooms (great outdoor shower!) and delicious meals in the friendly main tent. We actually had a travel agent choose this for us, and were so happy he did. After nearly two weeks on our trip to southern Africa this was such a relaxing and warm stop-over. A highlight for us was the morning walk with Sylvester the cheetah, which is surely worth the extra money. We went and saw the Falls multiple times, both morning and afternoon, as they change dramatically in the different light. Great spot, great vacation, absolutely memorable!

Room Tip: All the tent rooms are lovely, and all have a view of the far-off Victoria Falls spray---but how far...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaliforniakathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

This place is astounding and hard to top anywhere in the world. As our first stop in Africa after a long journey from Australia we wanted seclusion and peace in stunning luxurious surrounds. That's just what we got. Our nervousness at visiting Zimbabwe was ill founded. The staff and locals in town all happy and friendly and we never felt unsafe. Vic Falls was almost empty due to low tourist numbers making it a special treat. Not something you can claim of many of the other 7 wonders. Back at camp the staff led by manager Jonathon were perfect although when serving the delicious meals each night we had to remind them we were vegetarians again. That's ok, we get that it's an odd concept here!!! Otherwise we can't fault the camp and would return again, if for nothing more than sleeping to the roar if the Zambezi and lazing on the deck watching the mist from the falls across the autumnal dry veldt of the national park. Ill never forget this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,375 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,868 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £608 - £818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing