We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Lodging near Victoria Falls”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magnificent Lodging near Victoria Falls”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Glad we chose the Elephant Camp....an exceptionally well run and delightful lodging near Victoria Falls. Very customer focused....willing to organize any/all activities for patrons...very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Excellent luxury accommodations-- elegant tent set apart for privacy overlooking a magnificent gorge. Watched the sun rise every morning....from deep claw foot tub in spacious well appointed bathroom. A/C and heater equipped...plunge pool on private deck. Comfortable king size bed....and comfortable overstuffed furnished sitting area for lounging. We were an older couple and our tent was the farthest from the dining/reception area... this slight inconvenience was mitigated by friendly transportation by truck back to our tent after dinner...eliminating the long walk after hours. The dining area was a delightful veranda...candlelit at night....the food was delicious, gourmet fare, served plated at two of three meals a day included in your rate. Breakfast was buffet style with many choices including hot entree each day. The wait staff friendly and personal. A distant but clear view of the thundering falls plainly seen from this open air dinning room. I'd recommend the Elephant Camp to families, couples...honeymooners. An intimate, all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: 12 tents available....all identically decorated.....if you wish to be closer to the dining, swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering Jew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    66
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
194
385
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I travelled to Africa and our first stop was Elephant Camp in Zimbabwe. We stayed 3 nights and were very pleased with the accommodations (tent # 2) which was luxurious with a beautiful bedroom, sitting area, large bath with shower and tub, small pool on a beautiful deck overlooking a plain with animals often in view. It was cool in June so only made limited use of the pool but overall the "tent" was high end and well maintained. Three meals a day were provided and were all very good but dinner at times offered choices that were not what we usually eat but were still delicious. We only drank wine ( limited choice but satisfactory) but other alcoholic beverages plus non alcoholic drinks were available at a very nice bar. All food and drinks were included in the price paid. They also provided a van to take you to local attractions such as Victoria Falls (10 minute drive), Walk with the Lions (highly recommend) and a visit to the elephant sanctuary on the property. They also have a pet cheetah (Sylvester) who is available to walk with or pet. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful and went out our their way to make our trip special and took care of all of our requirements. Free van service also was provided for pick up and return to the airport. The deck in the main building overlooks a watering hole and a nice sized pool that would be great in warmer temperatures. We had many animal sightings from the main building deck. We asked for tent number 6 when making the reservation and were told we would get it but when we arrived it was not available. Tent 6 is desirable because of its location, close to main building with a direct view of the watering hole so get that tent if at all possible. At night staff walks you from and back to your tent because of possible free roaming animals although we did not encounter any. We considered staying at the Victoria Falls Hotel and did have lunch there one day. While the Victoria Falls Hotel is beautiful and fairly close to Victoria Falls, it is much more expensive than Elephant Camp and while it is located in the small town, there is little to do in the town so were very happy with our choice of Elephant Camp. We took a day tour to Chobe National Park in Botswana which was a great introduction to what we would encounter in the rest of our trip. We highly recommend Elephant Camp for any visit to the Victoria Falls area.

Room Tip: Choose Tent # 6 for best location in the facility for access to main building and a view of the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hofmanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

So much to say... We were amazed at the quality of everything about Elephant Camp. The accommodations are superb, the staff were all focused on making sure every aspect of our stay received their full attention and support, the location was amazing, and the experiences with the elephants and Sylvester were beyond comparison. We will be forever grateful for the many kindnesses extended to us during our stay, and our 9 year old son will have a life-long memory of walking a 3 year old cheetah by the tail - completely amazing! Our only regret is that we stayed only 2 nights, and we urge that others add more days to their visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Seeing-our-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Not far from Victoria Falls main center is the most amazing property "Elephant Camp" The rooms are stunning, Jonathan and Berrni the management is wonderful and make you feel welcome and at home. One can feel relaxed on the outside patio and enjoy the view. The food was very good and the service and staff do an fantastic job. I would highly recommend staying here for at least 2 nights to be able to enjoy the property as well as the surrounding activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

All been said before in other reviews. Not a foot placed wrong by the staff, not a single issue with the luxurious accommodations, the fabulous food, simply the kind of place where bliss takes over and the real world is something to avoid. Loved it, of course I loved it. Well done Jonathon & staff. Well done Sylvester!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linjlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Since I first stayed at the Elephant Camp over eighteen months ago, it has become better known and more popular. It still epitomises luxury in a wonderfully peaceful setting overlooking the Falls, but I was concerned that it might have lost the personal touch that gives it its unique character, and makes staying there so enjoyable. I had no need to worry. Jonathan and his team give a personal welcome and attention to detail that makes staying at the Elephant Camp close to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulawayoZimtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The camp is hidden in a land of contrasts, characterised by its elevation over the plains with a view of the smoke of the Falls in the distance and the spectacular gorges. The view and location was only the beginning of our pleasant surprises: we were greeted by a very friendly welcome by Jonathan the Manager, Moses, Hilda, Prosper and other members of the staff. We were shown around the elegant lounges and terraces, state of the art facilities, then accompanied to our accommodation: from the outside it looked like a tent but it was pure opulence . The elegant and spacious suite featured elegant inspired décor with all facilities including air conditioning, comfortable sitting room with wide glass window and doors with private viewing, looking onto the magical Victoria Falls gorges. Private deck and covered deck are nicely furnished with table chairs and loungers by the private plunge pool. The bathroom with both indoor and open air shower, has an exotic tub with a view over the valley below.
The visit to the elephants and Sylvester the Cheetah complemented our stay.
Reasons we picked the Elephant Camp:
- Intimate, close to the Falls but not “commercial”
- Facilities and amenities
- High Level of comfort and services
We found personnel to be extremely friendly, helpful and efficient .
Food was nice and well presented .
Our expectations were exceeded. We just loved the charm and ambience.
Would definitely return and recommend it.

Room Tip: all accommodation have a veiw of the falls except # 9 and 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing