We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our trip”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Elephant Camp was a great start to our African adventure. It was highlighted by our afternoon walk with Sylvester which is a must. Sylvester saw some Water Buck and snuck around behind them and gave chase. Fortunately for the Water Buck he was unsuccessful but it was incredible watching the chase at full speed. Our tour of Vic Falls was also very memorable. I can't imagine what it is like during the rainy as it was very impressive in November when the falls were down.

The accommodation and hospitality was also great. We stayed in the furthest tent (if you can call it that) which was quite a walk but also very private. There was an inside shower and outside shower which was great. The tent had everything you could want or need including a hairdryer which made my wife very happy. It is not a safari place to stay but a great way to start or end your safari journey!

Room Tip: If you don't like a good walk to your room try to request something close to the main camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our family of five enjoyed our visit to Elephant Camp in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. We travelled during the off-peak time when the falls are not at their fullest. With Jonathan's marvelous team of support staff, we were pampered in the most luxurious accommodations we could have imagined. (Is it really a tent if it has an indoor shower and bathtub?) I saw giraffes, water buck, impala, baboons, and many other creatures before breakfast from our villa with a stunning vista.

My three children loved the activities arranged for us near the falls, the zip line, etc. Our sixteen year old walked with lion cubs, while our 11-year old took a horse-back safari. We did not bungee jump, but could have easily worked that into our trip. They also loved meeting Sylvester, who was brought to the dining room after breakfast each morning. My husband loved making him purr!

The falls themselves, well, they are indeed a wonder! Loved, loved, loved our trip to Elephant Camp and Victoria Falls. Will go again if the opportunity presents itself. :D

Only issues were trouble getting the temp setting correct at night for best rest.

Room Tip: All are reasonably close to main lodge. Flashlights are helpful for travel back and forth in dim lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLRBabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We just returned from a 2-night stay here straight after our stay at the Kruger National Park as part of our honeymoon trip. Here are some of our thoughts...

What we loved:-
(1) Sylvester & the elephants - Great effort guys! We learnt so much about cheetahs from Ed, one of Sylvester's keepers, during the 2-hour morning walk. Sylvester is beautiful and we have never in our life imagined that we could ever get close to a cheetah the way we got close to Sylvester. He is definitely the superstar! We were also lucky to visit the 1-month old baby elephant they rescued. She melted our hearts at first sight, such a darling. We applaud the staff's efforts in the conservation of such beautiful animals. Please keep up the good work!

(2) Hospitable staff - Jonathan greeted us upon arrival and almost every day of our stay there. Boneface drove us everywhere and was always on time to pick us up. Vusa organized our itinerary for us and made suggestions of what we could do. The staff wait for us at the entrance and waved at us each time we returned from an excursion. Just amazing.

(3) Rooms - Very clean, not a speck of dust to be seen. Great lighting. It's so luxurious that you forget you're in a tent.

(4) Food - We love the food. Simple breakfast with the necessities - muesli, milk, yoghurt, eggs, bacons, sausages, pastries, coffee, tea, juice. Perfect. Lunch and dinners had a very local touch to them, which we enjoyed.

There is 1 point though that we would like to highlight. When it's a hot and dry day, the bugs come out to play at night - literally. The beetles, cicadas, grasshoppers, and various other unidentified insects are humongous (the size of our palms!). They are attracted to light and they fly about everywhere trying to get near the lights and it doesn't appear like they avoid humans in any way so we were playing dodge with them the whole time! At dinner, they land on our tables, on our laps and stick on our clothes. It got quite traumatizing at 1 point... and then it was just hilarious. Unfortunately we were too busy playing dodge-bug the whole time, we didn't get a chance to take any photos of them. Perhaps on such days, the camp should consider shutting the sliding doors and serving dinner indoors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at The Elephant Camp following 15 days safari through Zim for a spell of luxury R&R. Although our itinerary unexpectedly changed, which meant we arrived a day early, the staff accommodated us without any fuss. The host, Jonathan, and his team were very attentive, helpful and friendly.

The accommodation is spacious and comfortable with a stunning view to the Falls and Zambezi Gorge. The air conditioned room had large patio doors to soak up the view, with a sundeck and plunge pool. The camp is very handy for the airport, about 20 mins away, so this makes an ideal start or end to a holiday. There are plenty of activities within the camp, notably the elephant back safari rides and opportunity to meet Sylvester, the resident, rescued cheetah. free shuttles are provided for those visiting the Falls, about 15 mins away - they'll pick you up anytime.

Would certainly recommend this camp to anyone visiting Vic Falls, who wants to be in a peaceful out of town setting within easy reach of the main attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12345Xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I highly recommend the Elephant Camp in Victoria Falls to anyone wishing to experience the best of African hospitality, the majesty of the landscape and the inspiring commitment of people to the well being of the environment and creatures of the wild. To hear Sylvester purr was an unforgettable moment. Do go and visit. You will want to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our stay here was much too short - the luxury tented accommodation and great food and service, interaction with elephants and Sylvester the cheetah plus gin and tonics overlooking the Zambezi gorge was all we dreamed of and more. Would go back in an instant.

Room Tip: Wear comfortable safari gear to blend in with the bush setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

It might be called The Elephant Camp, and indeed there are elephants you can ride and feed. But it just might be the cheetah experience here that you remember and the photos you treasure long after you return home.
When you are invited to go for a one-hour outing with a cheetah, you would normally assume you would be sitting in a game vehicle watching the animal.
But that’s not what happens. “Walking with Sylvester” literally means walking with and patting a three-year-old 55kg cheetah, who has been raised as an orphan.
“He’s my son,” says Ed, the handler, who takes Sylvester off the leash so he can do his own thing. Ed and Sylvester are based at The Elephant Camp, minutes away from the Zimbabwe side of world-famous Victoria Falls.
Said one visitor: “I fell in love with Sylvester minutes after we started our walk, although I knew I should feel some fear because essentially this is a wild animal. But I couldn’t help it.”
It’s like walking with a large dog, or patting a cat – a very large cat. If you are lucky, you get a lick on the leg with a very sandpapery tongue, perhaps even a lick on the face or a love bite…and for brief second, as you feel those teeth in his powerful jaw, you wonder if you will get back your hand intact.
When you stroke him you can feel how amazingly he moves. And you understand the origins of the advice to models on a catwalk: “Walk like a cheetah.” Because that’s exactly how Sylvester walks; a cheetah’s shoulder blades are not connected to the collarbone.
Sylvester typically wanders off on his own, but he also enjoys people’s company and is happy to sit for photo opportunities. When you squat down beside him, your face centimetres away from his head, you feel privileged to be allowed to be so close to him.
Sylvester is part of Wildlife Horizons’ Wildlife Trust, with a small but very active research program as part of Zimbabwe’s efforts to restore a healthy wildlife population in the country.
And then there are the Victoria Falls – you see the spray in the distance from the Elephant Camp as you are eating out on the deck.
Those who don’t want to get soaked can take the helicopter Flight of Angels over the falls.
For five minutes of the flight you are in Zimbabwe, for five minutes in Zambia. In fact, just down the road, the borders of these two countries plus the borders of Botswana and Namibia all meet.
Check out the local handicraft shops for some beautiful artworks and souvenirs. Depending on how much you buy, you might start bargaining at about 75 per cent of the sticker price.
The Elephant Camp is a great base for exploring this area - comfortable enclosed accommodation, good food and service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildHorizons, Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed exploring Victoria Falls and all its amazing offerings, using The Elephant Camp as your base. We agree that it is a very special place indeed :). Hopefully we can welcome you back again someday! Warm regards from Victoria Falls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,024 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,556 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
497 reviews
4.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: £610 - £861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing